Week 31 Recap

How Far Along – I’m now 32 weeks preggo!  How is this going by SO fast?!?

Baby Name:   Kaitlyn Marie

First and Second Pregnancy, Comparison Pics:  

THEN –  (2014)

No automatic alt text available.

NOW (2017) –

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling

I’m Craving / Disliking:   The same as all along.  Nothing specific, although I’m loving carbs and the occasional sweet treat.  Still not a huge fan of chicken.

Exercise:  Ugh, it got really cold again, and we ended up with about a foot of snow.  So structured exercise hasn’t been that great, although I’m still counting life with a toddler as a daily workout.

Awkward Moment:   I bent down really fast and tore a hole in my pajama pants.  (I’m talking a top to bottom, right along the crotch area, type hole).  Granted, I was home with just Nate and Brady at the time, so it could have been much worse.  But still, it was a little awkward.  There’s nothing like ripping your pants in front of your husband to get the mood going, if you know what I mean.  😉  (That’ll teach me to wear non-maternity pajama pants for this long).

A Moment I Don’t Want to Forget:  This isn’t a moment that I don’t want to forget as much as it’s a moment that I won’t forget…  I thought, for sure, that I was going into early labor during the snowstorm.  It completely freaked me out and made for a long day.  It looks as though I lost my mucus plug (TMI?), and I mistook it as my water breaking.  (And on top of that, I had some pretty bad cramps and some serious nausea).   Sooooo, it was a long afternoon of waiting, as getting to the hospital would have been quite the trip.  In the end, I just rested for a day or two, and I ended up feeling much better.  Phew!

Something I Miss:  Last week I said that I couldn’t drink decaf coffee anymore, because it was giving me heartburn.  Thankfully that doesn’t seem to be the case, as I’ve been able to drink it now.  I do miss having the energy to be the upbeat, fun mom that I want to be!   Thankfully toddlers are flexible and just learn to go with the flow.

Sleep:  Insomnia has returned…  I had about two hours of quality sleep last night, and I’m feeling it today.

To-Do List Completions:  I deep-cleaned half of the cabinets in my kitchen and hope to finish the project over the next day or so.  (To help me watch Brady while I cleaned, I ‘borrowed’ a nine year old from my church.  She did a great job, and I got a ton of cleaning done).  I also started my hospital bag!  🙂

Purchases:  No new purchases this week.  I’ve come to the determination that if needed, I can decorate the nursery over the summer (since Kaitlyn will be sleeping in me and Nate’s room for several months).  I’m trying to stretch my budget as much as possible right now.  Ha, ha.

Symptoms:  Insomnia, occasional heartburn, back pain, shortness of breath, exhaustion…  and just overall starting to feel as though I’m ready to be done with the pregnancy and to be able to hold my baby girl.  Typical Third Trimester complaints.  🙂

Final thought:    Only 7 weeks until my C-section!!!  🙂

6 thoughts on “Week 31 Recap”

  1. wow thinking you might be going into labor early during the snowstorm must have been quite the scare! I am glad you are feeling better now though. It is such a great idea to borrow a young girl from church to help with Brady a bit. I remember one of the women from church asking me to help with her young kids when I was about ten, and I felt so special.

    1. It was terrifying! I kept taking deep breaths and trying to keep myself calm so that I wouldn’t get sick from worry. (I actually woke up the next morning and just cried, because the nerves hit me then)! But thank goodness, I didn’t go into labor, and I was able – to the most part – lie down during the storm and just let my body have the rest it needed.
      And borrowing a young girl from church really did help me get SO much work done. I loved it!! And she was over-the-top excited about it. 🙂 She kept saying that she hopes I ask her again (and that she hopes she can sleep over sometime). Ha, ha. It was a really great experience!

  2. Only 2 hours of sleep?! Girl, that’s not okay! I hope you start sleeping better! Praying for you tonight that you will get a great night’s sleep! And I’m SO glad you weren’t in early labor. I sure that had to be so scary at first!

    1. Only getting two hours of sleep was a nightmare… Ha, ha. I seriously was so tired that it hurt. Insomnia kept me up from midnight to just past 2:30am. Then as I started to fall asleep, Brady woke up at 3am and was up until 4am. (He sleeps through the night now, but he had a bad dream and couldn’t fall back asleep). Then I started to finally feel sleepy around 4:30am, but Nate’s alarm went off at 5am. Again, I couldn’t fall back asleep… And then Brady woke up for good at 6am. It made for a LONG day the next day, that’s for sure!
      But I slept REALLY good last night, so I feel a bit more rested today! 🙂
      And, yes, it was sooooo scary thinking that I was going into early labor. Had I been able to go to the hospital to get checked out, it wouldn’t have been quite as terrifying. But there was a serious snowstorm going on outside, and it would have been really hard getting to the hospital (never mind finding childcare for Brady on the way). The roads were pretty much shut down at that point. I kept having visions of delivering Kaitlyn at home with just Nate to help me, and that was SO scary. Ha, ha.

  3. Ah can’t believe you’re even functioning off of two hours of sleep!!! Poor thing 😦 But I couldn’t help but to laugh at the rip right through the pants lol I had that happen to me once in a pair of overly tight jeans. I was in public too… not my best moment but hilarious to look back on it and laugh. Also LOVE how you spell Kaitlyn….I love the y in there.

    xo, JJ

  4. I bet the nine-year-old that you borrowed loved hanging out with Brady! I’m glad you’re getting things done and I can’t believe you only have 7 weeks until your c-section!! So exciting 🙂

Leave a Reply

