Getting Healthy – an update

I suppose it’s time for me to update everyone as to how my exercise and eat-healthy goals are going!  Hmmmm, should I start with the good news or the bad news? 😉

So first, let’s talk about excuses.

Actually, let’s back up.  First, let me make an excuse.  Please excuse me if this blog post is a bit scatter-brained and more suited to the scribblings of a young child.  Brady is just getting over a 3 week stretch of very little sleep, and my body is feeling it.  (To be more specific, my brain is feeling it too).

Tonight, I tried to screw the nipple of Brady’s bed-time bottle onto the top of a milk jug.  Nate thought it was hilarious.  Brady was disappointed that I wasn’t actually intending to give him an entire gallon of milk.  And I felt my heart drop as I wondered what else I was accidentally messing up, because seriously awkward things can happen when you’re functioning on so little sleep.  I mean, my biggest fear is walking into the grocery store and realizing that I forgot to put on pants.

You just can’t bounce back from that!

What were we talking about again??

Oh, right, my exercise and eat-healthy goals!  🙂  Here’s the tough news…  Starting a dedicated fitness routine that’s fueled by healthier foods is tough.  I know that’s nothing new to anyone reading this, and I’d definitely prefer to skip over this part of my journey and blog about the victories.  🙂  BUT I also know that there are plenty of women (and men) out there who do have to drop a few pounds for health reasons, so I want to always be completely honest.

So could I do better?  Yes!  I honestly haven’t made the commitment to cardio that I need to, but that is – mainly – due to the weather just now warming up.  I have a really hard time starting a jogging routine on a treadmill, and I’m just now able to run outside.  And as for the eating, no foods are taboo; because I want this to be a lifestyle commitment (not a diet).  But I could definitely cut down on the sugar and carbs.  😉  And let’s face it, it’s sooooo easy to come up with an excuse as to why the workouts should start tomorrow.  

When I made an excuse to not exercise yesterday, Nate calmly looked at me and said, “What do you need me to be?  The tough husband who pushes you?  Or the understanding husband who lets you rest?”

I sighed and replied, “The tough husband…”

So needless to say, I ran a solid 2 miles shortly afterward)!

So yes, let’s talk about the victories! 🙂  Most of you have already read my posts during which I recapped my gaining weight due to stress eating and not committing myself to exercising after becoming a mom.  (If not, you can read those here and here).  I put on about 30 pounds over the past 4 years, and it wasn’t because I needed to. It was all because I was eating too much junk food and definitely not working out like I should.

But since February, I’ve lost 5 pounds!

I know that most people would see that as really slow progress, but I’m so happy about it.  I haven’t even exercised as much as I should, but I’m already moving in the right direction!  That’s all been due to moving more, listening to my body and trying to obey hunger cues, chasing after my toddler, and cutting out calorie-laden drinks.

Just those baby steps and little changes have been helping me to feel better.  But now that the nicer weather is here, I definitely need to take the workouts up a notch!  😉  Hopefully the next blog post is all about the awesome workouts I fit into my hectic lifestyle!!  🙂 But either way, I’m going to be proud of myself for moving in the right direction.

That’s what this journey is for me.  It really is about lifestyle choices and just feeling strong, healthy, and confident!  I don’t specifically have a number on the scale that I’m working towards.  I just want to fill my body with healthy foods and work my muscles, so that I can be the healthy, energetic mom that Brady deserves.  🙂

So, yes, it has been baby steps.  But I’m tip-toeing in the right direction, my friends.

 

 

14 thoughts on “Getting Healthy – an update”

  1. You are definitely taking the right approach! Lifestyle change is going to stick, slow and steady. Good job!

    Also, you know Brady was thinking, “Score!” when he saw the bottle lid going on the milk jug. 🙂 Too funny!

    1. Brady was definitely thinking “score”! Ha, ha!!
      And thank you, Amy! I was out running this morning, and it felt great. Even though I’ve only been running about 2 days a week, I feel as though I’m slowly making progress. 🙂 It just feels so good to be moving again!

  2. Go into your kitchen, find 5lbs worth of goods (flour, sugar, oats, whatever..) and lift it up. That’s how much lighter you are now 🙂 Mike made me do this last night because in my mind I’m not losing enough weight and I can’t see any difference. So, when I could see everything together and lift it, it made me realise I need to keep going.
    Bet Brady was disappointed when you corrected your error!

    1. I LOVE that! You’re right, it’s so easy to think “eh, I just lost five pounds.” But when you hold a 5 lb bag of flour or sugar, it becomes much more obvious that your body is free from a good chunk of heavy weight! Thank you for sharing that!!

  3. Hey, 5 lbs is 5 lbs! That’s really great! You go girl 😉

    When you run outside, do you take Brady in his stroller? I’m not sure how the whole jogging stroller situation works (since I’m not a mommy myself yet) but that might be extra motivating knowing that he might enjoy getting out too!

    1. I have run with Brady before, and it’s a REALLY good workout (especially now that he’s 30 pounds). 😉 It’s amazing how much tougher it is to run while pushing a toddler in a stroller. I haven’t done much of that yet this year, because the mornings are still SO chilly. I’m kind of taking advantage of my husband being home, so he watches Brady… and I go for a quick run. (It’s only been about twice a week, but I can already feel myself getting a bit stronger). And then hopefully, once the warmer weather arrives, I’ll be strong enough to add the extra weight of jogging with Brady.
      He LOVES being pushed in the stroller when I run! And he’s quite the coach… HE giggles when I run; he voices his displeasure when I have to walk to catch my breath. 😉
      YES, that will be motivation, knowing how much he loves to come with me!! 🙂

  4. Where the heck are you hiding that weight?!? Must be muscle from picking up Brady! I haven’t noticed any changes. You are seriously gorgeous.

    Keep doing the best you can! 🙂

    PS – I love Nate. Best husband response ever. He deserves an award.

    1. Awwww, thank you, Janelle! Honestly, I was shocked that I’d gained 30 pounds too. Ha, ha! I mean, I did go up two pant sizes, so I guess it makes sense. But I had a routine doctor’s appointment, and I had to step on the scale. I was shocked to find out just how much weight I’d put on, and I had to come home to double-check it afterward. 😉
      I love that I still feel confident in my skin though. I mean, I don’t feel as strong and healthy as before, which is why I’m trying to work out more and eat healthier. But still, I don’t feel ‘fat’, you know? I’m just curvier and more womanly! Ha, ha! It’s just further proof that my mind is at a MUCH better place than it was back in my teen years, and it’s an awesome place to be!! 🙂
      Thank you for the encouragement!!!! And yes, Nate deserves an award for sure. He’s awesome. 🙂

  5. Congratulations on the five pounds! That’s awesome! Each step in the right direction is a little victory. Go you!

    Also, the milk jug thing… that is so something I would do when I’m frazzled so I’m with you. I’m sure Brady was super disappointed he didn’t get the whole jug. 😉

  6. I am so behind on my blog reading because our family has been sick these past few weeks. It is amazing what happens to our minds when our kids are off/ not sleeping well. 😉 I was happy to see an update on this. It is always encouraging to read how others are doing on their healthy lifestyle journey. Good for you for making those small changes that end up making a big difference!

  7. I know it’s tough, and discussing when you don’t see progress for a LONG time, but trust me, your body will start to adjust back to normal when it’s ready. My son is a year and a half and it’s only been in the past few months I’ve gotten my will power and healthy tastebuds back, and I’ve been able to drop 2 sizes out of the, probably 4-5 I went up during my pregnancy. It was so strange, all the sudden junk just stopped being appealing and I’ve had the urge to be more active! Hang in there, I’m definitely starting to trust that my body and my brain inherently know what’s they’re doing and will do what’s best when they’re ready.

    1. I LOVED this comment and found it to be so encouraging! It’s true, our bodies really do know what’s best. We go through so many changes when we’re pregnant (and it’s over 9 months). So it’s understandable that it takes time for our bodies to lose the weight in a healthy way.
      Thank you for that encouragement!!!

Leave a Reply

