Heat Wanted

It’s funny how life works sometimes.

I’m not talking about a “Ha, ha, ha, that’s hilarious” kind of funny, but more of an, “Excuse me while I curl up into a ball and laugh-cry” kind of funny.  Yeah, you’re right.  That doesn’t sound very funny at all.

Let’s rewrite that first sentence…

 

It’s unfair how life works sometimes.

Originally, my plans for tonight were quite nice.  I was going to take a hot bath, and then I was going to snuggle up on the couch and write a blog post about my New Year’s goals.  ‘Course, Murphy’s Law says that when the very mild temps plummet to the coldest day of winter so far, the heater will go.

Goodbye, hot bath!  Hello sweatshirt, wool socks, and two fluffy throw-blankets!

When Nate and I realized – around dinnertime – that the house didn’t have heat, the mood of the evening instantly changed.

I bundled Brady up for bed and turned on a spaceheater in his room, while we could feel the temps in the house drop.  (Our house isn’t all that old, but the windows and doors are definitely cheapo and poorly installed.  Even when the heat is going, we can usually feel a draft coming through them, so it didn’t take long for the house to get pretty cold).

Honestly, the cold isn’t what stressed us out the most though.

The tech warned us on the phone that – per hour – he was going to charge us an arm, a leg, and our retirement.  (I’m exaggerating, obviously!  😉  But seriously, I’m in the wrong business.  These techs make big bucks).  It was obvious that the tech didn’t feel like venturing out into the frigid cold, because he suggested that we wait until morning.  But Nate asked him if he could guarantee that our pipes wouldn’t freeze, should we wait that long.

He replied with, “I’ll be there in half an hour.”

I’m going to see the humor in this, I thought to myself.  This is going to make a great lesson to share with my blog readers.  I’m learning something right now, I bet.  I can feel it.

Oh, scratch that!  I feel absolutely freaked out that we’re going to have to dish out a ton of money that we don’t have.

And cold.  I feel cold…which is really upsetting, because we have icecream in the freezer that I was looking forward to eating.  

But, hey, look on the bright side!  I’m shivering and not eating icecream, soooo it’s kind of like I’m working out, right?!?  

But want to know what’s even more amazing than realizing that you just avoided eating a large bowl of icecream that you really didn’t need to eat?

Sometimes, when you’re going through something that’s knocking you for a loop, it’s just nice to be reminded that you’re not facing this crazy life alone.  Sure, there are amazing days when you’re feeling like, “I’ve got this!”  When you wake up with a smile on your face, because you can’t help but grin from ear to ear.

When life is good!

But then there are other days….  Because let’s face it, sometimes life isn’t fair.  And too often, it’s so much worse than a heater gone bad.  But even when it isn’t, the hurt, frustration, and fear can leave us reeling.

It’s just nice to know that someone out there has your back.

And tonight, Nate and I had a couple of friends who reminded us that, “Hey, we have your back.”  (My friend Liz, aside from praying with me, sent me that hilariously ugly picture of the cat, which literally made me burst out laughing, as she knew it would.  It was much needed, let me tell you.  And our friend Jason, her husband, offered to run over a space heater).

And somehow, even in the middle of not knowing how much money we were going to dish out or when we’d get the heat back on, the support, laughter, and prayers made us feel better.

Sometimes, it’s the little things.  It’s just knowing that someone out there cares.

I don’t know how much money this fix is going to cost us…   I’m not going to finish with a recap of why it’s a good thing that our heater broke, because I stand by my claim that sometimes life isn’t fair.  😉  And I don’t think we always necessarily have to see the good in a situation, especially not right away.

But tonight I was reminded of how important attitude can be.  How necessary it is to just trust God sometimes.  And how unbelievably important it is to be there for each other!

 

 

13 thoughts on “Heat Wanted

  1. It’s been quite cold where I live, too, well cold for here lol. Hope the tech didn’t charge you a 401k and that you got some heat!

    • I totally decided – in the end – to have some icecream and told Nate that he had to snuggle with me, since that was the only way I’d be able to eat the frozen dessert… in our freezing house. Thankfully, he was more than happy to oblige! 🙂

  2. So sorry to hear about your heater! One of my favorite quotes I always think about during times like these…
    May you never miss a rainbow or a sunset because you are looking down. “I will lift up my eyes unto the hills– where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, maker of heaven and earth.” Psalm 121:1-2

    • I LOVE that quote! 🙂 I haven’t heard it in a long time, so thank you for sending that my way. Honestly, it is SO applicable to life right now.
      And I definitely love that Bible verse!
      Thank you for the encouraging comment!!

  3. Ugh this sounds awful 😦 I hate when unexpected stuff like that comes up. I hope the bill won’t be horrible, and that everything is up and running for you now!

    • Our heat IS back on! 🙂 And the repairman had mercy on us and only charged us for an hour. He worked for an hour and ten minutes, so – because it was overtime – he could have charged us for two full hours of work. That saved us almost $200 right there!

Leave a Reply

