Embracing the Journey

December 1st…  December 1st is the day that I start to wear maternity clothes.

Yeah, I totally picked a date.  It’s like Type-A personality at it’s very worst.  Or maybe at its very best.  I guess it all depends on how you look at it.

But I’m pretty sure “at it’s worst”is the more accurate choice.

It’s not that I have something against maternity clothes and that I’m holding out for as long as possible due to my dislike of them.  To the contrary, maternity clothes have come a long way and are actually quite stylish and classy.  And I’m also fairly certain that they are THE most comfortable clothes on the entire planet, next to leggings and over-sized sweatshirts.

 

I think I just need time to embrace the belly.  This happened during my pregnancy with Brady too…  On one hand, I thoroughly enjoy the ‘eating for two’.  But on the other hand, my body starts to feel a bit unfamiliar.  And since this is my second, I’m popping a whole lot faster this time.  It’s like the watermelon seed has been fertilized with Extra-Extra Miracle Grow.  I’m pretty sure that at 4 months pregnant, I’m already as big as I was at 6 months pregnant with Brady.

Plus maternity clothes are expensive, so I’ve been holding out as long as possible to stretch my maternity wardrobe.  (Ha!  Get it?  Stretch…  My belly is growing, so I’m literally stretching my wardrobe!).

Sorry, it’s been three nights of no sleep…  

Up to this point, I’ve just worn loose, flowy tops.  (And my jeans still fit, so I haven’t been tempted to take out my maternity ones).  But I’m kind of tired of wearing the same four tops that still fit.  😉  So it’s time to move to a new wardrobe that shows off the baby bump.

I have to tell you though…  There’s nothing like being preggo around the holidays.  There’s already excitement in the air.  It’s something to be especially thankful for.  And it’s a reason to say ‘yes’ to that second piece of pie.

So it’s a win-win.

Thanksgiving this year was especially delicious and sweet.  The turkey was beyond huge and the side dishes were limitless.  I was super tired (thanks to the pregnancy and being the mom to a toddler) but also super thankful.  We ate, and laughed, and went into a food-induced trance, all the while making time for a family walk around my parent’s town.  It’s a tradition I enjoy almost as much as our tradition to bake gingerbread cookies the night before.

One thing that really struck me on Thanksgiving though was just how fast this year has flown.  In some ways, it’s hard for me to comprehend that I’m already 4 months pregnant… and organizing maternity clothes… and celebrating my toddler’s second birthday… and now looking forward to Christmas.

Wow, time flies when you’re having fun!

I definitely am looking forward to enjoying each and every day in December and making this holiday season count.  And it has also reminded me to embrace every day of this pregnancy too!  🙂

One thing we Type A peeps have no problem with is embracing the journey.  We live for the expectation.  But I am realizing that being pregnant while being a mom sometimes gets me sidetracked a bit.  I lose focus of the big picture and of what really counts.

I definitely want to enjoy this pregnancy journey and to flaunt this baby bump as long I can.  🙂  But I also want to enjoy every single day of this holiday season with my toddler who is amazed at Christmas lights, and jingling bells, and mommy’s growing tummy.

Once again, I am brought back to the realization that it’s the simple things in life that count.  We aren’t promised tomorrow, so we should live today.  We should hold those we love close and treasure them in the moment.

It’s one thing to wait a few more days before wearing maternity clothes.  😉  But I definitely don’t want to ever wait to show love.  And to show those I love that they come first.  Because everything else is just stuff.  🙂

 

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Embracing the Journey”

  1. Haha! I’m so type A as well…people laugh at the things I plan out. It took me a while to embrace my baby belly, but it’s at the cute stage now although I’m finding I’m outgrowing all my coats. 😦

    1. I get teased ALL the time over the things I plan. Ha, ha. I’m glad I’m not the only one. 😉
      I’m ‘almost’ at the cute belly stage… but not quite yet. I need a few more weeks, I think. And my friend gave me a maternity jacket, but it’s really big on me. It’s perfect for playing outside with Brady, but I don’t know that I could wear it in public without getting strange looks. (It’s definitely a size or two too big). I ‘might’ have to invest in a winter coat if I can find one that’s not too expensive… I don’t want to spend a ton of money on a jacket that I’ll just wear this year. Oh preggo woman struggles!! 🙂

  2. These were the sweetest pictures! Maternity clothes really are the best, and I love that you picked a date to start wearing them! I am so excited about making the most of this Christmas season too.

    1. Thank you! My sister and I both take out our good cameras around the holidays and find new inspiration to take photo’s. I should have given her credit at the beginning of the blog for the beautiful photo’s she took on Thanksgiving for me! Aren’t they lovely? I wish she could follow me around and be a personal photographer for my blog ALL the time. Ha, ha!!!
      Have you seen the YouTube video “MATERNITY PANTS INFOMERCIAL” by WhatsupElle? I really need to post a link to it on my blog. It’s SO funny!!!

  3. Youre so right about maternity clothes these days, theyre so cute it literally makes me have baby fever lol i swear ill be shopping in target and ill end up in the maternity section without even noticing because my eyes end up gravitating towards a cute sweater in that section. You and your family are so precious, cannot wait to read on during your pregnancy! also hows the little guy handling the whole “mommys having another baby”?

    xo, JJ

    1. Ha, ha, ha. I am the SAME way!! I always end up in the maternity section by action… which isn’t a problem these days. 😉 But still, I always end up there – even when I don’t need it – because the clothes are just too cute.
      My little guy isn’t quite sure what’s going on yet, BUT he’s definitely aware that something is up… He’s been super clingy as of late. And he’s noticed that my belly is growing, because he loves to come up to me and grab it. LOL! I think having a baby in the house is going to be a huge adjustment for him, but he’s sooooo good with babies and is such a people person. I think he’s going to love having another kiddo in the family! 🙂

  4. HAHA! Oh girl, I love that you have an actual date for when you plan to start wearing your maternity clothes this pregnancy. Totally something I would do. Type A at its worst. 😉

    I am so excited for you to have the joy of this holiday season with a toddler. Brady is at such a fun age right now!

    1. Ha, ha, ha. We Type A people definitely understand each other! 🙂
      And, yes, Brady has already been so much fun!! He LOVES the Christmas tree and Christmas music… I can’t wait to begin some fun traditions with him! 🙂

  5. I’m very type A as well! I agree that maternity clothes are cute as can be these days. Every time I go to Target and think “Hmm, that’s cute!” It’s always a maternity top/dress haha!

    Love all of the pictures in this post, especially you playing with Brady!

Leave a Reply

