Loss

I very recently lost someone very dear to me.  It was one of those ‘goodbye’s that leaves you reeling… and feeling a little empty…and maybe even confused as to how easily everyone else’s lives seem to be moving forward when yours has come to a crashing halt.  It was almost hard to get my bearings for a little bit.  And I definitely cried… a lot.

I’m not ready to really share about it here on my blog…

But at the same time, I think that the way it has influenced me will make an appearance.

Even during the beginning stages of my grief, as I was faced with such a loss, I was filled with a sense of overwhelming gratitude for just how blessed I am.  Although death takes those we love from us (oftentimes long before we’re ready to let go), it also reminds us to cherish every single day.  It reminds us to hold those we love close and to never take them for granted.

I’ve definitely been snuggling Brady tight (for as long as he’ll hold still in my arms).  🙂  And Nate and I have been taking more time to be present with each other, instead of letting the busyness of the day take over.  We’ve just been more aware of how every single day should be celebrated.  Of how we should never take the people in our lives for granted.

It’s so easy to go through the motions…  To live for the weekends…  To stress because there’s a long line at the supermarket or because there’s a stain on our favorite shirt.

Last week was a startling reminder of what really matters in life, and I honestly found myself looking over the upcoming year through a new set of eyes.  I found myself incredibly thankful for what I have (especially for the people who are in my life).  I looked around my living room and took in Nate reading on the couch and Brady playing with blocks; and I prayed to God, “Thank you for this.”

One day, I’ll run through those streets of gold in heaven and last week’s ‘goodbye’ will have transformed into a warm greeting of ‘hello’.

And hugs.  Lots of hugs.

But until then, I will hold onto this reminder that every single day is a gift from God.

Hold those you love close.  Make beautiful memories.  Try new things.  Spread joy.  And don’t sweat the small stuff.

Life is short.  Live, laugh, and love with everything inside you.  🙂   Because that’s how life was meant to be lived!!

9 thoughts on “Loss

  1. Nicole, I am so sorry for your loss. Your attitude and perspective is both admirable and inspiring. You are such an amazing woman and you deserve all good things. I hope time and lots of love help you heal.

    I’m here for you always ❤

  2. So very sorry for your loss! I will be praying for you. What you did share here is beautiful, and such a great reminder to be thankful for what we have right now.

Leave a Reply

