Babymoon in Boston (Part I)

Nate and I don’t get into the city as much as we used to now that we have the little guy, so we both were really excited to spend our Babymoon there.  Although let’s be honest, we would have been just as excited had someone told us that we’d be spending our night away just one town over.  😉  We were both eager to spend quality time together, just the two of us.  (And I was REALLY excited about eating a quiet dinner, sleeping in, and walking at a normal pace.  😉  When you’re a mom, it really is about the little things!).

Image may contain: tree, sky, outdoor and nature

Thanks to amazing off-season rates, Nate and I rented a room at the Boston Park Plaza for only $60.  If I were to give a review, I wouldn’t say that it was my favorite hotel ever, mainly because the decor felt more business than romantic.  But the lobby was beautiful, the location was great, and the rooms were quiet, modern, and very clean.  I’m glad we were able to stay there and check another Boston hotel off our to-try-one-day list.

Image may contain: tree, night, sky, table, plant and outdoor

Image may contain: indoor

Image may contain: living room, table and indoor

Image may contain: indoor

We didn’t arrive in Boston until late in the afternoon, but there was still plenty of sunlight left.  And oh my gracious, the weather was absolutely perfect!  The temps were in the 60’s, so we didn’t even need our jackets.  After weeks of being stuck in the house due to extreme cold, snowstorms, and ice, the spring-like weather was soooooo incredible!

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, stripes, sky, outdoor and closeup

Normally we walk down Newbury St to window-shop the high end stores, but – this time – we decided to explore Charles’ St.  It had been years since I walked down that way, and I’d forgotten how quaint it is.  I definitely fell back in love with the brick sidewalks, specialty shops, restaurants, and coffee shops.  (I hadn’t realized that there’s a Sweets Cupcake Shop on the street now too…  That in itself is reason enough to explore that area).  🙂

Image may contain: sky, tree, house, car and outdoor

Image may contain: outdoor

Image may contain: 1 person, sky, tree, house and outdoor

Image may contain: indoor

Image may contain: sky and outdoor

After walking a few side streets (and up a never-ending hill that I was sure would send me into early labor), we decided to head back towards the hotel for dinner.  The Park Plaza Hotel is conveniently located beside Maggiano’s Little Italy, so deciding on Italian was an easy choice.  After all the walking we did, we were starving!

Image may contain: sky, night, tree and outdoor

Nate and I both decided that next time, we really need to try an authentic Italian restaurant in the North End.  But we both love Maggiano’s, so we tend to keep going back there.  😉  Dinner was absolutely delicious, as always!

Image may contain: food

We ordered dessert to go (cheesecake for me and Tiramisu for Nate) and ate it at the hotel while watching TV.  Dessert in bed…  Pajamas… and a quiet night to relax together.  Oh my goodness, it was absolute perfection!

Image may contain: indoor

(…to be continued).

 

11 thoughts on “Babymoon in Boston (Part I)”

  1. YAY!!! I love reading about peoples trips to Boston! The Boston Park Plaza is an awesome stay, my friends and I have rented a room from there on multiple occasions for when we just want to go out and about in the city without having to worry about getting back home, they always have such awesome deals!

    xo, JJ

    1. Yes, the price for our hotel room couldn’t be beat! And I definitely had no complaints at all about our stay. My hubby and I enjoy staying at different hotels, trying to find THE place that has an incredible location and a romantic vibe. But we’d totally go back to the Plaza. I did love the location, and – like I said – the rooms were very quiet and clean.
      Isn’t Boston the best? I love the city so much. 🙂

  2. Oh girl, we love Maggiano’s! Any time we’re somewhere that has one, we always eat there. It’s just so delicious! And you know that we’re not generally chain restaurant sort of people. But it’s just SO GOOD! 🙂 Excited to read more!

    1. Maggiano’s is just SO good!!! I know that we wouldn’t be disappointed by the authentic, Italian restaurants in the North End of Boston… but we’ve yet to do it. Ha, ha! We just know how much we love Maggiano’s, so we tend to go there a lot. 😉

    1. You definitely should! (Honestly, it’s even more important the second time around, I think. This time around, I’ve been so busy being a mom that I haven’t had as much time to enjoy alone time with the hubby… or to dream about life with a new baby). Getting away was absolutely needed and amazing. 🙂

    1. It really was a nice hotel! And the price couldn’t be beat!! It’s worth going to Boston during the off season or checking out prices on Expedia, for sure.

  3. This looks like an absolutely amazing little getaway. I can’t believe the deal you got on the hotel! Amazing!

  4. Yay for your Babymoon! I am so glad you and Nate were able to get away and just be together! Dessert in bed sounds like such a fun thing to do! I think I need to try that soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

