A Shoppin’ We Will Go

If you’ve read my blog over the past few years, you’ve definitely seen your share of posts about shopping trips with my mom and sister.  Our all-day, shop-until-you-drop mall excursions were the highlights of every season for me.  It wasn’t just about the retail therapy and our endless stops for coffee or food, although – as you all know – I love me a good bargain-shopping trip.  🙂  Mostly, it was about the time spent with two of my favorite ladies in all the world.

Since becoming a mom, I’ve really missed that special time with them.  There just hasn’t been an opportunity for me to join them on their trips, and so I’ve had to sit out.  I knew that – as with everything else in life – it was a phase.  And although there were tough days in which I really struggled with not being able to go with them, I did my absolute best to remember that I would be able to someday…and to focus on enjoying the moments with Brady while he was so little.

SO when I had the opportunity to go on a shopping trip with them over the weekend (for the first time in over a year), I was seriously giddy with excitement.  Brady is at the age where I can leave him with his daddy easier (without Nate being anxious), but the hubby had an appointment that morning.  So I brought the little guy with me, and he really did great!

I’d say that the secret to shopping with an almost-toddler (hmmm, what age is a baby considered a toddler anyway?) is to make sure the scenery changes enough, that he has breaks from being in his carriage or shopping cart, and that you bring plenty of snacks.

Cheerios for the win!  🙂

Our first stop was TJMaxx, where Christmas décor is out in full display.  I am giddy that the holidays are coming and that I can actually enjoy them to their fullest this year (while last year, I was recovering from a C-section and taking care of a newborn with tummy troubles).  So I look at Christmas decorations every single chance I get, even if it is early in the season.  🙂

I also ended up finding a few bargain tops, which was awesome!!  (I obviously had to buy one with stripes)!  🙂

Next up was Target, since it’s pretty much our favorite store ever.  I always have to hit the dollar section, because there are so many fun finds.  (Brady was pretty upset that I didn’t buy him these glasses, because he thought they were the coolest things ever).

But he was happily distracted by the book section…

…and by his Auntie modeling fun colored Christmas trees.

Since it’s virtually impossible for me to leave Target empty handed, I decided to buy some nail polish for the fall.  I’ve been wanting to buy some for Thanksgiving, and I love this shimmery brown color by Sally Hansen!

Our last stop of the day was probably my favorite, as I’m obsessed with Michael’s these days.  I’m there constantly for piano teaching craft supplies, but I absolutely love to window shop too.  Michael’s has become a mix between Home Goods and Pier One, selling home décor for really great prices.  I usually try to come up with ideas at higher end stores… and then I wander over to Home Goods or Michaels to see what I can find / put together for less than half the price.

If you read the blog post about how I plan to redo my bedroom, then you know that I’ve been looking for a ‘love’ marquee, SO I was pretty excited to find one at Michael’s for 50% off!  When I saw it, I may have started to swing my hands around like a couple of windmills gone crazy and sputtered about how this would make an amazing Christmas gift.  My mom replied by throwing it into her shopping cart… and then telling me to forget I had seen it.  Ha!

It’s going to be such a cozy addition to the bedroom!!  (Sorry Mom, I’ll forget about it now).  🙂

It was around this time that Brady decided it was time to drop from the shopping…  🙂  My mom and I took turns holding him until our arms nearly fell off… and then it was time to drive home.

It was SUCH a fun day!  And honestly, even though I had brought Brady with me, it felt as though I had just enjoyed a mommy afternoon out.  It was so refreshing, and fun, and needed  🙂  I felt like a brand new woman AND human again!!

So to all you mommies out there who are maybe struggling with having to give up some of your favorite pastimes, hang in there!  It is for a season.  Don’t rush the moment and – instead – try to enjoy the phase your baby is in.  Soon enough, you’ll be back to enjoying some of your favorite hobbies or activities, but you can never go back in time to cherish those past moments with your little one.  🙂

8 thoughts on “A Shoppin’ We Will Go

  1. I’m glad you got to enjoy a trip out finally! I’ve moved away from stripes this season (shocking!) and I’ve gone for a few tops with sparkles on them for a change.

    • You know, I totally understand that… which is shocking in itself. Ha, ha!! But sparkles have been calling my name as well. They’re really popular this year, and they’re just so pretty! (They’re especially perfect now with the holidays coming up). 🙂

    • Thank you!! It really was sooooo much FUN! 🙂 (It’s always a little scary to bring Brady on trips like that, so it’s such a relief when he’s in a happy mood and is content to look around and eat Cheerios). Ha, ha.

  2. I am SO happy for you that you got to go!! I can only imagine how difficult it was this past year to not be able to join them. But hooray for this trip! And a huge hooray for that Love sign! I LOVE it! I need to see if our Michael’s has it because I will totally copycat you. 😉 I’m getting excited to see your bedroom all finished up! 🙂

  3. You may want to check out my art and home decor products for your new room! Shopping with family can be such fun…it just depends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

