Christmas Tradition Ideas

It snowed today!  Fluffy, white, sparkly snow.  🙂

If I wasn’t already in the Christmas spirit (which I was), those beautiful flakes falling from the sky would have done the trick.  I started my morning off with some peppermint hot chocolate and made sure to spend plenty of time playing outside with my little guy.  (My mom helped pull him around the house in a little sled, and then we all made a snowman together.  Brady totally tried to eat the carrot nose and declared it, “Dewishush!”).

As with Thanksgiving, I’ve been thinking about traditions that I can do with my family (both now and as the children are growing up).  I already had some in mind, but I also found some fun ones on Pinterest.  Here are some of my favorites!

Put Up the Christmas Tree – This is an obvious tradition, but it’s one that I still obviously had to include.  🙂  Is there anything more cozy and special than a brightly lit Christmas tree?

Create Advent Calendars – Kids would have such a fun time making their own!  And I’ve seen a lot of ideas on Pinterest where the advent calendars list a kind activity to do for someone every day.  I love that idea!  It’s a fun countdown AND a challenge to do good.

Decorate a Gingerbread House – Honestly, this is a January tradition for my sister and I, BUT it would make for a fun Christmas tradition!  Stores sell great kits to make the process easier, so that you can focus on the fun part – the decorating!

Sing Christmas Carols – We used to always go caroling with our church, and it was so much fun.  The residents from elderly homes particularly enjoyed our singing (whether or not it was always in key).

Drive around and Look at Christmas Lights –  This is one of my favorite traditions!  🙂  I love going for a drive at night and sipping on hot chocolate, looking at all the pretty houses decorated for the upcoming holiday.  This is definitely a tradition that appeals to kids of all ages.

Watch Christmas movies by the light of the Christmas Tree – So cozy and fun!  Extra pillows, sleeping bags, and a special snack are a must.

Toys for Tots – Christmas should be a time of giving, not a time to focus on what you can get.  There are so many opportunities for kids to learn to give, whether it’s via Angel Tree or Toys for Tots.  As Brady gets older, I plan to give him a gift card to a local toy store, so that he can pick out toys to be donated to children in need.

Decorate Christmas Cookies – Sugar cookies are the best to decorate.  Lots of sprinkles are a must!  🙂

Write a ‘thank you’ note for the mailman

Go on a Candy Cane Hunt – This is a new one to me, but I think it sounds like so much fun.  It’s basically a Christmas spin on the Easter Egg hunt.  Candy canes are hung on trees, and the kids (or big kids like myself) get to hunt them down.  We live in the woods, so this would be a great tradition for when Brady is older!

Have an Ugly Sweater Contest – The best ugly sweaters are homemade ones!

Open a Christmas Eve Box – The kiddo’s can open a present on Christmas Eve, which contains new jammies and a brand new book.  I bought Brady new jammies and a book to start the tradition this year.

Read the Christmas story together as a family

What is your favorite Christmas Tradition?

 

10 thoughts on “Christmas Tradition Ideas”

  1. I LOVE all of these ideas, we do many of them! Movies by the tree are my favorite, I love driving around & looking at the lights – the past few years my whole family has been driving into this gorgeous NY neighborhood that goes ALL out! We get hot cocoa & just walk around with everyone, it’s become such a fun & special time. We always adopt a family or sponsor a child…and gingerbread house decorating needs to get back into my life – haven’t done that in years!! I love the holidays, you’ve got to take advantage of all this fun stuff while you can!! 🙂 XO

    1. How fun it must be to walk around and look at lights!! We have a park within driving distance that goes ALL out, and cars (for a small fee) can drive through them and look at the ton of lights. I can’t wait to do that with Brady. But to be able to walk through a neighborhood filled with lights would be that much more amazing! 🙂
      Ooh, blog or vlog challenge!! I think you need some gingerbread decorating in your life this year! 🙂 Ha, ha!

  2. I didn’t grow up decorating ginger bread houses, but a couple of years as a grown up we’ve done them over New Year’s with my family since we can buy the kits on a super discount after Christmas, ha! It’s a lot of fun! I love hearing that you and your sister do them in January. 🙂

    I’ve never heard of a candy cane hunt, but it’s such a good idea! How fun! 🙂

    Love all of these ideas! Christmas traditions are so fun! 🙂

    1. SAME! My sister and I have baked gingerbread cookies for Thanksgiving every year since we were little, but decorating houses just started a few years ago for us. And we do it in January for the same reason… Half prices on the kits!!! LOL! 🙂
      And I know, doesn’t a candy cane hunt sound like so much fun?!?

  3. These are such great ideas. The Christmas season has always been fun, but I think it is SO much more fun now that I have kids. I made a felt tree for Logan when he was two years old and we decorated felt ornaments with sequins, glitter glue, and stickers. He has loved having his own little tree to re-arrange each year. I love doing toys for tots too. It is such a great opportunity for them to get excited about giving!

    1. YES, the holidays really are that much more special when there are kiddo’s in the house! I haven’t made one of those felt Christmas trees yet, but I want to. I think my little guy would love it too! (Do you just use regular felt, or do you have to put some kind of sticking adhesive on the back of the ornaments)?

  4. These are such sweet traditions! I know if/when Jimmy and I have children, we definitely want to teach them about the true meaning of Christmas by reading the story of Christ’s birth and also finding ways to give and help others. The idea of watching movies by the light of the Christmas tree is the cutest! Especially with sleeping bags and pillows! I think it would be fun to do a homemade hot cocoa day with all kinds of cool toppings!

    1. Yes! The Christmas story is a MUST! As a family, we’ve always read it from the Bible together on Christmas Eve and then on Christmas morning. I want to find a toddler-appropriate Christmas story this year, so that Brady will be interested in listening to it as well. 🙂 (He did receive a Veggie Tale one that’s rather cute…).

  5. I love this time of year! I always watch my favourite festive films and wear Christmas jumpers to work. I love listening to Christmas songs when I’m decorating the tree and now I have a cat most of the time is spent stopping him climbing in it!

    1. There are just so many fun, festive things to do around the holiday season. AND I love that even the simplest of things are made that much more special when pared with Christmas music or a Christmas movie! 🙂

Leave a Reply

