This Mama Runs on Coffee

Being a mom takes exhaustion levels to a whole new level.  It’s not just the lack of sleep at play here.  Suddenly, your mind is being pulled in fifty different directions (on top of that lack of sleep or down time).  And now – in a completely exhausted state – you’re pondering what to make for dinner, when to fold laundry, how to prep for this week’s Sunday School lesson, and how to keep everyone alive.

d02b403c4dab3d5a0d75c7c1379eb449

(When you have a mischievous little boy running around your home, that last one can definitely keep you on your toes).

I can’t imagine getting through my day without coffee.  It’s like liquid hope.  It’s a sudden burst of clarity, energy, and sanity.  (Or at least that’s what I tell myself.  Oftentimes, I feel as though I’m convincing myself that it’s doing even more good than it really is.  But still, there’s no debating the fact that the caffeine – at the very least – is desperately needed).

daa5dcd4dbd8c4875dc69b4f5f20b4e9

As of late, however, I’ve needed that first cup of coffee to help me order coffee!

Most recently, a local coffee chain had had an offer of ordering a medium coffee for $1.29.  I usually order a small, but – hey – I couldn’t pass up the extra coffee for such a great price!  Only, when I walked up to the counter to order, I accidentally mixed up the words ‘small’ and ‘medium’.

My order came out like this…

“Hi, I’d like a smile, please.”

tumblr_npdxbyKUVN1rt8qn0o1_500

The barista was anything but amused, obviously thinking that I was being sarcastic.  And I suppose I didn’t help by suddenly bursting into a fit of giggles.  (I laugh when I’m nervous.  It’s just what I do).

When I realized that she wasn’t going to find this as funny as I did, I quickly corrected my order by saying this…

“Oops, I’m sorry!  I meant ‘medium-small’.  I’d like a medium-small, iced coffee, please.”

I stood there with a completely innocent smile on my face (not realizing what I had just done) and waited for her to ask me for my $1.29.

0e572de20b083ac204bb8f02f5c892b5

She looked me over as though I was a crazy person and replied “Do you want a small OR a medium coffee?”

Cue more nervous giggles.  She – again – isn’t amused and is just standing there staring at me.

“This isn’t the first time I’ve needed a coffee to order my coffee,” I said, laughing.  “Sorry, I’ll take a medium.”

She grabbed a cup and walked off to fulfill my order.

170f318c8b115be53ccef84a88710d00

I thought to myself, “Hmmmm, can I change my order and go back to the previous request for a smile?”  😉

I’ll bet she’s a mom who didn’t get her coffee too!

At any rate, I left her a tip for putting up with me.  Then I sipped down the beverage as quickly as I could, hoping the caffeine would give me energy to get me through the day.  Or, well, at least until my next cup of joe!

78291a26dc969dd8aebb5321bda87e9a

 

14 thoughts on “This Mama Runs on Coffee”

    1. For sure! She was definitely having a bad day. Ha, ha. But yes, my story has a happy ending, because I was still able to buy my coffee at a good price. 🙂

    1. If only coffee beans counted as salad. I would be soooo healthy! 🙂
      And I find mixed up words like that hilarious. Ha, ha! I’m always so shocked when it happens, and then I just burst into laughter. 🙂

  1. So funny! You had me laughing out loud with this post! And the nervous giggles…I get them too and hate that they usually make awkward situations even more awkward😝

Leave a Reply

