New Hampshire Travels

Over the weekend, my sister Sarah and I took a road trip to meet up with my brother Matt who lives out-of-state.  (For any new readers, my sister is on the left, I’m the gal on the right, and my brother is the one with the mustache).

The meetup officially happened in Dover, New Hampshire, which is an awesome town that’s officially too cool for school.  It’s really artsy and filled with unique restaurants, interesting brick buildings, a children’s museum, and up-and-coming (a.k.a. starving) artists.

Just visiting there made me rethink my decision to not have dreadlocks.

Kidding!  😉

But still, if I were anymore adventurous than I already am, I probably would get some dreads and then move there.  And I’d be a starving blogger who wrote clever things from the corner of a swanky coffee shop.

That’d totally be awesome…minus the starving part.

This pic is from a coffee shop named Flight, which serves cups of Joe that are maybe a little too sophisticated for my taste.  The brew was strong enough to walk away on its own… or to put hair on my chest… or to make a grown woman cry.

Well, you get the point.  No matter of cream or soy milk could cut the intensity, and my sister and I just couldn’t stomach it.  Probably because we don’t have dreads.  (Although I think the soy milk was bad, because my sister’s coffee was ridiculously sour).  But seriously, it made Starbucks coffee seem weak!  And sooooo, guess where she and I went immediately afterward to satisfy our coffee needs?  😉

 

Anyway, we just had fun walking around and taking in the sights.  There was a path that took us between and underneath brick buildings, and I totally felt as though I were in a video game.  (Not that I play video games, but I imagine that this is how the landscape looks if you were to be in one).

It was all SO interesting!

There was also a really fun mural painted on a brick wall, and we had fun posing in front of it.

After walking around for awhile, we took a drive to Portsmouth, NH for lunch.  I adore Portsmouth, as it’s another artsy town filled with restaurants and shops.  (It’s definitely a lot bigger than Dover and better suited for a day of shopping.  But it’s also expensive, so I tend to enjoy window-shopping whenever I go).

My brother recommended that we eat at Street 360, which claims to serve street food from around the world.  For me, adventurous eating is digging into French Fries without ketchup, so I wasn’t all too sure how I’d like it.  😉  BUT I’m always willing to try something new, so I was game.

The atmosphere was loud and bright.  The smells were absolutely incredible.  The menu was colorful and slightly overwhelming to someone who isn’t used to eating curry, Yuca, or Bibimbap.  But I dug in!

We started off with a plate of Yuca fries. Apparently they’re a South American staple, and it’s pronounced ‘y00-kah’ (which is good to know since it’s never a good thing when people start saying ‘yuckah’ in a crowded restaurant).  They were further proof that absolutely anything tastes amazing if it’s fried.  🙂  They were very close in consistency to a regular potato fry, but they were a little sweeter.  Definitely yummy!

I also had a sampling of the curry fries (which I didn’t take a picture of, because curry stains clothes and absolutely anything else it comes into contact with).  So I sampled and then wiped my hands clean.  They also were very different than what I’m used to eating, but also delicious.

For my entree, I ordered the Cemita (and asked for the veggie burger option, instead of the chicken or red meat).  Oh my goodness, you guys!  Hands down, it was the most flavorful veggie burger that I have ever eaten out!  It was topped with avocado, pickled onion (which gave the burger sooooo much flavor), and – the most awesome part of all – Mexican fried cheese.  I had been warned that the Chipotle mayo was really spicy, so I opted to have that on the side… and used ketchup instead.  But goodness gracious, when put together, the burger was absolutely incredible!  

After stuffing our faces, we decided to drive out to Kittery, Maine (which wasn’t far) and did a bit of outlet shopping.  I behaved and only bought two sweaters and a sweatshirt (at 40% off).   In all, it was SUCH a fun day!!  AND it was definitely a much-needed day out for this mama.  🙂

I can’t wait for my next adventure with my brother and sister!!  🙂

 

 

12 thoughts on “New Hampshire Travels

    • It was SO much fun! I love living so close to my sister, but it definitely was amazing to be able to see my brother too. 🙂 As you know, it’s special when everyone gets to be together!

  1. How fun! I’m glad you got some Starbucks to wash the taste of that too-strong coffee out of your mouth. I like to think I’m adventurous when it comes to food, but…well, I don’t know. Some of the stuff on the menu looks pretty far out! Isn’t it interesting that food in other places is no big deal, everyday stuff? I wonder what they would find weird about what I eat….

    • I know, it really is interesting to see how different cultures eat such different foods. Tastes really can be acquired, and it’s hard sometimes to enjoy something that has unusual flavors. I have a feeling that some countries would roll their eyes at the amount of chocolate I consume. 😉

  2. Haha Love your dreadlock jokes! It is fun to see pictures on here of places that I actually go too! I haven’t tried Street 360 yet, and now I really want to go. Yay for outlet shopping! Have you been to the Merrimack outlets?

    • Let me know what you think of it, if you do ever go to Street 360! 🙂 I think that it was more my brother’s scene than mine (as he likes the bright and loud places that are really unique and artsy), BUT the food was really good. So I’m glad I went!! (The veggie burger option can be switched to a regular hamburger or chicken burger too, which is nice).
      I’ve only been to the Merrimack outlets once ( a few years ago). And I loved it! Hmmmm, blogger meet-up sometime?? 🙂

    • You are a true coffee enthusiast, so you would probably like it! My brother said he’s obsessed with the coffee and insists that it’s good. But I honest-to-goodness couldn’t tolerate it. If you ever find yourself out this way, you will have to check it out! 🙂 (The atmosphere was most definitely spot on)!

  3. LOL at you (jokingly) rethinking your decision not to have dreadlocks!! I am so glad you had a fun day with your brother and sister! I love all of the pictures! Siblings are the best :). Also, your veggie burger sounds so delicious!!

Leave a Reply

