Almost One

How is it possible that in just over three weeks, I will be the proud mama to a beautiful one-year-old boy?  Where did this past year go?  I feel as though I was just pregnant, anxiously awaiting my baby’s arrival and wondering what life with a baby would really be like.  I remember Brady’s birth as though it were yesterday, and yet here we are: nearly one year later.

I’m feeling rather emotional about his birthday, to be honest.  There are so many tough moments that come with being a mom the first year; but the closeness, and the snuggles, and the ability to cradle your precious baby in your arms?  It’s a precious experience that I could never put into words.  And even though there are countless, beautiful moments ahead, Brady’s turning one is like accepting the fact that my baby boy is growing up.

And although his growing up excites me, it’s also bittersweet to think back and to realize that he’s no longer my squishy baby boy.  He’s so quickly becoming my big boy, and I wish I could slow time down just a little!

I definitely want to embrace the excitement of his turning one years old though, so I’m trying to focus on how much fun it is to plan his first birthday parties.  🙂  The lucky little boy gets two parties, as Nate and I thought it would be best to have a party with Nate’s side of the family one weekend and then a party for my side of the family the following weekend.  (Since it’s November, we need to have the party inside, and we knew that having 40+ people in the house would be overwhelming for Brady; so we decided to keep it family… and to divide the large group in half).

This, my friends, means November is going to be one very fun-filled, busy month.  😉  Between a cake-smash photo shoot, two birthday parties for Brady, Thanksgiving, and Nate’s birthday, I’m going to be one very busy girl!

Good times!!

I decided on a jungle theme for Brady’s parties, as that was the theme for his nursery.  Normally I’m not a fan of cookie-cutter party supplies, but this girl is running out of time to plan and decorate (as the first party is November 15th)!  Soooo, I (along with my mom and Brady) decided to make a stop at Party City, and I found a bunch of cute banners and wall decorations that fit into my budget.  Between what I bought and what I already own, I think I can add the right amount of décor to make our home festive for the special day… without going too overboard.

During our shopping trip, we may or may not have left a Cheerio trail that I had to back-track and pick up a bit…  😉

Hmmm, I think someone is getting excited!!  (And it’s not just me).  🙂

8 thoughts on “Almost One

  1. LOL at the Cheerio trail. Love it! And that last picture of Brandy… his smile. Oh my gosh! He is seriously so, so cute. I cannot wait to see pictures from the parties. I know you’ll make them special for Brady! You’re so good at those types of things! You’re going to have a blast this month and then it will almost be Christmas… such happy times 🙂

    I can’t believe Brady is going to be a year old this month! It blows my mind. He has grown into such a sweetie and you and Nate have grown into your roles as parents so well. it has been amazing to read your posts that have made me laugh and learn and smile. Keep it up, girl! I love it 🙂

    • I really am looking forward to the holidays this year and experiencing the magic of everything through his eyes. 🙂 It’s going to be so much fun and so special!
      But, yes, it has gone by SO fast, and I just can’t believe that he’s going to be one. Weren’t we just taking him home from the hospital for the first time?!? 🙂
      Thank you for all of your encouraging comments, Allie! They always mean a lot and never fail to brighten my day!!

  2. I can’t believe he’s nearly a year old already!! This past year has flown by!

    And girl, I totally understand you wanting to keep the party to family only and even splitting it into two parties with so many people all indoors! That definitely makes sense. But my oh my what a busy November this will be for your family! I look forward to seeing all the pictures! 🙂

    • Yes, November is going to be absolutely insane… in a good way! 🙂 At first, I let myself get all caught up in Pinterest, and I started to stress about making everything perfect. And then I decided to focus instead on making it perfect for Brady! 🙂 That really simplified things for me and has allowed me to just focus on making sure he has fun. 🙂 Obviously I’m going to decorate a bit and make sure the guests are comfy, but I don’t feel as though I need to go Pinterest-style crazy anymore. Ha, ha!
      Although, we had a cake smash for him today, and my sister and I did kind of go all out for that photo shoot. 😉 I think we got some cute photo’s!!

    • Thank you!! 🙂
      Enjoy every moment, as it goes by so fast! But the amazing thing is that once one stage is over, you have a new – even more fun – stage to experience! I’m a little sad that his newborn stage is behind us, but – at the same time – now he’s much more interactive. So I think that just enjoying every moment is where it’s at. 🙂 There’s something awesome and beautiful about every single stage!! (Or so I imagine… I suppose I’m still quite new at this myself. Hee, hee). 🙂

Leave a Reply

