Fit’n Fab Friday – 3 Weeks Postpartum

Happy Friday, Everyone!

Phew, what a week!  🙂  I have a few blog posts in the works that should post next week, but I just never had a free moment to edit them up to this point.  She’s okay now, but we had a scare with Kaitlyn on Sunday (I’ll blog more about that next week).  And then it was the first week that Nate had to work both the morning and afternoon shift at work, so I’m still definitely trying to find my footing when it comes to taking care of a newborn and a high-energy toddler.

BUT I wanted to get my first, official Fit’n Fab Friday post up today.  🙂


Weeks Since Baby Delivery Via C-Section – Three weeks postpartum as of yesterday!

Image may contain: 1 person, standing and camera

Exercise – So for the first two weeks, I didn’t do a thing; because I didn’t have clearance from my doctor.  My main focus was healing, bonding with baby Kaitlyn, pain management, and just stretching my muscles by hobbling around the house. The light movement definitely helped with pain management and the healing process (although I may have overdone it once or twice).

I was cleared to take tiny walks after week 2, although my doctor warned me to listen to my body.  And unfortunately, I did bleed pretty heavy and had some serious pain when I tried walking up the street.  So up until the past couple of days, I still haven’t been able to do much.  (I definitely think my C-section recovery was slower this time around than last time).  BUT over the past couple of days, I have gone on short walks with Brady and Kaitlyyn.  (I’m talking SHORT walks that are limited to a quarter of a mile.  But again, I tend to bleed heavy when I do too much; so I have to really just listen to my body).

Still, going for short walks has been really helpful mentally, even if it hasn’t really hit the exercise category yet.  Just being outside in the fresh air feels amazing!

Exercise Goals –  This week, I’d like to walk around the neighborhood and to hit half a mile.  I’ll still keep it slow and listen to my body though.

Current Goals – So I’ve honestly had no goals up to this point.  I wanted to cut myself some slack in the beginning and to be able to just focus on healing, breastfeeding, bonding, and being the mom of two.  Going into this new week, I’ve decided to start using My Fitness Pal 4-5 days a week.  I’ve used this app in the past, and it has been really beneficial in helping me eat mindfully.  (I’m definitely guilty of drinking a lot of my calories, so I’m hoping it will motivate me to reach for water instead).

Weight Loss – Just by delivering Kaitlyn and breastfeeding, I lost 32 of the 50 pounds I gained during this pregnancy.  It probably would have been more had I not been eating so much.   😉  BUT when my milk first comes in to breastfeed, I am RAVENOUS!  And filling up on healthy foods (and the occasional treat) definitely helps with milk supply, so I just let myself eat whatever and whenever I needed to.  Now that I’m hitting week 3, my appetite is settling down quite a bit.  🙂   Finally!

Image may contain: 1 person, indoor

I’ve still got a tiny bump thanks to my deflating belly and extra skin.  (A repeat C-section, my age, and the fact that I didn’t work out during my pregnancy are definitely making it a bit harder to bounce back this time around.  But slow and steady wins the race!).

I keep reminding myself – as I mentioned in my last post – that it took 9 months to grow this belly.  AND I keep reminding myself that my body will never be quite the same as before…  And that is not only okay, it’s beautiful.  I have two precious babies to show for it.  I am not a cookie cutter that needs to fit a specific mold.  This current shape is already beautiful, and I should be confident in wearing it!

Although I’m excited to lose the baby weight and to tone my muscles, I AM going to embrace my mom body with confidence!!

Image may contain: one or more people, people standing and indoor

Clothes –   My maternity tops are WAY too big, so I’ve put those in storage.  But many of my pre-maternity shirts are too fitted and tight…  So I have a really limited wardrobe of loose tops that fit me right now, and I’m doing my best to make them work.  🙂  As for pants, I’m still rocking maternity jeans and yoga pants.  They’re getting loose, but they still do fit.  And they’re just more gentle and comfy on my incision.

Final Thoughts – I feel pretty good mentally and physically today!  I feel like for the first two weeks, I let myself feel frustrated; because my belly took longer to go down this time.  But I’m feeling stronger and a bit healthier now that I’m healing, and that’s helping me keep a positive outlook on things.  Life is really good!!  🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Fit’n Fab Friday – 3 Weeks Postpartum”

  1. Wait! That last photo of you (in the black tank) is current?! As in from just weeks after having a baby?! Girl, you look awesome already! I am definitely not seeing any baby bump left there. Wow!

    And good for you for listening to your body. For taking it slow with the short walks and for eating the calories you need to maintain your milk. So so important!

    1. Awwww, thank you, Rachel! Yes, that is a current pic. We are our very worst critics, aren’t we? Everyone is telling me that I look great, and I’m here thinking, “Why do I still have a pooch?!?” LOL! Then I have to remind myself that I was seriously pregnant just 4 weeks ago… Ha, ha. AND I was huge at that, so – really – I am losing weight quite well.
      This week, I felt REALLY good mentally. I’m starting to feel much stronger and healthier… and although I’ve still got a pooch, it has gone down even more. And I’m not stressing about it anymore. I’m definitely feeling happy with where I am now and willing to take time to tone and strengthen my body. It’s amazing what a difference a week can make!!

Leave a Reply

