Taco Shepherd’s Pie

I started cooking for Nate well before we were married.  After all, it is said that a man’s stomach is the way to his heart.  If my curly locks and bright smile weren’t already sealing the deal, I might as well add a few hearty, home-cooked meals to the list too.  😉  My mom graciously allowed me full use of her kitchen, and I had such a fun time ‘playing house’ and preparing meals for the guy that I was falling in love with.

Image may contain: food

One of the very first meals I made for him was actually an original recipe that I whipped together after reviewing a few similar recipes that I’d found online.  (I love adding my own spin on recipes or making them my own.  Oftentimes, I’ll follow a recipe completely the first time I make it; but if it’s good enough to make again, I’ll change things up a bit if it needs a tiny bit of tweaking).

One of my favorite meals growing up was Shepherd’s Pie, and I decided that I wanted to make my flavor-loving hubby a bolder, more spicy version.

Image may contain: food

This is a recipe that has become a staple in our house and is one that I make from memory.   It all starts with a good-quality taco seasoning packet (preferably one that doesn’t contain fillers.  Grab one that only contains spices and seasonings that you recognize and can pronounce).

Image may contain: 1 person, sitting, eating, child, food and indoor

It’s comfort food…  It’s quick…  It’s hearty…  It’s ridiculously simple but packs a ton of flavor…  And it’s a bit spicy without going overboard.  (Even my toddler loves it)!

If you try it, I hope it’s a recipe that you enjoy!  🙂

Image may contain: food

TACO SHEPHERD’S PIE

1 lb ground beef

Packet taco seasoning

2 cans (15 oz each) corn, drained

4 cups potatoes, mashed plain (preferably fresh and still hot)

2 Tablespoons chopped green chiles (more if you like a lot of heat)

1 Cup shredded cheddar cheese

Salt and Pepper to taste

 

Prepare ground beef and taco seasoning according to the packet’s directions.  (While the meat is cooking, boil, drain, and mash your potatoes).

Pour the prepared taco meat into a 2 quarter casserole dish and top with the two cans of corn.

Stir the green chiles and cheese into the hot mashed potatoes and season – to taste – with salt and pepper.  Spread onto the taco meat and corn.

Bake at 375 degrees for 20-30 minutes or until hot.  Enjoy!  🙂

15 thoughts on “Taco Shepherd’s Pie

    • It’s one of those go-to, staple meals that I know both Brady and Nate will love… and I love how easy it is to whip together. Being in my third trimester, I’m all for meals that have limited chopping and prep. Ha, ha! 🙂
      And cooking for my guy is one of my favorite things to do. 🙂 He’s a foodie at heart and loves pretty much everything, so it’s easy. But he really does appreciate a good meal!

  1. I was totally the same as you before Jimmy and I were married. I had a blast “playing house” and cooking him meals in my parents’ kitchen until we had our very own!

    Your taco shepherd’s pie looks so tasty and simple to make! A winning combo 🙂

    • I love that you cooked for Jimmy while you were dating! It definitely was such a fun, special experience for me back then as well. (And it doesn’t hurt to show your guy that “hey, I can cook.” Ha, ha!!). 😉
      And yes, tasty and simple meals are winning combo’s for me, especially now that I’m in my third trimester AND the mom to an energetic toddler. 🙂

  2. Yum yum yum!! I loveeee me some Shepherd’s Pie, but especially love the taco spin you put on this! It sounds delicious!

    I’ve been making a paleo Shepherd’s Pie recipe lately on repeat, which uses sweet potato instead of regular potatoes. It adds a sweetness factor that is awesome, but I think we’re ready to change it up sometime soon!

  3. This looks delicious! We do chicken pot pie pretty regularly, but I’ve never tried a shepherd’s pie! Sounds like it’s time for me to mix it up a bit😀
    Also, you’re totally right about the stomach being the way to a man’s heart!!!

  4. This looks amazing and pretty simple too! I am going to try this one out. My husband loves shepherds pie, but I think it is typically a little boring. I think I would love adding this to the mix!

Leave a Reply

