Feeling Fit’n Fab After Pregnancy

Over the past 10+ years, when it comes to weight, I’ve rarely stepped onto a scale or focused on numbers.  Quite frankly, I’ve already been there and done that.  For me, there’s definitely freedom in letting go of diets and restrictive calorie counting and just allowing yourself to eat mindfully (eating when you’re hungry and stopping when you’re satisfied).  I’ve found that it’s freeing mentally but also physically too.  Our bodies really do know what weight is healthiest for us, as long as we practice the self-control to ‘listen’ to them.

That being said, over the past couple of years, I allowed myself to stress eat a bit (okay, sometimes a lot), and my commitment to exercising fell by the roadside (especially after becoming a mom).  This resulted in my starting out this pregnancy a good 20 pounds heavier than my usual, healthy weight.

 

That, coupled with my lack of exercise during this pregnancy, could definitely make it a bit tougher to bounce back this time around.

 

When it comes to exercise, I’m severely restricted for the next six weeks, because of the C-section.  I probably won’t be cleared to run for a few months after that…  And that has been frustrating for me, especially since I’m rearing to start working out NOW.  But I can get overwhelmed by the restrictions, or I can embrace this moment as a quiet time to heal and to bond with my baby.

I’m definitely doing my absolute best to chose a positive outlook and to give myself time.  It took 9 months to grow a baby and to put on this weight.  I can definitely give myself months to lose that weight in a healthy way!  I just keep reminding myself that this is my starting point.  I’m at my heaviest weight; but if I eat right and begin exercising when I’m cleared to, I will lose the extra weight.  I will put on muscle and feel stronger and leaner.

I really need to see this as part of my journey.  My weight does tell a story and much of it is because I grew a beautiful, precious life inside of me.  I have the rest of my life to lose the weight and tone my body.  Right now, the soft belly that still makes me look pregnant, the thicker thighs, and the softer arms are all because of an immeasurable blessing that God sent me.

I need to cut myself some slack already!  🙂

So here’s the plan…  I want to take back my health back over this next year by eating right and beginning a consistent workout routine.  I don’t want to obsess about numbers on a scale or restrictive eating!  I’m going to practice everything-in-moderation and try to fit in some workouts during my busy weeks!

I plan to write Fit’n Fab posts on Fridays , if possible, to share my struggles AND – most importantly – my achievements.  🙂  I honestly won’t be focused on the numbers as much as I’ll be focusing on exercise milestones and ‘how I feel’ victories.

I’m really excited to get back into shape, even if I’m going to have to do this slowly (because of the healing process).  And I’m excited to start running, hiking, and just having fun with my workouts in the upcoming months.  In the end, this really is about feeling confident due to healthy eating and exercising.

Slow and steady wins the race.  And even if it’s going to be slow at first, I’m on my way!  🙂

2 thoughts on “Feeling Fit’n Fab After Pregnancy

  1. Yay! I’m excited to read these posts as you share them! Good for you for focusing on being healthy more than worrying about numbers on the scale. And I love what you wrote about embracing your body as it is right now because of the amazing thing you were just able to do! Delivering a healthy baby is such an amazing thing! Love this whole post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

