Jumpstart

Finally…  January is over!

Or, well, it will be once this posts at midnight.  😉

January was rather tough, and so I’m quite glad to say ‘goodbye’ to it.  Not that I think it’s the month’s fault…  But still, it will be nice to have a clean slate, so to speak.  I told Nate just the other day that I see February 1st as a New Year’s redo.

He responded by bringing Chinese food home, since that’s our New Year’s Eve tradition.  (I think there’s a slight chance that he was just craving Chinese food…  But we’ll give him the benefit of the doubt and say that he was just being really sweet and supportive).  🙂

Anyway, today offers more than just a brand new month full of possibility.  It begins my journey to find value in myself again.  As a wife, and especially as a mom, it is SO easy to lose myself in caring for others.  Last year, I never made the time to exercise…  I felt guilty if I spent money on myself, so I dropped routines that I deemed unnecessary  (but that would have helped me feel pampered and rejuvenated)…

I rarely made time for me…

And honestly, I’m feeling it.

So I spent a good amount of time last week formulating a plan that would allow me to still be the best mom and wife, while also taking care of MYSELF.

Today begins my journey.

I’m a little scared of it, because I know it’s going to require work.  But I’m going to be blogging about this journey on a regular basis, because I want you to help keep me accountable.  🙂  I’ll share more about what my plans are and what I really feel I need to work on very soon…

But I’m going to leave you with this little intro for today, because I’m headed off to bed.  I’m setting my alarm clock for an early morning workout!

Wish me luck!!  🙂

 

7 thoughts on “Jumpstart

  1. Even though you and I are in different situations, we actually ended up at a very similar point: something crappy (understatement) happened, we learned/realized we need to invest in ourselves, and now we both have plans to do so! We can cheer each other on and hold each other accountable 🙂

    I can’t wait to hear what your plans are. Please let me know what I can do to support you!

    • Yes, yes, YES! I hope that you will keep me updated as to your plans (as they evolve, grow, and are accomplished)!
      I think it’s so humbling to admit that we’re at this point, isn’t it? But it’s also a part of the healing and growing process!
      As for support, feel free to text or email me any time to ask me how the healthier lifestyle is going. 😉 I’ll be blogging about it over the upcoming days. But in a nutshell, finding the time and energy to exercise is a daunting task right now. At the same time, I’m committed to do it! This morning, I woke up bright and early so that I could run before Brady woke up. It’s going to be a day-by-day struggle and victory for me, but I really need to do this! And I believe I can!! 🙂

      • Way to go!!! I don’t currently have a plan (I tried a ton of different things in 2015) but I want to have a new one soon. I’m excited to follow your progress and cheer you on!

      • Thanks, Janelle!! 🙂 You’ll find a plan that works. I hope this plan works for me… We’ll see. But the great thing is that life is a journey, and we should celebrate the journey too. 🙂

  2. This is so exciting! I’m really happy for you, Nicole. I’m sure as a mom it isn’t easy to find time to take care of yourself or to not feel guilty about it, but when we take care of ourselves we are better all around for the ones we take care of!

Leave a Reply

