Redisovering Me

With a new year right around the corner, I’ve been thinking a lot lately about New Year’s resolutions.  Well, New Year goals, actually.  I don’t like to think of them as resolutions, because those tend to be pushed aside – and ultimately forgotten – rather quickly.  Instead, I like to evaluate and come up with attainable goals.

Honestly, for 2016, my biggest goal is to rediscover myself.  This past year, I definitely lost myself in the mommy life, which – I’ve been assured – is very common for new moms.  And although there’s nothing more precious to lose yourself in, it’s also extremely important for a woman to hold onto herself as an individual as well.

I will never have the free time that I once had, and that’s really-truly okay. Brady is worth every sleepless night and don’t-stop-for-a-second day.  🙂  But at the same time, especially now that Nate is able to babysit for me when needed, I most definitely need to invest in my own personal life too.

Gosh, I’m experiencing mommy guilt just writing that!  But it’s true!  It’s true, I tell you!  We moms forget that we matter too. 

I’ll have to be smart about it; and the things I love to do will be a bit scattered throughout the month, because quality time with Brady is most important to me!!   But I really need to make time for my own hobbies and interests.   I need to feel refreshed, and fulfilled, and excited; so that I can – in turn – be the best mommy (and wife) that I possibly can be.

When I get lost in the preparing meals, folding laundry, and chasing after a little boy who gets into everything?  I’m happy… but I’m also kind of just existing sometimes.  I settle into a robotic routine that finds me going through the motions.  And when I make time for the hobbies that fulfill me, I realize that I have more energy to be the bubbly, energetic mom that I really want to be (even without loads of caffeine to keep me going).  😉

Sooooo, I’ve been thinking a lot about this upcoming year.

I’m thinking about taking a digital photography class…  Maybe another cake decorating class too.  I’d love to exercise three days a week since I’m not really doing anything physical right now.  I want to put more effort into being an awesome wife and making quality time for me and Nate, because our relationship should still come first.  And I think I’d like to maybe actually take more than five minutes to do my hair, makeup, and outfit a few times a month just so I can feel confident and put together.  (I miss that; and although I wouldn’t want to do it every day, it would be nice to maybe do it on special occasions).

I think I’m going to do it!  All of it.  And more than that too.   🙂  Not all at once and maybe not all the time.  But bits here and there!  And I know that this journey to find balance and to rediscover myself is going to be worth it… and amazing.

 

 

 

9 thoughts on “Redisovering Me

  1. I’m excited to hear about your adventures! I’ve actually been wishing I had some graphic design training. Trying to figure out how to dip my feet without spending a lot of money.

    • Ooh, how fun!! I’m in the same boat… I definitely can’t dish out too much money either. Is there a local college nearby that maybe offers some beginner art classes, etc?
      Hopefully some doors will open for both of us!

  2. Such a great reflection! I have been thinking about the “putting myself together” more often thing… I feel like my standards on how I leave the house have gotten pretty low! Time to do my hair a bit more often 🙂 Great reminders! Part of being a great role model for our kids is sharing our passion and love for our own hobbies. There is absolutely no shame.

    • Same!! I don’t want to become obsessed with spending time on makeup, hair, and outfits; because my little guy is soooo much more important to me. But at the same time, I’m realizing that I NEVER make time for those things anymore. (Thank goodness my hubby isn’t one of those snobbish men who require a perfectly made up woman all the time. Ha, ha). When I spend time on my appearance, I definitely feel more confident… and maybe more like myself. And I love how you mentioned that we’re being a role model for our own kids, when we share our passion and love for our own hobbies. Such a great point!!

    • Yes, I really, REALLY do need to learn how to use my good camera! 🙂 I’ve been using it for the advent photo challenge I’m doing. (I know you’ve seen the pics after I posted them to Instagram). Sometimes, it takes me almost 20 attempts to finally capture a shot that makes me happy. 😉 But I’m learning! I set my camera to Manual, and the challenge is encouraging me to play with it every day. I still have soooo much to learn… I’m currently reading a photography book, but the thought of taking a class definitely makes me excited!! I’m definitely going to do it! 🙂

  3. Sounds like some really wonderful goals for 2016! Brady needs to grow up with a mom who is present and loves him (which you obviously are and do!), but also with a mom who shows self care by the way she lives. It sounds like 2016 is going to be an awesome year for your little family! 🙂

  4. haha. Nicole! In typical Type A fashion… “I’m going to do it all!” haha

    You go, girl! You got this. You’re already an amazing woman. Remember that! 🙂

  5. Love, love, love this. I am so glad you realize the importance of taking time to do things just for yourself, because like you said, in the end you’re a better mom/wife/human for doing things that you love. You will not regret doing all of those fun things in 2016. Not for a minute. And I cannot wait to see/ read about all of your adventures!

Leave a Reply

