Shoppin’

I love being a mom.  Like LOVE it.  Or maybe, more accurately, I love being a mom to the little boy who stole my heart and who has become my entire world.

Because sure, it’s a tough job.  And some days (maybe a few too many days) I’m fairly certain that I’m on the brink of insanity.  But at the same time, I wouldn’t want anyone else spending all their time with my curly-headed, bubbly toddler.  He melts my heart, and makes me laugh, and gives my life a whole new purpose.

Still, I have those days once in awhile….  You know, one of those days during which you realize, “Wow, I just can’t parent today.”  You know, one of those days during which even peanut butter cups can’t save you.

Now most of the time, as a mom, you just have shoulder through those moments as best as you can.  BUT things worked out for me last week…  It was one of those days, and I was just too tired to make one more batch of pom pom soup.  (It’s Brady’s favorite game right now.  We pour pom poms into my pots and pans, give them a good stir, pretend to eat the soup, run through the house throwing pom poms in every direction, pick up the pom poms, and start over again).

Nate just happened to be home and available…  My sister just happened to have the day off from work.  And I just happened to NEED a mom’s afternoon out.  (I haven’t gone out without a toddler for weeks now)!

Bye, Nate, have fun cooking ten batches of pom pom soup!  I’m outta here!”

Our first stop was Burlington Coat Factory, where we browsed to our heart’s content.  (Or, sorry, Burlington.  The commercials lately have been reminding us that the store sells so much more than just coats).  I found the fanciest bottle of ginger ale in the history of ginger ales.  No, I didn’t buy it…  But Sarah and I totally imagined what it would taste like.  😉

Then I tried on a few outfits, because I’m at that awkward stage where I’m too small for maternity clothes but feeling too bloated and lumpy for my usual tops.  (Blasted pizza and bread!  You’re catching up with me).  Honestly though, my preggo mentality is always to just enjoy the extra treats, because it’s the one time where you’re SUPPOSED to gain weight.  I don’t go overboard, but I totally enjoy the extra indulging!  Breastfeeding is awesome for helping to shed the pounds quickly after the baby is born.  🙂

And honestly, carbs are the one thing that help me fight off the nausea.   I can’t tolerate much else…  So looser tops it is!

I did buy two tops, but I regret that I returned the one below.  It was super cute for fall.

After shopping at Burlington, my sister and I headed to Target.  OBVIOUSLY!  Let’s face it, Target is basically the happiest place on earth for mom’s.  It’s full of pretty things AND it carries all the odds and ends you might need, should you also need to run errands while you’re out.  It feels practical and extravagant, all at the same time.

Per usual, we struggled with what to put in the cart and what to put back.  Target is the ONE place that I struggle with staying within budget.  I want to buy everything.  I mean, I walk past the shower curtains, and I’m like, “Oh, man, I really think I need that.”

It’s a dangerous place!  This time, Sarah struggled between boxes of pancake mix, which – apparently – are absolutely delicious and nutritious.  I’ve never tried Kodiak Cakes, but she is pretty much obsessed.  Still, she didn’t need both boxes, so she had to decide between flavors.  The struggle is real, am I right?!?  (I hate to leave you in suspense, but I’m realizing that I can’t remember which flavor she chose.  Ha, ha).

I ended up finding – and buying – these two wooden trays for $3 each.  I’m planning a small, family get-together for Brady’s upcoming birthday; and the theme is Winnie the Pooh.  I’ve been looking for something to serve the cupcakes on, and these are perfect!

Oh, and random question, have any of you tried these bath bombs from Target?  The ingredient list seemed pretty natural, and they smelled heavenly.  They’re not Lush (because no one does bath bombs like Lush), but – since I don’t live near a Lush store – it would be nice to have another option in case of an I-need-a-bath-bomb-emergency.  🙂

Sigh, it was a simple but AMAZING afternoon out.  And it was VERY much needed!  I definitely won’t be letting weeks go by before I have some more me-time, because every mom needs it once in awhile.  I’m always a much more patient, fun mom afterward.

I think I could even make 15 batches of pom pom soup now if it were needed.

(And, yes, we had our very first snow that night!  It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas).  😉

3 thoughts on “Shoppin’

  1. Snow?! Crazy! We’re still hanging out in nearly 90 degree weather down here, haha! It’s supposed to drop to the 70s tomorrow so I think fall is finally coming. 😉

    We have such similar taste in shopping! I love Burlington and Target! Really any discount store (TJ Maxx, HomeGoods, Ross, etc) are all winners to me. And Target is the best. And Plato’s Closet… do you have one of those up there? I love that place for discount clothes!

    Oh, and I haven’t tried those bath bombs, but you’ll have to let me know what you think if you try them!

  2. Haha to Pom Pom soup!! So glad you could go out with your sis!

    I have given Jimmy Lush bath bombs and those ones from Target (he loves taking baths haha!) and he said nothing compares to Lush, but that the Target ones were good!

    • Ooh, good to know! I figured that they probably wouldn’t be ‘as good’ as Lush. As Jimmy says, nothing can compare to Lush! Ha, ha. 🙂 But it sounds like they’re worth trying if I can’t make it to an actual Lush store.

Leave a Reply

