Thanksgiving Traditions

Now that I have a toddler – and another munchkin on the way – I’ve been thinking a lot about traditions.  About those comfortable, repetitive actions that eventually become so treasured and eagerly looked forward to.  As a child, so many of our traditions were just that.  Comfortable expectations that felt familiar, and cozy, and right…

 

Baking gingerbread men every Thanksgiving is a tradition that my sister and I have continued to this day.  She was probably four years old when we first started.  Twenty-five years later, and our decorating skills haven’t improved much.  😉  But the cookies are just as delicious.

And the we-ate-too-much-sugar laughter is just as out-of-control as ever.

Although most traditions happen on their own and in their own time, I thought it would be fun to also get some ideas for traditions that I – as a mom – can start with my family.  I mean, what is Pinterest for but to give me such ideas when I need them, right?  🙂  So I decided to see what inspiration it could give me for Thanksgiving traditions, as my little ones grow up.  Here are a few of my favorites!

THANKSGIVING TRADITION IDEAS

Begin a gratitude journal – Every year, ask each family member what they’re thankful for.  It will be a beautiful keepsake to look back on.

Watch a Charlie Brown Thanksgiving – Obviously!!  🙂

Thanksgiving baskets – Put together a basket of food for a needy family or bake them a dessert to show you care.

Turkey trot – Participate in a local 5k turkey trot…  or just do your own as a family.

Parade – Watch the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day parade together.

Warm apple cider – Serve warm apple cider for breakfast or for relaxing that night.  Maybe even watch the first Christmas movie of the season together after the festivities are over.

Gingerbread men – Bake and decorate gingerbread cookies.

What is your favorite Thanksgiving tradition??  🙂

11 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Traditions”

  1. All the Thanksgiving traditions you’ve listed are so good! Esp the journal one thats a new one that I haven’t heard of yet. It’s going to be so awesome being able to celebrate with the little guy! Cheers!!

    xo, JJ

  2. Happy Thanksgiving! I love the idea of doing a Thanksgiving basket! I think I want to start that one with my boys next year. 🙂

  3. Aw I love these ideas! We always watch the parade Thanksgiving AM & put our Christmas tree up Thanksgiving weekend while listening to the Mariah Carey holiday album! 🙂 I have a daily gratitude journal, but I LOVE the idea of a holiday one for the family!

    1. I usually bake a ton on Thanksgiving, but I did very little this year (because I’m pregnant AND the mom to a toddler). So for the first time in forever, I was able to watch the parade on TV this year. That was so much fun! 🙂
      And we usually put up our Christmas tree the weekend of Thanksgiving too. So much fun!!

Leave a Reply

