Goals for 2017

I don’t like to put a ton of pressure on myself to meet specific resolutions for the upcoming year, because it’s a known fact that most New Year’s resolutions fall by the wayside come February.  That being said, I do like to set goals for myself.  There’s nothing wrong with taking a look at yourself and pinpointing some areas in which you could do better.  I find that when I have goals to work on throughout the year, I actually do pretty well.

I don’t strive for perfection or to necessarily become an expert at something.  But if I’m closer to accomplishing a goal, then I consider myself successful!  Slow and steady wins the race, am I right?

MY 2017 RESOLUTIONS OR GOALS

Drink More Water – I honestly fail at this every year, but it’s something that’s very important to me (and to my health).  So I’d love to make this the year that I consumer the H2O that I’m supposed to.  I’m going to try!  (On a positive note, I did quit drinking soda this year).  🙂

Read 8 Books – Ever since I became a mom, reading fell by the wayside.  I used to devour books in large quantities, but – these days – I haven’t seemed to have the energy.  But the book bug has bit me again, so I’m going to take advantage of that and try to read a bit more this year.  I know that this is an extremely low number for book worms, but I only found time to read about 5 books in 2016.  So my goal for 2017 is to read 7 books.

Lose the Baby Weight – This obviously won’t start until baby girl arrives in May, but I still wanted to include it here in my list.  🙂  If I could be at least 10 pounds away from my goal weight by the end of 2017, I would be very happy!  My theme for the summer and fall will be to get back into shape, so that I can keep up with my energetic kiddos.  My plan to lose the weight (which I’ll blog about more as that time arrives) is to use the My Fitness Pal app, to start running and walking again, and to focus on intuitive eating (as well as choosing more whole foods and less processed ones).

Unplug – Generally, I’m soooooo tired at the end of the day (or during any rare, free moment that I might have) that the thought of doing anything else productive makes me feel exhausted.  That being said, watching TV or surfing the internet does very little to ‘fulfill my soul’.  I hate how I feel after I’ve spent an evening just wasting time in front of the television…  I definitely plan to unplug more and to make more time for reading, reading, photography, practicing instruments, and maybe some other hobbies too!

 

3 thoughts on “Goals for 2017

  1. These look like great goals! I did set a reading goal for myself and fell short this year. I wanted to read 50 books and only read 40. haha. It was a big reading year for me.

    My goal is also to lose the baby weight and I’m hoping to really stick to cleaner eating earlier to see if the lbs can come off quicker. No calorie restriction, just not justifying so many treats.

    Another goal is to really be emotionally present with my girls. I was so distracted and stressed over our business this last year and I feel like I was emotionally absent a lot. My oldest will start kindergarden in the fall and I really want to soak up the last time of all my girls being home all the time.

  2. I love your last goal! I always feel blah when I’ve spent too much time watching TV or on the computer or using my phone. The times when I’m crafting and connecting with people and baking really fill me up, though!

    I think 2017 is going to be an awesome year for you guys!!

  3. MyFitnessPal helped me so much when I was wanting to lose weight in a healthy way. I loved it!

    And drinking more water was my goal for this past year and for the first time ever I actually finally did it! The thing that helped me most was buying a cute water bottle and taking it EVERYWHERE with me. It’s always next to me (including right this moment). I use Fitbit to track my steps and they have a water tracker on there so when I first started out trying to drink more water, I would track it there which helped me remember to drink throughout the day. Now I just make sure that I drink at least 1 entire bottle (mine is 24oz) before noon and another one after noon. It has made a huge difference in how I feel during the day. Staying hydrated has been awesome!

    Good luck with all your goals, friend! 🙂

Leave a Reply

