Pinterest Lately -Seeing Green!

Well, Valentine’s Day is over, so that can only mean one thing…  St. Patrick’s Day is right around the corner!  So bring on the green everything.  

Actually, to be honest, that’s pretty much the one holiday that I don’t really do anything for (other than creepy, crawly Halloween).  HA!  I guess I’m just not into leprechauns and luck and pots of gold.  At the same time, I do have several Irish friends and I have a bit o’ Irish in me myself.  (Ahem, sorry for the sad attempt at an accent here).   So I do at least try to wear green on the holiday…  You know, to avoid being pinched.

I’ll generally make a green dessert sometime that week (because baking is my favorite thing).

And my hubby does usually request a corned beef and cabbage boiled dinner for our St. Patrick’s Day dinner.  Sadly, that’s the one meal that intimidates me.  I know, I know, you stick a chunk of meat in a pot, toss in some chopped veggies, and let it simmer on the stove (or crockpot) for awhile.

Easy peasy, right?  Wrong!  I have ruined countless boiled dinners.  I don’t get it either.  People all the time tell me that I’m a really good cook, and I’m very comfortable in the kitchen…  But it’s as though corned beef is my kryptonite.  It’s actually quite sad…

Anyway, here are some of my favorite St. Patrick’s Day pins on Pinterest as of late!  🙂


 

Oreo Mint Cheesecake

Oh my goodness, I wish I could reach into my computer and take a bite out of this cheesecake RIGHT now!  It looks absolutely delicious and reminds me of a mint pie that my mom used to make when we were kids.  I definitely think I’m going to make this sometime soon!

For all Oreo fans I have this fantastic dessert - Easy No Bake Oreo Mint Cheesecake - perfect for special occasions or holidays, like St. Patrick‘s Day ♥:

(Source)


 

Mint Chocolate Brownies 

My hubby is a HUGE fan of mint brownies, and he usually ends up requesting them around St. Patricks Day (just because they’re green and he thinks about them around then.  Ha, ha).

Thick and fudgy brownies layered with sweet mint frosting and easy chocolate ganache. These classic mint chocolate brownies will blow your mind; they're the best!:

(Source)


 

Corned Beef and Cabbage

I’m trying this recipe this year!  Although I’ve somehow messed up my boiled dinners every year for the past 8 years, I’m not giving up.  My hubby loves them, so I will make a successful corned beef dinner.  This one seems pretty fail-proof, so I’m giving it a shot!  I’ll let you know how it comes out; because if I can do it, then anyone can!

There's a little Irish in us all on St. Patrick's Day. With this slow cooker recipe, you can tap into those true-blue (or green?) Irish roots with mouth-watering Corned Beef and Cabbage - made slow but easy. | The Cookie Rookie:

(Source)


 

Irish Nacho’s

These look absolutely perfect for a fun night in!  Delicious!

Irish Nachos. I was looking for this recipe last week!:

(Source)


 

Beef and Guinness Casserole With Noodles

This looks like the ultimate in comfort food!

Beef and Guinness Casserole with Noodles - Hearty, delicious and full of flavor, this casserole is pure comfort food! (Perfect for St. Patrick's Day!):

(Source)


 

If you’re going for rustic elegance this St. Patrick’s Day, then I think these centerpieces would be perfect.  They’re inexpensive but fresh and trendy.

irish themed tables | St. Patrick's Day Ideas: Make A Candle Centerpiece With Green Split ...:

(Source)


 

Green and gold go so well together.  I’m definitely a fan of this look!

St. Patricks Day! Even though I'm not Irish :

(Source)

Green  Glitter - good for st Patricks day:

(Source)

 


 

How ADORABLE is this dress?!?  I am seriously in LOVE with this outfit, right down to the boots!

Green Double Cross Dress from The Mint Julep - I like the shape and color of this dress, I'm just not too fond of the rouching under the boobs:

(Source)


 

I am a huge fan of green jackets… and stripes… and Starbucks coffee.  So what’s not to love about this casual and cute outfit??

Striped tee + utility jacket + jeans + booties:

(Source)


 

I think this dress is stunning as well!  (It would be a little too cold to wear it around here on St. Patrick’s Day, but it would be a beautiful choice for a summer dress).  🙂

Kelly Green Sundress - Mckenna Bleu:

(Source)



 

A St. Patrick’s Day treasure hunt would be fun for kids!  Or for the hubby…  Or even for me.  Hey, if there’s chocolate at the end, I am SO in!!!

St. Patrick Day's Treasure Hunt would be a fun tradition when the little guys a bit older:

(Source)


 

Marshmallows, green paint, and paper are all you need to create this easy craft for kids.  (Sigh, I sooooo miss seeing green clovers.  Spring, I hope you hurry back to New England)!

Shamrock marshmallow stamping craft & activities for kid's on St. Patrick's Day:

(Source)


 


 

St. Patrick’s Day…  Do you go big or – like me – do you just wear green and count that as participating?  🙂  

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Pinterest Lately -Seeing Green!”

    1. Green really is a beautiful color! I rarely wear it, but I think I need to start. I tend to get drawn to blacks and grays, but my wardrobe needs some brightening up. 🙂

  1. HaHa! You seem to celebrate way more than we do…and it’s our holiday! We just like having a day off to hang out with friends. We don’t eat corned beef or do the whole pinching if you’re not wearing green thing-I don’t know how that rumour started! I do like the idea of green desserts though 🙂

    1. Ha, ha, ha!! I actually thought of you when I wrote this post, because I was wondering how the day is celebrated in Ireland!! 🙂 You’re the only one I chat with who actually lives there. (A few of my friends have Irish heritage, but they’re American through-and-through. So they’ve been influenced by the way we do things here). 😉
      We Americans definitely get caught up in the commercialization of things and create our own traditions / decor. Don’t get me wrong, it’s fun! Ha, ha. But it’s rarely accurate to how the holiday originated.
      Although I’m slightly jealous… We don’t get the day off from work here. 🙂
      And I like that you don’t bother with corned beef. Maybe I’ll tell the hubby that we should skip the dish this year, so that we can be a little more like true Irishmen. (I think he’ll see through my plan and know that I’m afraid of messing up another meal though). 🙂

  2. My family never did anything for St. Patrick’s day growing up, but my husband’s family had a lot of fun with it. So since it was tradition for him, I have started doing things like a leprechaun hunt with our boys too. (Logan knows it is all pretend but still has fun with the footprints and clues.) Those nachos look absolutely amazing! I may have to try those this year.

    1. I’m actually thinking the same exact thing. LOL! 🙂 I’ve been really into mint lately, and St. Patty’s day is the perfect excuse to make a cheesecake.

  3. I don’t celebrate Halloween or St. Patrick’s Day either! Too funny! I don’t have anything against St. Paddy’s, I just don’t usually do anything lol. Now I really want to eat mint Oreo cheesecake and paint my nails green though 🙂

Leave a Reply

