Preggo Journal – Week 22 Recap

I have been soooooo bad at recording these pregnancy memories, but life has just been insane over the past weeks.  So I’m going to do my best to do this weekly from now on, especially now that I’m more than halfway through this amazing journey!  🙂    And I promise that I’ll actually have pictures to share next week!  


 

How far along:     23 weeks today!

How big is baby:  This week, Baby Girl is the size of a papaya.  I had a doctor’s appointment yesterday, and my doctor said that my belly is measuring small right now (which means I might not pop out another 10 pounder).  😉  BUT I was shocked to hear her say that, because I feel huge.    I was looking at pictures of my belly at 22 weeks from my pregnancy with Brady, and I wasn’t even wearing maternity shirts yet!  This time around, I have popped wayyyyy faster; and I have a BELLY, my friends!

Baby Name:  Kaitlyn Marie.  🙂

 Sleep:   The insomnia is officially gone; so I’ve been sleeping like a rock at night, which is nice.  I noticed this week though that I’m starting to feel pretty tired during the day…I think that the third trimester exhaustion is hitting early, even if I’m not technically there yet.  But this time around, I’m taking care of a toddler (and a toddler in a spica cast, at that), so there’s very little down time.  And I’m feeling it!  😉

Maternity Clothes – Yes!  Other than two loose sweaters and a favorite pair of jeans (that I wear with help from a belly band), I exclusively wear maternity clothes.

 Best moment of this week:   Probably my doctor’s appointment!  I was thrilled that it went so well.

Awkward moment this week:  This is more silly than awkward…  Pregnancy brain is still in full swing, making me forgetful ALL the time.  The other morning, after a shower, I searched everywhere for my bra and couldn’t find it.  It’s like the thing had crawled off on its own and went to some bra resort…  It was nowhere.  Finally out of desperation, I wrapped myself in a towel and called Nate for help.  And, well, turns out that I was already wearing my bra… soooooo, yeah.  That’s the state of my brain right now.

Purchases:  My goal for this week is to create a registry, just so that I can keep track of the items I need to buy before baby girl arrives.  Honestly, I haven’t made any purchases yet, but I need to get started on that.  However, my mom and a few friends have made purchases for me, so I did receive a couple of adorable outfits.

Movement:  Kaitlyn moves ALL day long.  🙂  She moves wayyyy more than Brady had.

Exercise:  Ugh, my doctor scolded me for this one.  I haven’t been doing anything…  With Brady in a spica cast, I’m basically stuck in my living room all day, every day.  Curious George is played on a loop.  When life falls back into a normal routine, I’d like to try walking on the treadmill at the very least!  But since Brady can’t be active during the day, he hasn’t been all that tired, which means he wakes up early and goes to bed late.  This mama has no free time right now.

 Food cravings:   During my pregnancy with Brady, I craved meat…meat… and more meat.  This time around?  I’ve craved fruit (specifically fruit cups filled with melon, mandarin oranges, and blueberries) and chocolate.  I seriously can’t get enough!

Anything making you queasy or sick:     The nausea is completely gone, thank goodness!  I’m still way pickier about food than I usually am though.  There are no more food aversions… but some foods just don’t appeal to me all that much.

What do you miss:  This week, I missed having a nice wardrobe.  😉   I definitely keep wearing the same clothes over and over again, because I don’t want to spend more money on maternity outfits.  But I have days that I miss having more of a variety to pick from.  🙂

Symptoms:  Exhaustion.  Shortness of breath.  And the backaches have started.  My back doesn’t ache every night; but it’s pretty intense when it does strike.  BUT I am just so relieved to not be nauseous anymore.  And honestly, the symptoms are definitely tolerable!  The second trimester is called the Honeymoon Stage for a reason.  🙂

 Have you started to show yet:  Ooooh yeahhhhh.  Ha, ha. It’s true that a woman really does pop a lot faster the second time around.

Final thought:  I’m SO excited!!!!  🙂

10 thoughts on “Preggo Journal – Week 22 Recap”

    1. My dad is already joking that Kaitlyn will hold her own, and that I’ll have to say, “Kaitlyn, please stop beating up your brother.” Ha, ha. I’m personally hoping that she’s getting all of her energy out now and that she’ll be a calm, chill baby. Hee, hee. Brady was definitely go-go-go right from the beginning. I definitely am excited to see what her personality will be like! 🙂

    1. You know, I never did a name announcement post, I just realized. Maybe I’ll still do one and talk about how we came up with the name! 🙂
      And thank you!!

    1. YES, hopefully his cast will come off on Thursday. I am sooooo excited! 🙂 It’s only been four and a half weeks, but it has felt WAY longer than that.
      And I seriously could not stop laughing when I realized that I was actually wearing the missing bra. Ha, ha.

  1. Visiting from Amy’s blog 🙂 I’m 17 weeks along today with my second! I agree that I popped out soooooo much sooner with this baby than with R! oh my gosh so weird. Glad you are sleeping better and hopefully you can get back to exercise soon! That bra story is too funny.

Leave a Reply

