A Date in Boston

The very first date that Nate and I went on together was a beautiful evening spent in Boston.  At that point, we were best friends, but just that.  Friends.  I cherished our conversations about theater, literature, football, and just life in general; and I loved how easily he could make me laugh.  And to be honest, I was very quickly starting to crush on him.  😉 But while everyone else in our mutual circle of friends seemed to know that we’d end up together, we weren’t quite sure of that yet.

Anyway, Nate had to drive a work friend to Logan Airport one week, and he asked me if I wanted to tag along for the ride.  He said that he’d love the company and also suggested that we do dinner afterward.  You know, since we’d be in Boston anyway.

I guess you could say that this was the first time I discovered Nate’s sneaky side.  😉  He took me to an Irish pub for dinner, which fit us perfectly.  It was lively, and fun, and full of rustic charm.

As we were finishing our meal, the waiter asked if we’d like dessert, and Nate said, “No thank you, we don’t want to miss the show.”

I looked up at him with eyes that said, “Wait, what?!”  But Nate only winked.

He had bought us tickets to see Big River at the breathtakingly beautiful Wang Theater.  I still remember the warmth of his hand on my back as he gently guided me through the large crowd of people.  The happiness in his eyes, when I couldn’t hold in my squeal of pure excitement.  Just how perfect it felt for that brief moment I was in his arms, because I  couldn’t help but hug him to show my thanks.

I don’t know that you can go back to being just friends after a magical moment like that…  😉  And, well, we didn’t.

This past weekend, Nate and I were able to relive some of that magic.  For Christmas this year, we decided to buy each other a ticket to see the Broadway version of Elf at the Wang Theater.  The play was soooo well done, and I was captivated from beginning to end.  (As much as I love local theater, there’s nothing quite as spectacular as watching a play performed at a venue like the Wang).

After the play had finished, we walked through the Boston Commons, which was shining with Christmas lights and décor.  My poor camera didn’t have a chance to capture the beauty, but I’ll always remember it. (And I did manage to snap the pic below with my phone…).  The evening was surprisingly warm for a December night, so it was comfortable to walk hand-in-hand along the paved walkways.  And when we were tired of walking, we enjoyed a delicious Italian dinner.

I realized that we haven’t had many moments like this lately, just him and me.  I talked nonstop, and he had that happy look on his face that said he too didn’t want the night to end.

It’s a bittersweet moment, when you’re missing your baby boy but – at the same time – you want your special evening to last forever.  🙂  So we made it last as long as possible.  We stopped for icecream (since that’s the balanced way to follow an Italian dinner) and rented a movie.

By the time we arrived home, my parents had put Brady to bed in his crib, so Nate and I were able to cuddle on the couch with our dessert while we watched a movie.

It was such a memorable, beautiful day (almost like that first date years ago).  🙂

I can’t wait for our next date!

4 thoughts on “A Date in Boston

  1. Aww you guys’ first date sounds absolutely magical! How precious! I just loved hearing that story! And I’m so glad you guys had a night out together recently! I’m sure it can’t be easy being away from Brady, but it’s good to know that he’s in good hands while you guys go out and spend some “just you” time together! 🙂

  2. The goatee is back!

    Does this count for anything on your “date nite” list?

    You left out a few important details: what did you have for dinner and what kind of ice cream did you get?!?!?!?

    I love your first date story, your new date nite story, and everything in between. ❤ ❤ ❤

    PS – It's snowing on your blog! YAYYYYYYYYYYY!

  3. How sweet is Nate! The story of your sneaky first date is just so sweet. You two are just awesome together, you know that?! And now you have Brady! It’s all so sweet.

    I’m so happy you two could have a great date night together and just catch up alone over a nice dinner (after an amazing performance) and have ice cream while snuggling. Ahhh, marriage. It’s the best!

Leave a Reply

