Don’t You Know That You’re Toxic?

I was never a Britney fan, but the title seemed to fit.  So you’re welcome for getting that song stuck in your head.  😉

Anyway…

If you follow my Instagram, then you already know that I’ve been trying Pure Haven Essential lately!  I first learned about these products through my cousin Jill who sells them.  I love that they’re safe and non-toxic, which makes me feel good about using them on my little guy.

One thing that frustrates me to no end is that companies (even companies that we believe are safe like Johnson and Johnson) are allowed to put chemicals in our products that are ultimately endangering our health.  Did you know that Europe bans thousands more chemicals than the handful of chemicals that are banned here in the US?  It’s scary stuff that the lotions we’re rubbing into our skin – and onto our baby’s skin – is causing disease like cancer.

(Read this article if, like me, you need your eyes opened to the dangers of a seemingly safe company like Johnson and Johnson).

Okay, fine…  It’s not just frustrating.  It’s infuriating!

As a mom, I want better for my child.  I’ve definitely been handing out the extra cash in order to buy Pure Haven Essentials, Honest Company, and Seventh Generation products whenever I can afford to.  But if you ask me, we shouldn’t have to grab a bottle off the store shelf and try to decipher the ingredient list.  Toxic (and cheaper) options shouldn’t exist, unless we’re talking about rat poison.

Why are these companies getting away with it?

If a product is to be rubbed on human skin, then companies shouldn’t be allowed to add harmful ingredients just to enhance their profit.  Once upon a time, companies cared, but now it’s all about the money.  But I’m not okay with that, because their greed is putting my family at risk.

I’m not okay with it at all!

Why is the body lotion I spread onto my skin allowed to contain ingredients that will harm me?  (Read The 6 Most Harmful Ingredients Found in Body Lotion).

I don’t believe we should live in fear.  We can only make the best choices before us.  I’m a firm believer in living life to the fullest and not freaking out over what might happen.  (Goodness, we could all hide in our basements and worry about pollution, the possibility of disease, and the quality of our drinking water; but that wouldn’t solve a thing)!  At the same time, I’m also a believer in making better choices that will improve the quality of life for my children and their children.  We can be a positive influence to fight for the change that needs to happen.

Companies have gotten away with this for far too long, and it needs to stop.

I’m not as equipped with information as my cousin is.  But because I have this small blog, I see it as my own little platform to make other moms aware.  And if I can be one more voice out there telling big companies that enough is enough, then I’m glad I did my part!

Enough is enough, am I right?

 

7 thoughts on “Don’t You Know That You’re Toxic?”

    1. You’re welcome! I wish I had paid attention to more of the specific details that my cousin shared (or to the links she had provided). Definitely, the bottom line though is that companies aren’t being held accountable, and we’re seeing negative influences in our health… and in the health of our children. I definitely hope things change soon!
      Thanks for reading!!

  1. A friend of mine works for Shaklee and when she started sharing with me some of the information in every day cleaning products, I was so shocked! I’ll be 100% honest, though. I did try some of their cleaning products. And they worked okay. But not anywhere near as well as the ones with chemicals. I don’t mind a little extra scrubbing, but when it takes me twice as long to clean using the safer product, it’s not encouraging. I do still use the dryer sheets from them because those work well. But when it comes to bathroom cleaning – I use all chemical products. I am MUCH better about being sure the area is well ventilated and that I always wear gloves now, though. That’s sort of like meeting halfway? Sort of. haha! What do you use to clean our bathtub/tile? And what about the toilet? Those are the things I dislike cleaning the most so I’m always wanting to do those chores as quickly as possible, haha! But I’m willing to try out a safer version of something if it works well!

    1. I honestly haven’t switched over many cleaning products. Like you, I’ve found that they don’t work as well (and I don’t have time to take 3 hours to clean my bathroom). 😉 Clorox all the way. ha, ha.
      I’ve really been focused on personal products (or on the products that I use on Brady). At the end of the day, I can’t help but think that at least the small changes I make will add up. (Although I don’t know if I’ll ever switch to the all-natural deodorants. I’ve heard they don’t work as well, and I definitely don’t want to be stinky. Ha, ha).
      I haven’t even tried all-natural shampoo yet, because I don’t know how that would work on my hair. 😉 But it works great in Brady’s hair. So I guess I’m trying to keep his products as all-natural as possible… while buying other products for the house when I can.
      It just frustrates me, when I’m looking for safe products. It’s actually hard to find them (and even products labeled all-natural can hide toxic ingredients in them). I was horrified to learn that newborn babies are already born with toxins in their umbilical cords, because of everything their moms are subjected to.
      Ugh!
      But like I said, we can only do what we can do. I definitely don’t want to live in fear! I just hope that these sorts of things become more regulated, so that we – as the consumer – can feel safer using products.

      1. So, this is going to sound crazy, but I have been using a natural deodorant this summer and it is WORKING! It’s from the company Native. I’ve been using it for six weeks and so far it has been really great. I had been so hesitant to switch over because like you, I didn’t want to be stinky. But so far it has been great. I’m pretty sure I sniffed my armpits like 12 times a day the first week I wore it, haha! Summer isn’t the ideal time to try switching to a natural deodorant (I was just impatient to try it and since it worked for me, I kept going with it) so this fall when it’s cooler out, Christopher is going to try it as well. He already uses just a plain deodorant (not an anti-antiperspirant – so no aluminum), but it’s not a natural one. I’m hoping it’ll work for him as well!

        As for looking for safe products… have you heard of Skin Deep by the Environmental Working Group (http://www.ewg.org/skindeep/)? You can research most beauty products on their website to find out about the ingredients and how safe they are. Anytime I’m looking for something new, I check it there first. They’ve helped me find all kinds of safer products! 🙂

  2. Yeah… I totally have the Britney song stuck in my head now, haha!

    I haven’t researched too much into chemicals in the things we put on our body (to be honest, I’m kind of scared to!!), but I’ve been trying to buy more natural brands like Burt’s Bees. I can’t imagine how it will be if/when I have kids. I will definitely be much more into finding safe alternatives! I had no idea Johnson and Johnson had so many chemicals! Eek!

Leave a Reply

