Girls Just Want to Have Fun!

I’ve probably already written a blog post with this title, and – if that is the case – I apologize for getting that song stuck in your head once more.  Fun fact:  I hate coming up with titles.  Always have, actually.  In college, my journalism teacher used to leave frustrated notes next to my article headlines as though she thought that maybe – just maybe – I wasn’t taking this part of the assignment seriously enough.  And honestly, when I worked as a freelance journalist for a local newspaper, I’d often leave the headline and captions blank, knowing full well that the editor would fill in the blank with something so much more clever than I could come up with.

The interesting thing is that my titles were perfectly fine for my creative writing classes.  So was my wordy, sometimes cheesy, often conversational style of writing.  The ironic thing is that I didn’t discover my creative writing voice until years later as a blogger.  Back in college, I was still fighting to condense my words into the concise, to-the-point, no-opinion-needed requirements of a newspaper article.

When a literature teacher encouraged me to pursue a more creative style – such as novel or magazine article writing – I freaked out and insisted that journalism was what I was meant to do.  In reality, journalism seemed a whole lot less risky, as it was a guaranteed job for when I returned home.  And yet, upon becoming a graduate and being hired by a newspaper, I quickly discovered that I actually disliked it; and here I am, blogging as an outlet for my creative-writing voice (while working from home as a piano teacher).

Funny how life works out sometimes.  We plan, and we prepare, and sometimes we worry.  And then, oftentimes, the end result is something that never once crossed our minds.

I definitely never thought that I’d be working with kids, but yet here I am.  And I love it.  They get me (or, well, more accurately, they tend to appreciate my crazy, silly, bubbly side more than adults ever could).  😉  I never thought I’d be my own boss and working from home part-time while enjoying the mommy life the remaining 5 days.  Gosh, back in the day, I certainly never thought I’d be married to Nate…  I was crazy shy (hard to believe, I know), and Nate was the popular guy that my best friend had a crush on.

And yet here we are…

I don’t even think I knew that I could be this obsessed with a baby, and yet Brady changed that overnight.  I’m obsessed.

Like seriously, seriously obsessed.

I write all this as something of a sequel to Monday’s blog post.  Because last night, I couldn’t turn my brain off, and I just lay there and thought about all the bad things that could possibly happen to us financially.  There are so many scary things to face right now, and – honestly – it just never seems to add up to anything good.  And then God reminded me that nothing in my life has really ever gone according to plan.  Ever!  So how in the world can I worry about how things will turn out.  It’s not like I even have a clue as to what the future will look like.

Nate expressed his heaviness to me this morning and the weight that is on his shoulder when he worries about providing for us now… and also about my being okay, should he die (since we recently learned that his pension won’t be passed over to me).  And I hugged him and said, “Bud, don’t worry, I plan to become a YouTube sensation when I’m 70 anyway.”

We both laughed hysterically, and I have since said this to several other people who called me to express their concern.  I say it – not only for the comedic relief – but also because it’s a reminder that I don’t know what tomorrow, or the next day, or the next day will hold.  We tend to treat life as though it’s WebMD.  We only see the scariest possible outcome, when it could be that something far better than anything we could have imagined might come true.

Maybe I will get a book published someday.  Maybe we’ll have to sell the house due to finances, but then we’ll end up in a little house and neighborhood that makes us even happier.  Maybe I’ll become that 70 year old YouTube sensation!  🙂

Who knows!  I sure don’t!

I just know that life is full of surprises; and I really want to start looking at the future with anticipation, hope, and excitement.  Because sometimes the beautiful dreams we never imagined come true…and our happily ever after is just ahead waiting for us.

7 thoughts on “Girls Just Want to Have Fun!”

  1. I love your attitude!!! I find that I sometimes feel that what is currently going on will last forever (the good, the bad, the ugly.) But then I look back over the past year (or five!) and realize all that has happened during that time and how much life just keeps changing. It’s amazing all the wonderful things that life brings (like, for example, I can’t imagine life without Mr. Brady around in the family!!)

    You’re so right, in that life is full of surprises!!!

    1. Yes, life has its ups and downs! And it’s definitely too short to worry about what ‘might’ happen… There are always just so many beautiful moments too! 🙂

    1. Thank you, Janelle, and right back at you… You are so amazing too! We need to chat soon, as I’d love to hear about how life is treating you. Hope all is well!! 🙂

  2. Your blog posts always uplift me and make me think. I can’t thank you enough for that! I know exactly what you mean about writing for a newspaper feeling safer than writing a book (I am SO with you on that… I would rather write a book… but a newspaper job has steady pay… but I want to be happy…). Anyways. I love how much you trust God with everything–where you’ll be in the future, what your financial situation will look like, etc. It’s so, so encouraging!

    1. Being a writer is such a scary thing to pursue all around… But if an opportunity opens for you to chase after what you’re passionate about, then definitely go for it! 🙂 You have to be wise about it obviously, because bills need to be paid. And sometimes, starting with a position that’s not your ideal job is a means to an end, and you can eventually work your way to a place that you truly enjoy.
      But at the same time, it’s important to go after your dreams, because God gave you that talent! 🙂 So while it’s easy to chase after what’s safe, or to allow yourself to become comfortable with what’s safe, never lose sight of what you know God gave you a passion to do. (I still remind myself of this constantly. And one day, when I’m ready to chase after writing again, I definitely plan to take those risks and to pursue what I know God created me to do).
      And I’m glad that my blog post encouraged you!! I love how we as a blogging community can learn from each other and lift each other up. 🙂

  3. Oh friend, this blog post has me all teary eyed. It is so beautiful and so very true. I definitely don’t get paid to do what I studied in college, but I love it so much more! It’s amazing how sometimes life turns out even BETTER than you planned. I look forward to buying your book someday and being one of your million subscribers on Youtube when we’re 70. 😉

Leave a Reply

