Hashtags (2)

Just a bit ago, Brady started to call me ‘Mamma’ for the first time…

He was perfectly capable of saying it all along, as ‘Mamma’ was one of his very first words.  But he decided, from the beginning, that I was ‘Dadda’.  He said my name that one time and then decided to go months before saying it again.  I didn’t think it was a big deal until that first time he looked up at me with big eyes, snuggled up close to me, and said, ‘Mamma.”

#myheartismelting

And my heart still melts every…single… time.  Hundreds of times a day.  All day…  Sometimes at 1am.  But even if he calls out for me maybe 20 times too often, I still love hearing my name on his lips.  It’s precious!  (And maybe sometimes a bit maddening…  But the preciousness always outweighs the insanity).

Except for on ‘those days’…  There are always ‘those days’ during which I’ve just had enough, and I have to send the hubby and toddler to the store for creamer.  Or paper towels.  Or play-doh, because we’re obviously having a play-doh emergency that needs to be resolved immediately.  Basically anything to get them out of the house, so that I can sit down in peace for 15 minutes.

I do have Brady trained pretty well though.  He calls out “Dadda” whenever he makes a poopy diaper!  LOL!

#genius

Making time for myself definitely took on a bit of a priority this past summer, because I realized that -sometimes – I need it.  I’m not talking, “Oh, it would be nice to have a bit of time for myself” type situations.  I’m talking, “People will get hurt if I don’t have ten minutes to breathe.”

(Have you seen the Tshirts that say, “I bake, because punching people is frowned upon?”  My Tshirt would say, “I have mommy time, because we can’t afford to lock me up if I go crazy).  :).  I just need it sometimes.  Gone are the days when I felt guilty about scheduling it.  I realize now that it’s a healthy part of my functioning as a good mom and wife.

So much so that Nate sometimes senses my exhaustion (#crabbiness) and schedules mommy time for me!  Ha!  But he gets it.  If I have time to myself (OR time with a close friend), I come back recharged and much more patient.

So he was ALL in favor of me going away for a couple of nights with my sister, when she suggested that we enjoy a girl’s getaway.  It’s something that Sarah and I have done annually, although it’s the first time doing it since Brady was born.  Yes, this will be the first time that I leave my baby boy behind for more than 7 hours…

As you read this, I’ll actually be driving home; but as I write this, I’m packing to leave my guys for those two nights.  My sister and I are headed out on our trip to Vermont, and I couldn’t be MORE excited.  And MORE devastated.  😉

#homesickalready

My heart literally hurts at the thought of leaving my little guy behind for two nights.  But at the same time, I know that I’ll come home rested and refreshed.  I SO need this!  And I know it’s going to be FUN and pampering!!

But, wow, hearing ‘Mamma’ is going to be pretty amazing after having gone without hearing it for so long!

#happiness

14 thoughts on “Hashtags (2)”

  1. Aw, love this post! You must be such a wonderful Mama! I hope you enjoyed that well deserved time away & came home to lots of love from your hubby & many kisses from your little man!!

    1. Thank you, Amanda! I had SUCH a wonderful time away. It really was refreshing and just what I needed. But I was definitely excited to get back home to see my guys…. (Brady started screaming with joy when he saw me. Ha, ha).

  2. Friday night will be my first night away from Canaan! My mom has offered to take him so I can finally get a bit of sleep! He wakes sow times every hour at night and I’m in desperate need of recharge! I will miss my boy but I know I need it!

    1. Awwww, good for you!! I never took advantage of my mom watching Brady overnight when he was little, and – looking back – I wish I had! It’s amazing what a good night’s rest can do for a mom!! 🙂 I hope you did get lots of sleep!

  3. I hope your reunion with your boys was wonderful!! So glad you are taking time to take care of yourself and knowing how important that is. So great!

    Also, the whole him-calling-you-Dadda thing is hilarious. So sweet that he’s calling you Mamma now, though! Well, except for those diaper change times when he naturally needs his daddy! 😉

    1. Our reunion was SO amazing! 🙂 Brady started screaming with happiness when he saw me. It was just the best!
      I definitely enjoyed being away for a couple of days though… Brady is definitely a high-energy little boy, and it was incredible for me to be able to sit back and just relax for a bit. (And Nate did really well with him for the two nights)! I’m SO glad to be back home, but – at the same time – it was such an awesome opportunity to be able to go away for two nights.

  4. I am so glad you got to get away with your sister! It is funny how they can be driving you totally nuts but you can’t help but be totally obsessed with them at the same time. My husband also knows what it is like to be sent to the grocery store with my four year old for something that isn’t really all that crucial. 😉

    1. Ha, ha, ha. I don’t know how to be anything but honest when I write… 😉
      And Brady and Nate did AWESOME while I was away. Nate was very much exhausted and happy that I was home. Ha ha. But they really did SO well!!!

  5. So fun. I’m glad that you got away for a bit and that your boys got to bond. I think Brady had that master plan all along about calling you Daddy and then switching to Mama and melting. your. heart. 🙂

  6. Ahh, I love that Brady calls you Mamma now! Music to your ears! Also, so happy you got to get away with your sis 🙂

    The fact that you trained Brady to say Dadda when there’s a poopy diaper involved is the best, haha. Totally #genius!

Leave a Reply

