Up…Up… And Away!

Poop.  I was searching in the dark for lost poop.  This, my friends, is what my life had become.  I had reached an all-new low, and I wondered – for a moment – if there was any coming back from this.

But first, let me start from the beginning…

My two-year-old son is in a Spica cast due to a broken Femur.  The story doesn’t fit the trauma of the injury and healing process.  He fell to the kitchen floor during playtime while trying on one of my husband’s shoes.  The end result was a trip to the ER, a two-night hospital stay, and 5-6 weeks in a body cast that doesn’t allow him to sit up or walk.

My poor baby boy was traumatized by the entire situation and spent the first few nights back home sleeping in bed with me and my husband.  I was scared to death of touching him, moving him… and of changing his diaper.  I was especially  terrified of poop.  The doctor had thought that it would be entertaining –  or helpful –  to tell us stories of toddlers who needed their casts completely redone, because poop had exploded up through their diaper into the inside of their cast.

Thank you for that image, Doc.  

Because of this, I was almost relieved that Brady was very constipated for his first bowel movement.  It was 3am in the morning; and he woke me and Nate up, asking for a cup of juice.  That’s when I smelled ‘it’ and sent Nate to get the juice while I tackled the diaper in the dark.  I’m not exaggerating… I was so freaked out about getting poop on the cast that I was sweating and basically lamaze breathing as I undid the diaper.

But then I realized that the poor kid had pushed out a hard, golf ball of poop.  I made a mental note to buy prune juice just as I breathed a sigh of relief at how easy it would be to clean up.

Okay, maybe not.  Brady decided to twist and kick in that moment.  He might as well have shouted “FOUR!”  That ball of poop took flight and landed… somewhere.

I just sat there, stunned, staring at the now-empty diaper.  Like seriously, does this actually happen in real life?  I squinted my eyes and tried to see better in the darkness, but I didn’t see the poop ball in the immediate area around us.  So I started pulling back the sheets a bit.  And then, as I searched and tried to keep my toddler from wriggling away, it hit me.  I had lost a hard lump of poop in our bed.

The hysterical laughter that hit me immediately afterward mixed with sobs.  I really wasn’t sure whether to laugh or cry, so I laugh-cried.  (Totally a thing).  It was 3am, I was exhausted, there was a now wide-awake toddler lying naked on my bed, and I was looking for lost poop.

This.  This is what my life had come to.

It’s not that I ever imagined the mommy life as being glamorous; but – let’s face it – we all hope that we’ll turn into that mom who miraculously holds it all together.  You know, the June Cleaver of moms who manages to place a warm meal onto the table every night, while keeping a tidy home, looking effortlessly glamorous, and still finding the time for reading with her husband every night.  They just don’t make them like that anymore.

Image result for June Cleaver

This is more my reality these days.

Image may contain: 2 people, people sitting, people eating and indoor

Spica-cast inspired melt-downs…  Tears…  Frustration…  And lost poop.

In the end, the flying poo turned up on Nate’s side of the bed.  (At 2 years old, Brady is already quite athletic.  Move over, Tiger Woods).  In my exhaustion, I briefly wondered if I could just grab it with a baby wipe and then wait to tell Nate the story in like 30 years from now.  But even if I’m no June Cleaver, I am very clean, hygienic, and humane, so I sighed in defeat and realized the diaper change had now turned into a sheet change.  Unfortunately, after waiting for a diaper change and a bed-sheet change, there was no going back to bed for the little guy.

That’s okay, sleep and morning showers are totally overrated, so early morning cartoons it was.

As we snuggled in bed and watched Daniel Tiger’s Neighborhood, Brady gently cupped my face in his hands as if he wanted to keep me as close as possible.  Every once in awhile, he’d whisper “Mama” and then look up at me with his big eyes, as though to make sure that I was still there.  (It’s something he has done quite frequently since our stay at the hospital).  And I was reminded that even if the mommy life is far from glamorous (and that it does stink at times… literally), it is sweet.  And beautiful.  And precious.

Our little ones make it worth it, each and every day.  Because the love we have for them is unexplainable and unstoppable, even if it sometimes leaves us looking for lost poop at 3am.

 

 

15 thoughts on “Up…Up… And Away!

  1. Oh my goodnessss! I loved reading this!!!!! What an endearing and comical retelling too. I love reading others’ experiences being a mom, as I hope to be some day. Even in the craziest, most hectic moments, I have ALWAYS heard the mom say “it’s worth it”. I look forward to those types of experiences one day! Your family is lovely, I hope Brady heals up sooo soon!! Poor thing ❤ ❤ At least he has a great mama taking care of him 😉

    • Thank you so much! Being a mom really is SO worth it, crazy moments included!! There is nothing more rewarding and beautiful. 🙂
      (And for those difficult moments, it really does help to laugh if possible). 🙂

    • I really couldn’t believe that it was happening… even as it was happening. LOL! Oh the crazy adventures of motherhood!
      And wait, how did I miss that poor little C was in a cast?!? I am sooooo behind in reading everyone’s blogs… That must have been so rough! How long did she need to be in the cast? I’m sure it was just as rough on you as it was for her!

      • I completely understand… I almost didn’t write about our experience with having a toddler in a cast either. Or take any pics. People told me that I’ll laugh about it one day, but I still don’t believe it. The trauma that comes with it just doesn’t match the injury. People think, “Eh, it’s just a broken bone.” But to a toddler who’s in an unfamiliar hospital, only to come home with a restrictive cast around their arm or leg? It’s a LOT! And it’s a LOT on the mamma as a result.
        Brady was supposed to be in the cast for 6 weeks, but it looks as though he’ll get the cast off one week early. So he should only have two weeks left. It’s getting there!! 🙂

      • You said it perfectly. Yes, exactly that. It’s so traumatic. Charlotte was in complete terror and pain for like 30 hours straight. I can’t just bounce back from that. Also, I suggest showing Brady the Daniel Tiger episode where Daniel hurts his ankle and a kid gets his cast removed. It’s super helpful to show them how loud it is but that it’s no big deal. Season 6, Episode 1: Miss Elaina Gets Hurt / Daniel Feels Better. Good luck, momma. My ❤ is with you.

      • Oh my goodness, thank you for giving me the info about that Daniel Tiger episode!! Brady loves Daniel Tiger, but we haven’t seen that one yet. (We should be able to get it On Demand). I think we’ll probably watch it a few times before the cast comes off… I’ve been worried about the noise and how nervous he’ll be during the cast removal process. Thank you for letting me know about that!! !

      • Absolutely! It helped so much with C. And actually, the hardest part for her was the cast actually being off. I think it’s a weird sensation. But she’s afraid of everything and didn’t cry as they were sawing off the cast. I was surprised and totally thank Daniel tiger 🐯 also, the episode is on amazon video (free if you have amazon prime)

    • He is always asking me to join him now, whether he’s playing with blocks, petting our cats, or watching a cartoon. He wants me to sit right there with him. I know that he’ll settle down very soon and realize that it’s okay now… But he’s definitely all about having me very close by right now. Eleven days until the cast comes off, and I think that is going to make a world of difference! 🙂

    • Motherhood is hard. But it’s also a LOT of fun. I definitely have days that I feel too tired to juggle it all, but a mommy’s night out usually helps with that. 😉 And I’ve found that each stage just gets easier and easier!

Leave a Reply

