2015 in Review!

Hmmmm, so how is it possible that I am writing a recap post for 2015 already?!?  This year went by impossibly fast, and most of it (at least the beginning months) is a blur since I was new to being a mom and in newborn survival mode.

But still, it was overall a pretty amazing year!  🙂

I think the biggest thing that happened this year was just learning and growing as a woman.  I switched identities and became ‘mom’.  That’s absolutely huge and comes with so many ups and downs (too many to recap in this one blog post).  But I’m happy to say that I survived…  😉  And the mommy life is becoming more familiar and – in many ways – easier.

In 2015, I breastfed for many months (despite the difficulties that had tried to stop me, such as Brady’s lip and tongue ties or his stomach issues).  I had to give up fish, eggs, dairy, soy, and nuts up until August; and that was really hard to do.  But I did it, and I look back on my breastfeeding journey with a huge sense of accomplishment!

(At the same time, I am SO glad that I’m done)!!  😉

In 2015 I took my first cake decorating class, which brought my love of cupcakes to a whole new level…

…and attended a paint class.

It was tough in the beginning to get out without baby, but I eventually was able to make time for a few mommy night outs.  (I still need to do better at making time for me, but – hey – baby steps)!  🙂

I hosted my first-ever piano recital and played a duet with the woman (and dear friend) who had taught me piano years ago.

And Brady had a blast at my mom’s house during the days that I taught piano.  Memere’s Daycare is the best!

Hmmmm, what else…

Our church had a baby dedication for Brady, which was a very special, meaningful event for me and Nate.

I had a few cupcake ‘orders’ for the first time and actually made a little bit of money.  I used the extra cash to buy more cupcake supplies.  😉  I don’t have time to turn this into an actual business right now…  But maybe someday!!

I also tried my hand at decorating cakes.  I definitely need more practice, but I had fun!!

I never really did figure out a workout routine (so I need to do better with that in 2016), but I did a ton of walking and a bit of hiking.

So at least I stayed relatively active!

And I ran four 5k’s, which counts for something…

… in addition to swimming lots.

loved experiencing firsts with Brady, such as his first selfie…

…(and second, third, and fourth selfies too)…

…his first Valentine’s Day…

…his first time eating solids…

…his first time in nursery at church…

…his first Easter…

…his first time on the swings…

…his first time playing with balloons…

…his first July 4th…

…his first time riding a motorcycle…

…his first picnic…

…his first time swimming…

…his first time driving a car…

…his first time taking a ‘big boy’ bath…

…his first time apple picking…

…his first time being big enough to really experience Thanksgiving and Christmas…

…and his first birthday.

As a family of three, we took our first ever vacation.  It was a mini-getaway to Cape Cod…

…and then in the fall, we took a mini-getaway to the White Mountains.

Nate and I did our best to have a few special dates, which included a magical trip to Boston this December to see Elf.  What a special memory!

And I got to go on a couple of much-needed shopping trips with my mom and sister.  🙂

I honestly can’t believe how much my little guy grew this past year!!

And I can’t wait to see what 2016 brings!

What’s your favorite memory from 2015?  Was it a good year, or are you excited to start fresh?

20 thoughts on “2015 in Review!

    • We probably live about two hours from each other then… (Which kind of makes us neighbors, since that’s not far at all, considering our blogs are on the internet and can reach anyone in the world! Ha, ha). 🙂 I can’t wait to check out your blog!!

  1. Sounds like you had a great year!! And let me just say– those cakes and cupcakes are downright AWESOME!! When you have the time you sooo need to start a business! Where did you take the cake decorating class?

    • Yes, it was a wonderful year! 🙂 And thank you!! 🙂
      Honestly, I learned a LOT of decorating techniques online. Then I took a Wilton course at a nearby craft store. There are three more levels to the decorating course, but I’m tempted to take level 1 once more. 😉 I’m a perfectionist, and there are a few techniques that I still struggle with. I definitely hope to take another class this year, for sure!

  2. What a beautiful year you had! I think growing as a person is much more of an accomplishment than growing other things in life. That is a lifelong accomplishment! Your cakes look fantastic!

    • Very true! I think it’s so important to continue growing and to see that growth as a personal victory. 🙂
      And thank you!! (I actually make vegan chocolate cakes that are quite good! 🙂 A friend of mine couldn’t find a local bakery that did vegan cakes, so I ‘almost’ perfected a vegan chocolate cake and frosting recipe). 🙂

  3. Such a handsome guy and a beautiful family! 2015 was busy for you all. Your little guy is so cute and you accomplished so much with your piano teacher business and your cake/cupcake decorating skills are on point! Hope 2016 is amazing. 🙂

    • Thank you SO much, Amy!
      2016 is going to be an amazing year for you as well! It’s incredible how much newborns change in the course of 12 months… 🙂

  4. What. A. Year.!!! All of the firsts pictures of Brady are just melting my heart! His smile is the cutest thing I’ve ever seen. It really looks like 2015 was a year of growth, learning, and joy for your family. What a blessing!

    Your cupcake and cake decorating skills continue to amaze me. Seriously, you are SO talented! What is Nate opened a coffee shop and you sold cupcakes and cakes there?! Just an idea ;). You never know..!!

    Also, I LOVE the picture from Brady’s dedication. Gorgeous!

    • God was SO good to us in 2015! I love to look back and see how He provided blessing after blessing. It really was such a wonderful year!!
      Now THAT would be fun!! A cupcake and coffee shop! 🙂 And there really isn’t one around here… Seriously, who knows! 🙂

  5. Oh my gracious, I can’t believe how much he has grown this year! They grow SO FAST! So many firsts this year.

    Girl, your cupcake & cake decorating skills are awesome! You’re a rock star! I could definitely see that being a second side business to your piano lessons! You could keep mighty busy with as talented as you are. 🙂

    Happy 2016, friend! I hope this year is even better than the last!

    • I know, on one hand, I love to see how much Brady has grown. And on the other hand, I want to beg him to slow down! 🙂 He has changed soooo much. 🙂
      Thank you so much! I’m definitely in love with cupcakes, and I hope to continue to practice and get better. 🙂
      Happy 2016!! I hope this year is filled with blessings and happiness for you!

  6. Aw I loved this recap! It must’ve been fun to go through the Brady archives! My favorite thing about looking back is acknowledging all the things that happened throughout the year; it’s SO much more than you realize until you start to think about it. A lot changes in a year… 😉

    2015 wasn’t great for me and I’m ready to move forward. Bring on 2016!

    • It was sooooo much fun going through the Brady archives. 🙂 I don’t think I could ever tire of looking at his baby pictures. Gosh, I just love him to pieces!
      And you’re right, it is fun to look back and realize everything that a year held. I always forget things, and then I look back and think, “Oh, yeah, that’s right! I did this and this…”
      I’m sorry this wasn’t your best year. Here’s to hoping that 2016 is filled with endless possibilities of awesomeness! (I know how cheesy that sounds, but I mean it with all my heart! You deserve it)!!

      • 🙂 I still ‘owe’ you a reply email by the way! (Apparently, my ‘tomorrow’ means a week or two later). Ha, ha! I WANT to email you back and will do so! It was just a few crazy days (which I’ll fill you in on). Nothing turned out bad, but it was just crazy! 🙂 So expect an email from me soon!!

Leave a Reply

