Fit’n Fab Friday – One Day Early

Weeks Since Baby Delivery Via C-Section –  How has it already been 8 weeks?!?  

Exercise – At six weeks, I was cleared to start working out, although I’m still not allowed to lift or to do ab workouts.  (C-section recovery can be no joke).  I’m also technically not supposed to start jogging yet, although no one can seem to give me a specific date as to when I can begin that.  I think a lot of it comes down to personal recovery, so I just have to be smart about listening to my body.

So for now, and for the next few weeks, I’ve been slowly building up my walking routine (and just figuring out how to fit a routine into my crazy schedule).  πŸ™‚  Honestly, I’m dying to start running, so hopefully I’ll be able to – very slowly – begin that in the near future.

Exercise Goals –   This was my first week attempting to walk for actual exercise, and I have to say that felt SO good. I only managed to go three times though, so I really do need to squeeze a few more days in somehow.  Baby steps!!  πŸ™‚

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, sitting and outdoor

Food Goals –  Eat ALL the food!

Ha, seriously, I eat all day long right now.  Breastfeeding makes me so hungry and obviously sucks out nutrient-rich calories.  So I’m eating when I need to, even if that means a slower weight loss.  I keep reminding myself that even though I’m not pregnant anymore, I am still nourishing my baby girl.  So I need to complete this last bit of that journey before I really focus on getting back to my goal weight.

That being said, my food options have been limited.  Just like Brady, Kaitlyn has acid reflux.  She’s intolerant to eggs, milk, soy, and nuts; which means I can’t eat any of those foods as long as I’m nursing her.  It’s been ‘fun’ trying to find enough options that I can eat these days, but I’m doing my best!  πŸ™‚  Thank goodness for my sister who helped me find a bunch of options at Trader Joes and Whole Foods.  (And coconut icecream is amazing, let me just say).

So I don’t really have any food goals yet.  Right now, I’m focusing on eating enough nutritious options!

Weight Loss – I’m officially at my pre-pregnancy weight!  πŸ™‚  I’m shooting to land around the weight I was just before I got pregnant with Brady though if I can.  (I started out this pregnancy about 15-20 pounds heavier than I did going into Brady`s pregnancy).

I’m not focusing on numbers…  BUT I do know where I usually land when I’m eating well and working out a few days a week.  So that’s my tentative, goal weight. Also, even though I might have hit my pre-pregnancy weight, my body is still recovering.  I still have more weight and skin in my stomach area than normal, I’m carrying weight in my hips and thighs, and my muscles need toning.  Typical preggo-recovery stuff, especially since it was my second pregnancy and I didn’t work out much.  πŸ™‚

But still, I’m honestly feeling great mentally.  I’m feeling stronger, healthier, and more motivated; so I’m really happy about it.

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, outdoor and closeup

 Clothes –   My maternity shirts are officially too big, so I put those away.  But I’m still wearing maternity shorts and pants, because they’re way more comfy on my incision area!  And I still have the preggo pooch so my regular jeans don`t want to fit.  By this point last time,I was out of maternity clothes completely, but I`m trying to not let myself get frustrated by that.

Final Thoughts –  Feeling great!  πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Fit’n Fab Friday – One Day Early”

  1. You are being so smart about all of this, friend! I’ll definitely need you to encourage me with this next month!

    Also, that picture of the four of you – LOVE! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

