2016 – Year in Review

I just can’t believe that I’m currently working on a year-in-review post today.  How did this year go by so fast?!?  I almost can’t wrap my mind around the fact that we’re about to start the year 2017.  Wow, time really does go by that much faster once kids come into the picture.

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling

Let’s take a look back on the year, shall we?!?

This is one of the first pics of Brady that I posted on Facebook in 2016.  He was SO little!

Image may contain: 1 person

But he definitely grew SO much this past year…  He has turned into such a little man.

Image may contain: 1 person

The year started a bit rough, as I had a miscarriage back in January.  That was a loss that I felt for many months to come…  I had never understood the pain that comes with losing a pregnancy until I faced it myself.  It’s definitely something you carry with you for the rest of your life, and it unites you with other women who have experienced (or who are experiencing) the same thing.

After the miscarriage, I really focused on my health.  I realized that I had been exhausted, stretched too thin, and that I just wasn’t taking care of myself.  I knew that I wanted to get pregnant again soon, but decided instead to focus on my well-being first.  My doctor thought that it was a great idea, so Nate and I both decided to put off trying again until the end of summer.  Until then, I would eat healthier, work out, and cut back on my hectic schedule in order to just breathe and live life fully.

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling

Exercising, eating healthier, and making time for myself really did become a big theme for the year.

No automatic alt text available.

I also immersed myself in the mommy life and enjoyed watching Brady grow up and experience new things (like his very first haircut).

Image may contain: 1 person

We took a small vacay to Mystic Seaport, CT; and it turned out to be a nightmare.  Ha, ha.  Brady was just getting over an ear infection and screamed almost the entire time. (We were that family that you don’t want staying in the hotel room next to you).  But our beach day was still pretty great.

No automatic alt text available.

We went swimming a LOT over the summer….

Image may contain: 2 people

…brought Brady to Yankee Candle (which he calls the Choo Choo store) and the zoo for the first time…

Image may contain: 3 people, people smiling

… spent a LOT of time on the back porch playing with the water table…

Image may contain: 1 person

… visited a Children’s Museum…

Image may contain: 1 person

… and made sure Brady enjoyed his first Easter egg hunt…

Image may contain: 2 people

(I hosted Easter again this year, and I have to say that it was the best yet.  I’m getting the hang of it, I think).  🙂

No automatic alt text available.

We also had some fun playdates, although I really need to do a better job next year at scheduling them. They’re good for him… AND for me.  🙂

No automatic alt text available.

I brought Brady with me to the White Mountains for a small get-away with my parents and sister.  It went wayyyyy better than the Mystic Seaport trip, and I left feeling refreshed and oh-so-happy.

No automatic alt text available.

Nate started to drive a school bus…

Image may contain: 2 people

… I chopped my hair…

Image may contain: 2 people

… and – most recently – Brady fractured his leg.

Image may contain: 1 person

I taught piano…

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling

…hosted a piano recital…

No automatic alt text available.

… enjoyed a couple shopping trips with my mom and sister…

Image may contain: 3 people, people smiling, people standing and stripes

… and ran the Insane Inflatable 5k with my sister.  (That was a BLAST)!

No automatic alt text available.

I had my first-ever manicure…

Image may contain: 1 person, smiling

…enjoyed a magical get-away to Vermont with my sister Sarah (who treated for nearly the entire experience)…

No automatic alt text available.

… and saw Seven Brides for Seven Brothers with the hubby for our 8th wedding anniversary.  (We stayed in Maine for the night, which was our first overnight without Brady.  My mom and dad took such good care of our little guy)!

Image may contain: 2 people, people smiling

I baked a LOT of cupcakes…

No automatic alt text available.

…announced a pregnancy…

Image may contain: 1 person

…and found out that we’re having a little girl!

No automatic alt text available.

It was a good year!   🙂  And I’m really excited about what 2017 will bring!!

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “2016 – Year in Review”

  1. Ah, 2017 is going to bring so many wonderful things for you guys! I am SO excited about baby girl’s arrival! She will be here before we know it! And I’m sure you will be SO happy to have Brady out of that cast soon! 2016 definitely had a lot of ups and downs for you guys, but I love how you find the joy in life even through hard times. I’m excited to see all the wonderful things 2017 brings for your sweet family!

  2. Wow, what a year for you and your sweet family, Nicole! I see so many ups and downs in this post, and yet your positive (and real!) attitude always remains the same. I know I say it all the time, but I just love that about you!

    I cannot wait to see what God has in store for you in 2017!

Leave a Reply

