Loving the Mommy Life

I promised myself that I would enjoy every single stage of motherhood, and I honestly feel as though – so far – I have.  I look back to those early, newborn months; and I remember just how exhausting and overwhelming those days were.  But at the same time, I remember how precious it was to snuggle by the light of the Christmas tree when Brady was only weeks old.  And how good he felt in my arms, even if it was 2am.  And just how precious my squishy baby was every single day, despite how unbelievably tired I was.

Those were good days.  They really were.

But one of my favorite sayings is, “Don’t cry, because it’s over.  Smile because it happened.”  🙂  And quite frankly, as beautiful as those days were, I am absolutely loving – LOVING – the current stage that Brady is in.

He’s been ultra snuggly lately, and – unlike the younger version of himself – he’ll sit on my lap most nights before bed and quietly play with one of his toys.  He’s learning to play by himself (thanks to all the wonderful new toys he received for his birthday), which means I can occasionally fold laundry, read a magazine, or even work on a project in the afternoon.  As long as I’m nearby – and I give him plenty of cuddle breaks – he’s content to sit and play for a little while.

And now that he’s on a routine and easier to take care of, Nate feels confident enough to babysit, which means this mama is starting to find time for herself again.

Having some time for myself is as strange as it is wonderful, as odd as that may sound. I guess I just never thought I’d see the day…  At least not this soon!  But, goodness, I’m most definitely not complaining!

It’s awesome-sauce!

I think I would have stressed less about ‘me time’ this year had I known that we would – by this point – settle into such a comfortable routine.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m still insanely busy and exhausted most days.  😉  But the days are good!  And when needed, it’s easier for me to get away for a few hours.

Over the weekend, I was able to go Black Friday shopping with my mom, and we seriously shopped until we dropped.  (But since we left around 5:30am, we arrived back home early enough for me to spend the rest of the day with Brady).  Win, win!

Tonight, I decided to take advantage of Nate being able to watch Brady after dinner, and I ran 2 miles before it was time to put the little guy to bed.  I haven’t been working out much at all since my last 5k, so I hope this is a turning point for me.  I definitely need the exercise, both for the emotional release and also for the health benefits.  Up until now, working out out hasn’t been a top priority for me, but I really need it to be!!

(For the record, it was a rough run, and I’ll probably be sore tomorrow.  But – wow – did it feel good to run again)!  🙂

And last but not least, I’m trying to make time for some of my hobbies, mainly photography.  My point and shoot cameras are all dead or dying, so I need to start saving for a replacement.  (Any point and shoot camera suggestions???  The last two I bought over the past six years were really disappointing, and I’d like to buy a good one this time).  But in the meantime, I’m trying to learn how to properly use my DSLR camera, and I’m having such a fun time doing it.  (Right now, most of the pictures are coming out rough, but I’m learning)!   😉

Being a mom is a 24/7 job, and it can be tough finding that balance.  But the good thing is that there are stages which bring a bit of a relief.  And right now?  I am loving this stage… and loving how comfortable we feel together as a little family.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Loving the Mommy Life

  1. Longest I’ve been away from my little one is 3 hrs. One time. Lol. It’s going to be weird when she’s old enough for school! (She just turned 1, ha!)

  2. GOOD for you for running 2 miles!! That is so awesome!! I feel like I have finally fallen into a workout groove that works for me. I used to try running 4-5 days a week and fit in strength training “when I could.” And then I was always injured…go figure.

    Now I just run 3x/week and it feels SO GOOD (plus a day or two of strength.) I just read an article on how running 3x/week means less risk for injuries and gives the muscles time to repair before the next tough workout. So far so good!

    Anyways. I’m rambling. Just wanted to say that I LOVE the pics you’re producing with your DSLR…you definitely have a photography voice and it’s shining through. Keep it up!!! 🙂

  3. Love, love, love this. Isn’t it amazing what time and perspective can do for a person?! I always hear about how tough the newborn days can be, and when moms make it to the one-year mark, they are able to reflect and think about how everything has changed and how it’s different and better (though not to discount the cuddly newborn days!) in a lot of ways.

    I am so glad you’re finding more time for yourself and just loving every stage of motherhood!

Leave a Reply

