Mr. Golden Sun

If I could, I totally would have bottled yesterday’s weather to save for a rainy (or cold) day.  It was absolutely perfect!  Seventy-one degrees, sunny (but not too hot), and too early in the season for bugs.  Really, it was the epitome of what I consider to be the most beautiful day.

Brady doesn’t nap well on Sundays (since he’s so busy playing with his church friends), so Nate and I opted to go for a long drive instead of an afternoon walk.  The little guy just seemed so tired and in need of a good nap.  (But at the same time, there was no way that I was going to sit at home).  🙂

As we usually do when we go for a drive, we ended up in the middle of nowhere, which is – to be honest – right where we wanted to be.  I feel most at home (and at peace) in the middle of the woods, second only to the beach.  You all know how calming the beach is for me.  Sigh, it just makes me happy.

We were driving along the most narrow of unfamiliar, forest roads when suddenly it opened up to a beach along a beautiful lake.  What?!?  I’m fairly certain that this area is supposed to be private and enjoyed only by the vacation home owners who live in the area during the summer.  But it’s off season (as it’s rarely this warm in April), so there was no one on the beach.  And Brady had just happened to wake up.

So we stopped the Jeep right along the beach (as the road lined the outskirt of the sand), and we all hopped out to soak our toes.

The second my bare feet buried their way into the warm sand, I felt like a new person.  There’s just something about the sand, and the water, and the sunshine…  It cures whatever ails me every time.

Brady wasn’t having any of the “just soak your toes” rules, so the pants came off…  😉  He just kept saying, “Wow, wow, wow” really loudly, so I think he’s going to like the beach just as much as his mom does.

Honestly, just playing there on the beach and feeling the very cold water on my toes made me feel as though I was on vacation.  It wasn’t a bad winter by any means, but it still somehow felt long.  It was SO good to be playing outside again.

Awwww, and summer is only just beginning!  🙂

 

9 thoughts on “Mr. Golden Sun”

  1. LOVE these pictures so much!! I feel destressed just looking at them..haha! So glad you guys were able to get outside and enjoy some sunshine! I was working all day yesterday but managed to sneak in a small walk late in the day…it felt SO nice not to be wearing a jacket. 🙂

  2. Ahhh, I can’t get enough of those little legs. Great photos! You both look terrific. I’m so glad you had gorgeous weather and a nice time on your outing to the beach.

    Also, now I have “Mister sun, sun, mister golden sun, won’t you please shine down on me?” in my head!

  3. Wow! What a beautiful little spot to just randomly discover! We don’t have a lot of woods where I live, so I can’t imagine just getting lost in ’em. Then again, we do have the beach nearby! Ya win some, ya lose some lol 🙂

    1. Exactly! Ha, ha. I love New England, because we have a little bit of everything (forest, beaches, big cities, country life). But at the same time, we don’t have palm trees. 😦 And I LOVE palm trees so much. LOL! But I guess that’s what makes traveling so much fun!! Like you said, you win some and you lose some. Ha, ha! 🙂

  4. This weekend was so beautiful! It is so nice that the bugs aren’t out yet. I love those Sunday afternoon drives with a sleeping kid in the back seat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

