A ‘Glass Half Full’ Kind of Life

I don’t like to think of entire days as being bad…  Generally, a less-than-desirable morning will slowly blossom into an afternoon that is – in the very least – tolerable.  One’s attitude towards turning sour lemons into a refreshing beverage and seeing a glass half full really does work wonders.

And humor.  What would we do without the ability to laugh at spilled milk?  (Well, unless you’re a breastfeeding mom who has just knocked over freshly pumped breastmilk…  If that is the case, then you are excused.  Cry all you want to.  You’ve earned it).

I’d like to think that having a positive attitude sprinkled with a healthy dose of humor comes naturally to me.  But I have those days same as everyone else.  Last week, Dunkin Donuts got it right when they wrote ‘PMS’ on my Peppermint Mocha Swirl coffee.  Let’s face it.  I was having one of those days, and I was PMS’ing big time.

I’m talking about Pregnancy Mom Syndrome, obviously.  And it’s no joke.  When it strikes on one of those days, it’s kind of a lot to handle.

I did my best to hold onto the hope that things would turn around by noon, but then I whipped together macaroni chili for lunch.  If you’re trying to turn around a chaotic, feeling-sorry-for-yourself kind of morning, you probably shouldn’t serve pasta smothered with tomato sauce to your toddler.

(Google, how do I get tomato sauce out of my favorite sweater)?

Those kinds of dishes are best reserved for my-cup-is-runneth-over-with-patience type afternoons.  Not the oops-I-severely-burnt-the-butternut-squash type afternoons.

Bye, bye squash.  You would have been lovely.

Not locking myself out of the house would have been lovely too.  And I could have handled finding all my laundry folded and put away.   Not that I’m being greedy…

The crayon scribbles on the wall?  That was just another typical day in mommy-town.  I was actually pretty calm about that.

Anyway, I’ve found that once you let yourself go there – to the place where you’re focused solely on the bad – you let your mind wander.  And now you’re worrying and stressing and complaining about the things that haven’t even happened yet.  You bring finances, and upcoming home repairs, and personal struggles to the party.

You wonder “what if things were different” and “what if I had more”?  What if things were better?

I did let myself ‘go there’ for awhile.

But one of the best things about this upcoming holiday is the constant reminder to be thankful.  To appreciate what one has.  To focus on the good.

We (okay… I) so often take our blessings for granted.  I mean, sure, I complain about laundry just as much as the next mom.  But I have a laundry machine and a drier.  My great grandmother had to do it all by hand.  Can you imagine?  Can you imagine washing all your clothes by hand in some cold river, while you’re pregnant and watching your children?

(Yeah, you’re right…  I don’t even want to try imagining that either).

But let’s take a moment to also appreciate the fact that we have warm clothes to wash.   Do you know how many moms in this world wished they had warm clothes for their babies to wash?  And houses with roofs over their heads, along with heat, carpet, and plenty of blankets?

I have all that.  I find it easy sometimes to fall into the we need bigger, better, nicer, and fancier trap.  But compared to so many, we are rich.  We really are.

I have an amazing husband and a beautiful boy.  We have vehicles for transportation that bring us to jobs, healthcare, and distant family.  We have the freedom to worship God, friends to make memories with, and a sense of safety every night we slip into our comfortable beds.

Life can feel half full sometimes.  But it’s amazing just how many blessings and incredible things can be filled into that ‘half full’ glass.  🙂

We really are blessed.  SO blessed!

What are YOU thankful for this Thanksgiving?  

 

8 thoughts on “A ‘Glass Half Full’ Kind of Life”

  1. I’m feeling thankful that although we have a big financial hole to dig ourselves out of….every step of the way God has provided what we needed. We seem to only be able to see as far as the next bend in the road, but I’m amazed at the ways God opened doors at just the right moment.

    1. Hmmmm, thank goodness for God’s provision… and peace. Nate just found out that he’s going to be capped off at 10k less than he originally thought. He’ll never be allowed to make more money… ever (thanks to his retirement restrictions). That terrified us. And it still does a bit. But I just keep remembering that God has never failed to take care of us, and we just need to take this one day at at time. Finances are scary. But I’m so grateful that our God is bigger! 🙂

  2. Omg this is my first time visiting your blog and I love it. You are too funny and so genuine two of which makes for an awesome read. Thanks for sharing your struggles because yes, everyday life is hard some more than others yet you can still being optimistic and grateful for what you have which is so refreshing! You and your family are beautiful! Can’t wait to read more!

    xo, JJ

  3. Girl, I am so with you. Living with a glass half full mentality makes a huge difference. We had a pretty rough weekend and yet it made us so aware of the blessings in our life. There is a lot of brokenness in this world, but a lot of goodness as well.

Leave a Reply

