Pinterest Lately – Valentine Edition

It happens every single year, but yet I always experience a moment of shock when I see an explosion of pink taking over store shelves just days after Christmas.  How do they replace everything with Valentine’s Day themed items so fast?  Is there a little Valentine’s Day fairy that floats around with a heart-shaped wand?

That’s it, isn’t it…  I knew it!

Nate and I don’t necessarily buy into all of the hype that surrounds February 14th.  We do use the excuse to go out for a nice dinner or a movie, but it’s rarely on the specific day.  And we definitely don’t go crazy when it comes to throwing out money on gifts, because – let’s face it – like most parents we just don’t have the extra cash.  Instead, we make sure we spend quality time together.  Basically, it’s an excuse for a date.  And now that we have a toddler, any excuse is a welcome excuse!  🙂

Besides, I’m a romantic.  I know that Valentine’s Day can be a money-racket, but – at the same time – I can’t help but love a holiday that centers around: love.  I almost always make Nate a special, chocolate dessert.  And he always buys me flowers or a sweet treat.  And now that I’m a mom, it’s a day to shower my little one with an extra sprinkle of love too. It’s simple, sweet, and special.  Really, it’s just the way that Valentine’s Day was meant to be, if you ask me.

So I decided to give into the pink-colored hue that is already taking over my local Target by putting up a Valentine-themed, Pinterest Lately blog post.


 

I never think to make these cookies unless it’s Valentine’s Day, but they are SO delicious that I’d eat them any other day of the year.  🙂  (If you have a hubby who’s allergic to peanuts, like I do, just make gingersnap cookies instead).

The loveable combo of chocolate and peanut butter combine in these shortcut cookie, made with Betty's peanut butter cookie mix. Like to plan ahead? Cookie dough can be covered and refrigerated up to 24 hours before baking. If it's too firm, let stand at room temperature 30 minutes.:

(Source – Chocolate Heart Peanut Butter Cookies)



Sugar cookies cut into the shape of a heart and then decorated with icing and Valentine sayings are a fun treat to make for your hubby…  OR with / for your kids and friends!

valentines cookies for carters Valentines Party at school:

(Source)


This is SUCH an easy way to create a heart-shaped cake.  Easy peasy!  (And who doesn’t love chocolate cake for Valentine’s Day?).

To be honest, I could go for a slice of cake right now…  *sheepish grin*

DIY Valentines Day Gift Ideas - A Little Craft In Your DayA Little Craft In Your Day:

(Source)


My little guy loves Cuties (mandarin oranges) so much.  Like LOVES them.  Not only does he eat them every day, but he also enjoys playing with them.  He’ll sit on the kitchen floor and transfer them from bowl to bowl, counting them and rolling them around his feet. When he’s a bit older, I definitely want to start this fun tradition of writing Valentine notes on them for him.

Conversation Cuties are Fun and Healthy Valentine's Day Treats Kids Love to Eat! Naturally Sweet Cuties Fruit #IWantCuties #SweetasCandy #ad:

(Source)


These would be an affordable, and beautiful, gift for a special girl in your life (whether it’s a girlfriend, sister, mom, or coworker).  This is such an easy DIY that has a wow-factor finish.

diy valentine's day mason jars:

(Source)


On the right table with the right setting, I think this could make for a beautiful centerpiece!  You can’t get much more romantic than roses and candle-light.

Forever rose (2). It's a wine glass upside down. Love this!!:

(Source)


I LOVE over-sized sweaters, leggings, tall boots, and a simple necklace.  I think this is the perfect, casual date outfit.  It’s ultra cute, comfy, and stylish.

28 Trendy New Winter Fashion Styles:

(Source)

This outfit fits that criteria as well.  So cute!

#winter #fashion / knit + boots:

(Source)

I also love the current fashion of long-sleeve, loose, knee length (or shorter) dresses.  Adorable!

Sophisticated Round Collar Back Zipper Long Sleeves Tartan Ball Gown Dress For…:

(Source)

I bought this dress... i do not recomend it for us curvy ladies. If your super thin then itll give you some curves. Otherwise i find it frumpy and the waist is too high.:

(source)

The Pink Lily Boutique - The Simple Things Black Dress CLEARANCE , $34.00 (http://thepinklilyboutique.com/the-simple-things-black-dress-clearance/):

(Source)


And just in case you need a date idea…  This Selfie Scavenger Date looks SO much fun, and I definitely want to do it with Nate sometime soon.  🙂

A fun date idea that is just the right mix of romantic, silly, adventurous, and yet chill! | photo scavenger hunt challenge for Valentine's Day or whenever, great for double dates, group dates, family dates!:

(Source)


 


Which is your favorite Pin?  🙂

 

6 thoughts on “Pinterest Lately – Valentine Edition

  1. These are such fun ideas! Logan loves cuties too, so I think I might do that one this year. I also love the idea of the selfie scavenger hunt!

    • Ooh, if you do the cuties idea, take a pic!!! 🙂 I think it’s such an adorable idea too!
      And I LOVE the selfie scavenger hunt idea too and told Nate today that we need to do it before Kaitlyn arrives. 🙂 I think it would be fun!

  2. I lvoe the idea of the cuties! We eat those all the time so I could see me doing that for Christopher. 😉 I usually make heart-shaped waffles or biscuits and then a heart shaped pizza or something similar. I think I want to try heart-shaped calzones this year! 🙂

  3. I am with you on truly enjoying Valentine’s Day! It’s just a happy little holiday and a great excuse for a date night sometime around the 14th! My favorite pin was the Cuties. That is such an adorable idea! I really love your Pinterest roundup posts!

Leave a Reply

