Easter 2016

I’ve hosted Easter for the past several years, and – although it’s a lot of work – it’s a tradition that I absolutely treasure.  The planning…  The finalizing of a menu…  The careful scheduling to make sure all the food is ready at the same time…

It’s a celebration of spring, family, food… and ultimately the remembrance of my God’s sacrifice on a cross to show love and provide forgiveness.  Honestly, Easter held special meaning for me this year, because a few close friends have been going through some difficult times.  This holiday is a reminder that we aren’t alone and that our Creator loves each and every one of us more than we could possibly comprehend.  For me, the celebration of Easter is like a warm hug and a reminder that the God I serve is more powerful than any circumstance.

I love preparing food for people and then watching them enjoy it.  I love making sure my house feels cozy, comfortable, and welcoming.  I specifically love doing it for the four family members that came to visit this past Easter.  (Unfortunately, my brother Matt wasn’t able to make it, so we missed him this year).  🙂

untitled-18-L (cropped)

I truly have been blessed with the most loving, generous family.  I could never, ever do enough to show them just how much I love them… but preparing Easter dinner is definitely something I use as a way to show that love in a small way.

This was my first year cooking dinner while also trying to take care of a toddler, and I have to say that it did make things slightly more challenging.  😉  My cake didn’t turn out quite the way I wanted.  And my food wasn’t quite as good as normal…

I also had to get creative with my decorations, since I’d only had the time / money to pick up a few.

At first, I let that bother me.  I focused on holidays past, and it was tough to not compare.  The funny thing is that – at first – I focused on how I had once had time to do the extra things like paint my nails, decorate the house, perfect the food, and even fold napkins into bunnies!  😉  But bit by bit, I found myself focusing on the differences that made this Easter particularly special…

The beautiful, warm sunshine.

Brady’s first Easter basket.

And his first Easter egg hunt.

This little boy lights up every part of me and fills me with a joy I can’t explain.

And he reminded me that all the other ‘stuff’ just doesn’t matter!

How was your Easter?

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Easter 2016”

  1. Precious boy! I have a question about your photography– how do you keep your indoor photos from being grainy? Do you have a lot of natural light? Do you Photoshop/edit the photos after? Certain settings? I’m a photographer on the side and have always struggled with indoor photos. Your’s always look so crisp and clear! If I don’t have gobs of natural light, I struggle!

    1. So my sister did the Easter pics for me actually. 🙂 Photography is a passion of mine, but she takes it to an entirely new level. She’s REALLY good!! I’ve been learning from her over the past year or so, and indoor photography heavily relies on ISO, shutter speed, and and aperture. (And having a really good lense makes a world of difference too, of course). The lower the ISO, the crisper the pictures (so I’m fortunate that my house has awesome, natural lighting). BUT if you need more ISO – because your pictures are too dark – then you have to adjust the aperture accordingly. Also, I own umbrella lights which help add a touch of natural light (if you’re taking portraits or still pictures). I’ve been reading some books to learn more about it, BUT after reading your comment, I asked my sister if she’d write a guest post for us about photography. And she said ‘yes’! 🙂 She’ll share some great tips, I’m sure!!
      And we both edit our photo’s a tad, just to bring out the crisp colors. She uses lightroom, and I use Picasa (which is free and super user-friendly). 🙂

  2. All that other stuff definitely doesn’t matter! I love this post! And I love that you got to spend Easter with family. So very precious! 🙂

    On a photography related note… I love the halo of light on Brady’s Easter basket! Very cool shot! 🙂

    1. My sister took them for me… I love photography as well, but she is SO good at it. (She’s been teaching me over the past year, because I’ve been wanting to get better at it). It’s such a fun hobby! 🙂

  3. This post is just so beautiful, Nicole. You have an amazing ability to keep your focus on what truly matters. I just love that about you. Your decorations and food look incredible. You family also looks so happy, and Brady is seriously the cutest!! Love his outfit and joyful smile!

    1. It’s so easy to get caught up in ‘stuff’… Sometimes I need to take that step back and remember what really matters. It helps to put everything into perspective! 🙂

    1. Brady is SUCH a little man now… 🙂 I don’t know how this happened. Ha, ha! It goes by way too fast. I’m sure your little one is SO big too!!!

  4. It looks like you had a wonderful Easter! The food looks amazing! I love all of the pictures… especially the last two. All of the holidays are so much more fun when you get to watch you own baby enjoy them.

    1. Having kids definitely makes the holidays that much more special, for sure. It’s like being able to relive them through the eyes of a child. 🙂

Leave a Reply

