Best Homemade Pizza!

Food and I aren’t friends right now.  In fact, we’re barely on speaking terms.  Think of the pickiest eater in your life, and I’ve probably got them beat.  (Brady wasn’t even this particular, when he was going through his picky stage).

I’m no stranger to pregnancy food aversions, because I couldn’t eat meat and certain vegetables during the first trimester of my pregnancy with Brady.  But – goodness – I’m taking things to a ridiculous level right now.  Honestly, it’d be so much faster and easier to list the foods that I can eat than to write out the ones that I can’t.  But the short list of foods that make me gag include:  any type of meat, eggs (except on occasion), most vegetables (but particularly spinach, broccoli, carrots, and peppers), spaghetti sauce (so plain pasta is my friend),  coffee (which I was going to give up anyway), and even most sweets.

(I have started to crave chocolate again though, sooooo maybe that’s a sign that I’m nearing the end of this food aversion stage?  Ha, ha.  Let’s hope so)!

Pizza on the other hand?  Pizza is my FAVORITE.  It’s crusty carbs topped with fresh tomatoes and cheese.  What’s not to love, even when you’re pregnant and picky?

This particular pizza recipe?  It’s my ultimate favorite.  Actually, it’s a combination of two recipes.  I use Bobby Flay’s crust recipe and top it with inspiration from Giada De Laurentiis.

The crust is the perfect blend of crusty and chewy, and it comes out perfect every time.  I love the smell of yeast, as it’s rising.  I love peaking at it and seeing that it grew puffy and round.  I love kneading it and feeling its softness in my hands.

It’s easy to make and would be amazing topped with your favorite homemade or canned pizza sauce.  But when topped with fresh mozzarella, basil, garlic, and tomato slices?  Oh-mah-goodness!  I’m drooling just thinking about it.

I’d honestly prefer a slice of this pizza over takeout.  It’s that good.  Trust me, I wouldn’t lie to you.

It’s so fresh, and flavorful, and cheesy.  It’s basically pizza-perfection, if there is such a thing.

I mostly followed the recipes to a T, but I did change up a couple of things.  If you click on the links above, you can check out the chef’s original, amazing recipes.  But below, I’ve condensed them into one recipe (and included a couple of my own notes that made it a bit more home-cook friendly).

If you make it and are as obsessed with it as I am, leave me a comment to let me know!  And then leave comments on the chef’s recipe pages to show them love.  🙂

Homemade Pizza with Fresh Tomatoes, Basil, and Mozzarella 

DOUGH:

3 1/2 to 4 cups bread flour, plus more for rolling
1 teaspoon sugar
1 envelope instant dry yeast
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 1/2 cups water, 110 degrees F
2 tablespoons olive oil, plus 2 teaspoons

ADDITIONAL:

1 tablespoon yellow cornmeal
6 teaspoons extra-virgin olive oil
Log fresh mozzarella (cut into round slices)
2 Roma tomatoes, cut crosswise into 1/4-inch-thick slices
1/4 cup grated Parmesan
Garlic powder
8 fresh basil leaves
1/2 teaspoon salt
Combine the bread flour, sugar, yeast and kosher salt in the bowl of a stand mixer and combine. While the mixer is running, add the water and 2 tablespoons of the oil and beat until the dough forms into a ball. If the dough is sticky, add additional flour, 1 tablespoon at a time, until the dough comes together in a solid ball. If the dough is too dry, add additional water, 1 tablespoon at a time. Scrape the dough onto a lightly floured surface and gently knead into a smooth, firm ball.
Grease a large bowl with the remaining 2 teaspoons olive oil, add the dough, cover the bowl with plastic wrap and put it in a warm area to let it double in size, about 1 hour. Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and divide it into 2 equal pieces. Cover each with a clean kitchen towel or plastic wrap and let them rest for 10 minutes.

Position 1 oven rack in the center and the second rack on the bottom of the oven and preheat to 450 degrees F. Sprinkle the cornmeal over 2 rimless baking sheets. Roll out each piece of pizza dough into a 10 to 11-inch-diameter round. Transfer 1 dough to each prepared baking sheet.
Drizzle 2 teaspoons of oil over each pizza dough. Arrange the mozzarella over the pizza dough, dividing equaling and leaving a 1-inch border around each pizza. Arrange the tomato slices in a single layer over the cheese. Sprinkle with the Parmesan. Arrange basil leaves on top, drizzle with a little more olive oil and sprinkle garlic powder all over. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Bake the pizzas until the crusts are crisp and brown on the bottom and the cheese is melted on top, about 15 minutes. Drizzle 1 teaspoon of oil over each pizza. Sprinkle with basil for garnish and salt. Cut the pizza into wedges and serve immediately.

ENJOY!

 

 

8 thoughts on “Best Homemade Pizza!”

  1. This looks amazing!! I can’t wait to try it out… the crust recipe I use now is okay, but I don’t love it. So sorry you are dealing with all of these food aversions. Not fun at all! Hoping that stage of the pregnancy is over for you soon too. 🙂

    1. I’m just about past food aversions, thank goodness!! (Just in time for the holidays. Ha, ha. I’m kind of excited about being pregnant during the holidays and being able to eat for two… not going to lie. Hee, hee). 🙂

Leave a Reply

