Bathing Suit Shopping

 

I’m going to be honest here (as I always am) and admit that, generally, I hate bathing suit shopping…

(This was me trying to make a oh-boy-here-we-go face, but I completely realize that it looks more like I’m whistling).

I mean, let’s face it, most of us aren’t fans, no matter how great our self-confidence is.  There’s just something less than ideal about standing half-naked in a chilly dressing room that’s surrounded by mirrors and flooded with overhead lights, which accentuate absolutely everything you don’t want to be accentuated.  (That was dangerously close to being a run-on sentence, and my college English professors just shuddered as I wrote it.  But it was worth it…   There’s nothing like bathing suit shopping to make me feel like spouting off a good ol’ run-on sentence).

If it were up to me, shopping for a bathing suit would be more like going to the spa.  There’d be warm lighting, refreshing cucumber water, and an attendant waiting outside the dressing room door whose sole purpose would be to smile and say, “Wow, you’re a rockstar!”

Also, the bathing suit sizes would range from “Gorgeous” to “Go gett’em’.”

Yeah, pretty much the opposite of the actual experience.

But I have to admit that I faced this particular trip with more enthusiasm than normal, because it was getting me out of the house… alone.  Nate was going to stay home to watch Brady, and I could actually walk through the stores at a normal pace like a normal human being.

And it was retail therapy, which I enjoy way too infrequently these days.  So I was going to make the best of it!

Here’s the thing though…  My body has changed since carrying a 10 lb baby and undergoing a C-section.  (Surprise, surprise).  My feet grew almost a size, my thighs and butt have more padding, and my stomach isn’t quite as tight.  I’ve learned from my mom (who works at a clothing store) that it’s important to find styles that compliment your particular body type, but I had no idea what style would look best.  (Also, is “Tired Mom” considered a body type)?

So I grabbed one of each.  Also I had absolutely no idea what size I’d be in (and every style and brand would fit differently), so I had to grab a few sizes of each. I   literally tried on 16 bathing suits, because I wanted to find one that I felt confident in.

Or was it 20 bathing suits?  We’ll go with 16, because that sounds more sane.

Of course, amidst those various styles and sizes, a few of them were really pathetic.  It was totally the bathing suit and not me… of course!  But wow. Let’s just say I wouldn’t be cast to run down the beach for a season of Baywatch anytime soon.  (Unless yoga pants are an option for a Baywatch Mothers spin-off, in which case, I’m in!).

But after some patience and trial-and-error, I did it!  I found not one, but two!  What?!?

*insert happy dance*

I’m a mom.  I carried a life inside of me, and that little life is growing up and demanding more of my attention every day.  Some days I eat healthy, but – most days – I need chocolate to survive.  And I refuse to give up icecream.  And my workout is incorporated into an already hectic day, although I’ve been better at making it a priority.

That’s the mom life.

But what I love is that YOU remind me every day to see beauty in myself.  I rarely subscribe to magazines anymore, because I’d much rather catch up on blogs and read about what YOU are up to.  I’d rather see your pictures and read about your adventures.  And unlike Hollywood’s representation of beauty, your beauty is real.  I see variety, many shapes and sizes, a multitude of colors, and confidence.

My self-confidence is only lifted every time I read a blog post, because I am reminded of what true beauty is.  True beauty is US.

I’m healthy.  I’m strong.  I’m beautiful.  I don’t need to be a certain size or shape to wear a bathing suit at the beach.  I’m ready to kill it now!  I’m ready to get out there and have a blast in the sun.  If I’m dimpled, and pale, and jiggly, then I’ll look radiant pulling off that look!  Because I’ll have my toes in the sand, the sun at my back, seagulls flying overhead, enough snacks to feed an army (or a toddler and my husband for two hours), and an entire beach waiting to be run across.

Who has time to worry about ‘perfection’ in a bathing suit?  Gosh, I certainly don’t!  Because perfection in a bathing suit is how I look in a bathing suit.  And how you look in a bathing suit.

Don’t let Hollywood tell you otherwise!

Girls, we are ALL gorgeous!

These three were my absolute favorites out of all the suits I tried on.  The Aztec print in the middle was my favorite print, but – in the end – I picked the floral pattern.  It fit the best!  (I do have a toddler to chase after, and we don’t want any mommy mishaps at the beach, if you know what I mean).  😉

AND I really liked this striped one (obviously) from Target, so I grabbed that one too.  My thought is that I can have two and then maybe putting off shopping for another bathing suit for a really long time.

But then again, maybe bathing suit shopping isn’t really as painful as I had thought!

(Although I still like the idea of refreshing cucumber water… and maybe snacks).

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Bathing Suit Shopping”

  1. Hooray for solo shopping trips! The Aztec one might be might favorite too. I love the two you chose though and the floral one looks like an awesome design. I am glad you found some that you like and maybe even had a little fun doing it. I agree that cucumber water wouldn’t hurt. 😉

  2. I like your imaginary version of swimsuit shopping. I’d be all over that! 😉 Seriously, though, I’m so glad you found two that work for you (and are cute too!). And I love what you wrote about what’s important. So so true!

  3. Love, love, love this post! I’m so glad you were able to get out by yourself and find some bathing suits. Your acceptance of yourself and your body inspires me and makes me so happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

