Autumn Days

So I have something to confess…

Although I know that we’ve only just stepped into August, and that there are many beach days still ahead, I’m finding myself eagerly awaiting the arrival of fall.  (Wait, let me duck before you start to throw your flip flops at me)!  🙂

I just can’t help it.  I love absolutely everything about fall!  From the foods, to the brilliant colors, to the cozy sweaters.  To pumpkin flavored everything…

Bring on the foliage, apple cider donuts, spicy chili, football, and cowgirl boots!  And pumpkin flavored everything…

You know that giddy, alive feeling that most people talk about upon the arrival of spring?  That’s how I feel about autumn.  I just adore it.  And it doesn’t help that the stores are already coming out with fall-inspired fashion.  It’s as though they’re tempting me to pull out my leggings and warm sweaters, despite the unusually warm temperatures this summer.

For example, this plaid, shirt-dress from Maurices is the latest, bargain-shopping addition to my wardrobe.  And I can’t wait to pair it with leggings and boots!

sleeveless plaid shirtdress ($33) ❤ liked on Polyvore featuring dresses, long shirt dress, blue plaid dress, no sleeve dress, tartan plaid dress and shirt dress:

I can already envision myself walking underneath colorful trees, crunching leaves underneath my boots, and eating pumpkin flavored everything.

That being said, I will make the best of summer while it’s still here, of course.  🙂  Nate and I took Brady to the beach last week, just in time to watch the sun set.  The temperatures had cooled, the crowded beach had emptied, and the sun cast a warm glow over the sand.  It was beautiful!

Nothing releases stress for me quite like walking along the shoreline, feeling sand underneath my toes, and hearing the waves lap at the sand.  (I feel like I write that every single year… but it’s SO true.  The ocean is my happy place)!

Brady, on the other hand, didn’t enjoy the beach one bit…  😉

So, yes, I am counting down the days until autumn… and the arrival of pumpkin flavored everything.  BUT there are so many fun plans ahead in August (including more trips to the beach), that I guess I can hold off on wearing boots and flannel just a bit longer.  🙂

What’s your favorite season?

What are some of your favorite scents, flavors, and clothes of fall?

I am seriously obsessed with pumpkin (not that you didn’t already guess that).  🙂  Honestly, it’s kind of overwhelming.  There are SO many pumpkin options once September arrives and only one me.  (I mean, how much pumpkin can one girl eat before she begins to turn orange?).  And then there’s my budget to consider… (I’m fairly certain that companies hire seasonal help to assist during the busy holiday season, not to fuel one’s obsession with buying all things pumpkin-flavored).

Oh Instagram, prepare to be bombarded this fall with pumpkin flavored everything…  

#no shame!

But, oh yeah, it’s August 2nd.  Excuse me while I go pour myself a bowl of watermelon and an iced coffee.  *sheepish grin*

 

17 thoughts on “Autumn Days”

  1. I LOVE FALL!!! Like you, I am excited for pumpkin things and all the other fall goodies. Local apple cider is one of my favorites to go get. I’m excited to take my daughter to the local orchards to check all the fun fall themed activities out.

    1. Hmmmm, there’s nothing like a mug of hot apple cider after taking a chilly walk through an orchard. One of my favorite things too!
      Fun fact: I’ve never been on a hay ride before! A local orchard near my house has them, and I can’t wait to use Brady as an excuse to go on one. Ha, ha! It’s so much fun to introduce kids to all the amazing fall-themed activities, because then we parents can be big kids!! 🙂

  2. I love that dress. Maurices for the win again!

    I’m actually ready for fall too. Of course after fall is winter, but I won’t think that far out right now. 🙂

    It’s so cool that you guys can just decide to go to the beach to watch the sun set on a whim. Landlocked states are great, but that is one perk we do not have!!

    1. It’s interesting how different each state is, even though we’re all in the same country. I think about that sometimes… I’ve never lived in a landlocked state, but it’s definitely different than living near the coast. (At the same time, it was a humbling experience to go to Hawaii and to be completely surrounded by water). I love the variety and that we all live in such different (and beautiful) surroundings! 🙂
      I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one looking forward to fall!

  3. Hahaha! Oh friend, you make me laugh! But then I think this is probably how people feel when they talk to me in October and hear that I’m busy decorating my house for Christmas. 😉 You know how much I love the warm months! And honestly, I love fall too because it’s still not miserably cold. And it’s nice to pull out my layered clothes. But as it approaches I begin preparing myself for the dreaded winter. Of course, I’m talking about “winter” in the south, but I’m a wimp when it comes to cold. 😉 Enjoy your August full of beach trips and fun summer adventures as it brings you one month closer to FALL! 🙂

    1. Ha, ha! Yes, this is me ‘decorating my house for Christmas in October’… except I’m preparing for pumpkin season in August. 😉 Hee, hee.
      I agree, there’s nothing worse than being cold. I do love December and January, for the most part. But February just always seems to last forever and is always SO cold (and by that point, I’m sooooo tired of the snow).
      Maybe we’ll have a really long autumn this year and a light winter? Ha, ha. We can hope!!

  4. You definitely won’t have any flipflops being thrown from this direction! I loooove fall! And that dress is the cutest! I’m going to check and see if it’s possible to order it online after I post this comment:D Plus, it’s almost too hot here in Houston to enjoy the summer, so I’ve been dreaming of fall awhile now!

    1. I hope you found the dress online!! I’m not sure that it wasn’t already sold out, because I got it heavily discounted in the clearance section. BUT have you seen the fall clothes that Maurices is coming out with? They have some REALLY cute fall stuff coming out!!! 🙂
      And I can’t imagine how hot it has been in Houston. We’ve hit the mid 90’s here in New England and that as been unbearable for us… I can only imagine how hot it has been for all of you!

      1. Awww, that stinks! Hopefully there’s one in your store’s clearance section!!
        Ooh, and definitely check out Old Navy! Ha, ha. (I posted a pic on Instagram and on today’s blog of the sundress I bought last night. They’re about $28 and sooooo cute! Not sure if that’s also your style, but I definitely fell in love with them. They’re perfect to wear now but also really cute for autumn). Hope you score some cute (and on sale) items!! 🙂

  5. Okay, you may have got me all pumped up for fall, haha!! I can’t believe how fast this summer has flown by. Like how is it almost mid-August?! Crazy!

    Love. That. Dress.!!

Leave a Reply

