If You Give A Mom A Muffin

My mom’s birthday falls quite close to Christmas, so she usually insists that no one buy her presents.  And we usually all end up ignoring that request.  😉  She deserves all the spoiling and so much more!

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling

So this year, she tried a different tactic and made a special request for muffins.  She said that she just wanted me to bake her muffins for her birthday present.  And probably for the first time ever, I decided to not ignore the simple request.  Finances are a bit tight right now (not to mention that we have a baby on the way and my brother is getting married in July).  We’re definitely following a tight budget and saving as much as we can.

And as I brainstormed a bit, I realized that – although I’m not the most crafty of people – I do LOVE to bake and cook.  So I decided to set a goal for myself this year that I will try to make as many gifts for family and friends as I can, instead of just buying them.  I can provide nicer-looking gifts at a lesser price, and they will be more personal.

After pinpointing two of my favorite muffin recipes (banana chocolate chip and blueberry orange), I decided to shop at Marshall’s for a cute tray or basket to put the muffins on.

Image may contain: indoor

Of course, I may have had to do some browsing while I was there, since I don’t get out all that much these days.  😉  How adorable is this bicycle shirt?  (I didn’t buy anything, but it was fun to try on a few outfits)!

No automatic alt text available.

I also think that I need this plaque in my life.  What I’m the boss of, I’m not quite sure.  But the plaque would make me officially the Girl Boss of something!  

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling

It was tough choosing between the trays and baskets; but I finally decided on this rustic, copper-colored tray.  It matches my parent’s decorating style and would look great filled with muffins.  Plus it was only $14, which was an incredible price!  (At my sister’s amazing suggestion, I decided to also bake a homemade bread too, since I received a bread machine for Christmas.  I decided to make a Whole Wheat Molasses Raisin bread).

No automatic alt text available.

I’m quite happy with how the gift turned out in the end.  I think it looked nice… and hopefully delicious too!

No automatic alt text available.

Lunch at my mom’s birthday get-together was pizza, which is a staple for me these days.  😉   Even Brady ate two huge slices.  Yum!

Image may contain: 1 person, sitting

(Do you like my striped socks?  Keepin’ it classy)!  

Then there was apple crisp for dessert and presents to open afterward.  (My dad bought my mom a wooden, toy train for one of her gifts just so she could have a new toy to play with Brady.  🙂  Yeah, my parents are pretty awesome).

Image may contain: 2 people

I have to say, baking muffins for my mom’s birthday turned out to be a great idea… AND great inspiration for future gifts I might give.  I guess mom really does know best!  (But then again, I already knew that).  🙂

Image may contain: 6 people, people smiling

 

4 thoughts on “If You Give A Mom A Muffin”

  1. So sweet! The bread tray looks terrific. I want to eat all those tasty treats. And the homemade gifts you make this year will be so meaningful to the recipients. Great idea and budget friendly! Winning all around.

    1. Thank you, Amy! My dad’s birthday is in March, so I’m already brainstorming what to make him. 😉 I’m thinking chili, but I’m not 100% sure yet… And then I have to decide how to package it. 🙂

  2. I love homemade gifts. They always mean the most to me, because they giver spent their time making something nice. That was a super cute tray choice too!

Leave a Reply

