My Snowy Valentine

A week ago, there wasn’t an inch of white stuff on the ground and the temps were nearing 50 degrees.  Flash forward 6 days and two snowstorms, our mailbox is almost buried under the snow and temps are blustery to say the least.  It almost feels as though winter decided to bide its time – skipping over December and January – so that it could focus the entirety of its fury onto February.

That’s New England for ya…  Our winters are as unpredictable as our sports teams.  If you don’t like the weather / score, wait five minutes.  Things’ll change.  😉

Image may contain: sky, cloud and outdoor

With two snowstorms hitting New England this week, Valentine’s Day actually crept up on me a bit.  I know, I know, I’m usually the queen of planning and happily anticipating fun holidays and activities.  But I’m very pregnant.  And I’m constantly chasing after a toddler who only knows three speeds:  fast, faster, and fastest.  And there’s laundry, and piano lessons, and teaching Kid’s Church, and cooking for my two hungry men.  As of late, the days have been blending together even more than normal.

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling, child, closeup and indoor

So, yes, I basically forgot Valentine’s Day until it was staring me in the face.  I realize this sounds a little sad, but it was honestly the best thing that could have happened.  Because let’s face it, I’m a “go big or go home” kind of girl.  I completely realize that I always bake, decorate, and plan too much.  But I also realize that I live for that.  I love it!  I love making my home look festive and baking so that others feel special.  It’s totally my thing.

But you know what I love even more than that right now?  Sleep…  Having a few free moments to put my feet up…  Fruit cups filled with melon, grapes, and blueberries…  Chocolate.

Yep, I’m officially feeling very pregnant, and it totally trumps my Type-A, planner personality.  Sooooo realizing last minute that Valentine’s Day had arrived was the best possible thing for me this year.  I didn’t decorate.  I didn’t plan.  I just celebrated preggo-mom style.

I had Valentine M&M’s in the cupboard (since I can never resist buying holiday-themed baking supplies the minute they hit the supermarket shelves), which I decided to whip into cookies.  (I used my favorite Hershey’s chocolate chip cookie recipe and just substituted the chocolate chips with a cup of m&m’s.  Both the hubby and toddler approved, and I have to admit that they are quite “dewishus”, as Brady would say).

Image may contain: 1 person, phone, hat and closeup

Honestly, Tuesdays are usually a little crazy around here, since I have to prep for piano lessons, clean the house, and pack Brady meals for my mom’s house.  But whatever the reason, this one was actually quite smooth-sailing.  Somehow we’d managed to keep the house rather clean during the week, I didn’t have much prep to do, and Brady was in a spectacular mood.  Like spectacular mood!

If every day was like this, the mom life would be easy-peasy lemon squeezy.

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling, people sitting and closeup

Nate and I didn’t have our typical Valentine’s dinner together, because we decided to hold off for now (since the Babymoon is just around the corner).  Plus he had work… and then church tonight.  BUT we spontaneously danced to a favorite song and had a really sweet moment… And we finished the house-cleaning together while chatting about our night away…  And, I don’t know, we just made the absolute best of a busy day, and it was really special.

For dinner, during the one hour Nate was able to be home tonight, I made these pork chops (which are delicious) and this Strikeout Pasta Salad.  (It’s a homemade version of your typical, Italian-dressing pasta.  The dressing is really simple to make but has a ton of fresh flavor.  Both Nate and Brady LOVE it, as do I).

Image may contain: food

Then, when the little guy was finally in bed for the evening and Nate was home from church, Nate and I cuddled on the couch and watched The Middle.  SUCH a great Valentine’s Day… even if I almost forgot it.  🙂

 

8 thoughts on “My Snowy Valentine

  1. Celebrating the holidays in a big way (especially with kids) is so much fun, but sometimes it is nice to just keep it all more relaxed too. I think both ways of celebrating are going to be special memories that our kids have. Glad that you got to have a slower day and just spend some time with your guys. 🙂

    • Holidays are SO much fun when kids are in the picture! I’m kind of glad that Brady is so little that he won’t remember this particular Valentine’s Day… I mean, it was absolutely special and perfect for us. But still, when he’s a bit older, I definitely want to do special things that make him feel loved. 🙂 You’re right, with kids, it is SO much fun to celebrate in a big way!! I’m excited to do that, for sure. But grateful that I got away with a slow-paced, simple holiday this year. 🙂

    • Right?
      I always host Easter for my family, but – this year – it’s only a few weeks away from my due date. So I’m thinking that low-key will be the theme for that holiday too (just for this year). Hoping that goes over just as well! 🙂

  2. Sounds like a great Valentine’s for 2017! I love those sweet moments that happen when a favorite song comes on and you find yourselves dancing together to it. So sweet! Happy Valentine’s Day, friend!

    Also, that pasta salad looks awesome. I haven’t had it in forever, but I’ve liked it every time I’ve tried it. Baby V says I need to make a big batch pronto! I’m thinking that will be dinner tomorrow!

    • Hmmm, I hadn’t done a vinaigrette-style pasta salad in forever either, and now I don’t know why I’ve waited so long to make it. It’s so versatile! It was delicious served with meat… But it also makes for a nice lunch, just like that.
      You’ll have to try this particular recipe, because I think you’d love it!! The homemade dressing is so fresh and delicious! (I don’t add the black olives, because Nate and Brady aren’t fans. And I usually just add whatever veggies I have on hand. So sometimes, cucumbers make an appearance instead of green peppers, etc). Yum!

  3. It sounds and looks like you made the best of your snowy Valentine’s Day! Way to just roll with it and celebrate as best you could! I love the picture of Brady in the car. He looks so happy!

  4. Pingback: Italian Pasta Salad |

Leave a Reply

