Babymoon (Part 2)

This blog post was written super last minute, so it’s kind of all over the place.  I feel as though I wrote the way I usually talk.  HA!  Super fast-paced!  So my apologies for the word overload.

Oh, and in case you missed Part I, click here.


 

I slept sooooooo good in our hotel room that I woke up slightly disoriented as to where in the world I was.  Ha, ha.  I’m so used to waking up during the night and occasionally taking a peak at the baby monitor (even though Brady sleeps through the night).  But it’s as though I mentally knew that my little guy was safe at home with my parents and that I had the night off to just catch up on rest.  I slept… like…a…brick and was completely out.  I haven’t slept that great in awhile!

I slept in.  I took a hot shower.  I even did my makeup without having to sing “It’s Raining; It’s Pouring” at the top of my lungs.  (For some reason, Brady is obsessed with that song right now).  Of course, I missed the little guy so much that I insisted we call and wish him a ‘good morning’.  But still, it felt really, really nice to enjoy a quiet morning with just my hubby.

Image may contain: 1 person, camera, phone and indoor

For breakfast, we had decided to keep it affordable, simple, and quick; so we walked around the outside of the hotel until we came upon Au Bon Pain.  I’ve actually never been to one, and I have to admit that I was tempted by the large cinnamon rolls.  😉  But in the end, I decided to go with a yogurt parfait and orange juice; because I was craving something fresh.  It was actually really good!!

Image may contain: food

Image may contain: 1 person, standing

Image may contain: drink

After breakfast (and checking out of our hotel), we decided to kill some time before the movie we wanted to see was playing.  We decided to explore Downtown Crossing a bit and check out the stores / restaurants there.  And obviously, I had to get a Starbucks decaf latte!  (That’s one thing about Boston; there’s a Starbucks on every corner pretty much).

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, standing and outdoor

Image may contain: sky, skyscraper, night, tree and outdoor

We made a loop back to the movie theater and were advised that the movie we wanted to see was playing at 10:30 PM… not AM.  Oops!!  We walked out of the theater a bit dumbfounded as to what we were going to do now that our plans were upturned, so we decided to shake things up completely.  We hopped into the car and drove to Harvard Square to explore there.  (We definitely should have just taken the T, since parking for a couple of hours cost us $20).

Image may contain: sky, house, tree and outdoor

Harvard is a college town, which means there are plenty of quick-eat cafes, restaurants, and shops.  I love the brick buildings and the energy that comes with having so many college students around.  Nate loved that we hadn’t been there in awhile, so there was reason to pull out a map.  😉  (Seriously, what is it with guys and their love of maps)?

Image may contain: 1 person, outdoor

I’ve eaten at Fire and Ice, which is a fun restaurant at which you fill your bowl with raw veggies, meats, and sauces before handing them to chefs cooking at a very large grill.  And they basically saute all of your food until cooked (right in front of you), and then you’re given rice and wraps to eat with your stir-fry.  It’s a fast-paced, fun meal that feels very modern.  (I actually ate at the Fire and Ice restaurant in Boston with my girlfriends during my Bachelorette party).  🙂

Image may contain: sky and outdoor

And another restaurant that I really like is B. Good.  (I’ve only eaten at the one that’s near Downtown Crossing, but I’m sure the one in Harvard is equally as amazing).  It’s a ‘fast food’ restaurant that serves burgers made with fresh, local meat; hand-cut fries; kale salads; etc.  The food is SO fresh and tasty, and I love that I can eat there without feeling gross after.

Image may contain: outdoor

Of course, if you’re not looking to be super healthy, then Harvard can hook you up with some legendary cannoli’s.  😉  I LOVE Mike’s Pastry soooooo much!  Their original store in the North End of Boston is my favorite, so I was really excited to find out that there was one in Harvard.  I’m totally kicking myself over the fact that we didn’t stop to buy something…

Image may contain: outdoor

In the end, Nate and I decided to try something new (as we were both craving burgers), and we chose Flat Patties.  If definitely felt like a typical, college hang-out spot.  There was barely any seating, and those seats were absolutely full of chatting students.  So after ordering, we had to find a corner space to stand at and eat.

The hamburger rolls tasted really fresh, and the french fries were super good.  But honestly, Nate’s onion rings weren’t that great.  And Nate said that his burger wasn’t as flavorful as he had hoped it would be.  As for me, my burger was super pink in the middle, so I didn’t dare eat it (since I’m preggo).  I would have asked them to cook it longer, but the lines were intense.  So I just ended up eating my fries and 1/4 of my burger.

Image may contain: food

In the end, our verdict was that the burgers were pretty affordable for the area and fresh.  So we wouldn’t be apposed to eating there again… but we’d definitely try the other burger places out first.  (And I’d ask to have my burger cooked longer).

There weren’t a ton of shops around Harvard, but definitely enough to give us reason to walk around outside in the beautiful weather and window-shop for awhile.  To name a few, there was a Lush, Mint Julip, Anthropologie, a few gift shops,  a Sweets Cupcake shop, AND a Curious George store.  Brady is obsessed with Curious George, so we obviously had to step inside and explore.  We bought Brady his very own Curious George T-shirt as a souvenir, and he was pretty excited about it when we gave it to him.  🙂

Image may contain: sky, tree, night and outdoor

No automatic alt text available.

After walking for awhile, we hopped back into the car and drove to a nearby movie theater to watch Hidden Figures.  It was SUCH a good movie!  I love movies that are based on true stories like that.

Image result for hidden figures

Then we headed home to pick up our tater tot!

The Babymoon definitely went by really fast, but it was SO needed.  And it reminded me that a night away here or there isn’t impossible.  Besides, not being able to do it as much only makes us appreciate it that much more when we do get away.  🙂

11 thoughts on “Babymoon (Part 2)”

  1. Ooh I’ve been wondering how Hidden Figures was! Glad you enjoyed it!

    What a fun time you guys had! So much to do and see and eat! Bummer about the burgers, but everything else sounds so great. Happy happy babymoon! 🙂

    1. I loved how the women in ‘Hidden Figures’ didn’t whine about being treated unfairly (although they had every single right to). They fought for their dreams and worked unbelievably hard. It was really empowering!
      We really did have such a wonderful time on our Babymoon! One undercooked burger couldn’t mess with that. 😉

  2. I have heard such wonderful things about Hidden Figures. I’m so glad that the movie was made and has brought some attention to those amazing ladies.

    What a lovely day with your man! I am sad that you didn’t get to finish your burger. Better safe than sorry though!

    1. ‘Hidden Figures’ was an empowering movie. It’s devastating how these women were undermined (due to the color of their skin and because they were not men), but it’s empowering to see how they worked hard to make their dreams a reality. It’s an incredible story!
      Yes, definitely better safe than sorry! I knew I probably wouldn’t get sick and it would be fine to eat. (Nate ate his and was fine). But when you’re preggo, you definitely can’t take those kinds of risks. I totally made myself a delicious burger at home the night afterward to make up for it… Ha, ha.

  3. Oooo!!! Harvard Square!! It looks like you guys had a fantastic time. Sometimes the best vacations are the spontaneous exploring-a-city ones 🙂 Sorry about your burger though 😦

    This post brings back memories for me! I traveled to Boston about 5 years ago to watch one of my friends perform in a show at The Boston Conservatory and I made SURE to visit Harvard Square! I even bought myself a Harvard sweatshirt because I loved it so much (and whenever I wear it people think I went there! LOL)

    1. There’s a very good chance the burger would have been fine to eat, but I definitely wasn’t taking risks, since I was pregnant. Even if it was disappointing to not eat, at least I didn’t have to worry about it for the rest of the day. (And my fries were really good). 🙂
      I think Harvard Square really is a great place to visit! (The last time I went, it was around Christmas, and I remember it being so pretty). It’s just a fun, upbeat place to walk around. Oh, and I love that you bought a sweatshirt!!

  4. Sounds fabulous! I’m so glad you guys were able to get away! 9 months in and we’ve still only gone out for dinner once….And I was so stressed, we were only gone for about 45 mins😬

    1. I was sooooo stressed the first time we left Brady with my mom… We went to see a movie, and I literally worried the ENTIRE time. Thankfully, it does get easier with time! 🙂 My mom watches my little guy once a week (when I work), so he calls her house home. He is obsessed with her and my dad… So now I can leave him with them without worrying much at all. (I’m a mom, so I will always worry and think about him a bit). 😉 But just know that it will get easier!! 🙂

  5. What a lovely little trip! I seriously just loved reading your Babymoon posts! I think it’s great that you and Nate make it a priority to keep your marriage strong… as you like to say, marriage takes fun!

    Fire and Ice sounds like such a neat restaurant and now I really want to see Hidden Figures. I have seen the book around and heard it was a movie, so I was wondering if it was good. Glad to hear it is!

    Also, YAY for a good night’s sleep and treating Brady to the cutest t-shirt!!

Leave a Reply

