Doing Things Differently

I had a moment of inspiration the other day…  It was one of those ‘duh’ moments that left me excited about an idea that should have been obvious from the very beginning.  But since it wasn’t, I’ll just be grateful that the lightbulb floating above my head suddenly burst into glow, revealing a life-changing revelation.

Or, well, I hope it’ll be life-changing.  I guess it’s too early to tell for sure, but I’m generally a glass half full kind of girl.  So I’m running with this!

Here’s the thing…  Having a baby changes absolutely everything.  (Except for the diapers.  You have do to those changes yourself).

And that’s obvious and something that parents realize going into it.  Life is going to change.

BUT, without realizing it, I’ve been fighting some of that change, and – as a result – I’ve been treading water and struggling to keep up.  (I mean, I know that some treading is normal when you’re a new mom.  Still, I’ve been swimming against the tide, which doesn’t make things any easier).

Here’s the thing, I’ve always been very Type A.  And I carried a routine with me into my new life as a mom and tried to make that work.  Before my precious baby Brady, I woke up around 6am, went for a run, made sure my makeup was done by 8am (unless I was working, in which case I’d be at work by then), and then I’d get started with my day.  I’d work hard at whatever I had to do, put dinner on the table by 6pm, get some stuff done around the house until around 7:30, and then I’d chill (blog, watch TV, or read) until bedtime.

I’ve tried to carry that same routine into the mommy life, and it just doesn’t work, silly me!  Brady doesn’t follow a schedule.  And some days, that means it’d be easier for me to do my makeup after lunch…  Or to go for a run / walk in the afternoon…  Or to tidy up the house after dinner.

It sounds basic, but – most days – I try to live by the ‘Nicole code’ I created.  I think my day should look a certain way, and I get a little overwhelmed and frustrated when I can’t make it that way.  Instead, I could face each day as a clean slate and let the chips fall where they may.

Granted, I have a few days that will need a whole lot of structure; since I teach piano and volunteer at my church.  But the other days?  I can start to let them fall into a whole new pattern that I haven’t had the chance to experience yet.  How exciting is that?!?

One change I’m making immediately is my nighttime schedule.  Brady goes to bed around 7pm, and I can get a ton of things done after that point (while I’ve still been seeing that point in the evening as the time to unwind). Soooo, three nights a week after he’s gone to bed, I’m going to focus on prepping Brady’s meals, tidying up a bit, and getting chores done.  (Folding laundry later in the day might be a pain; but if I get it done, I don’t have to worry about it… for at least one more day).  😉

Not sure how the rest of the days will look, but I plan to get things done when Brady is napping or playing well.  And when he wants to play with his mommy or when he needs a cuddle, then I’m going to focus on just that.

I think that because I’m Type A, coming to this kind of conclusion took a bit longer than it might for some.  😉  But it makes sense!  And I’m definitely excited to put it into action tomorrow!!  🙂

Do your days follow a very structured pattern or are you more spontaneous? 

6 thoughts on “Doing Things Differently”

  1. I love this and can relate 100%! Have you ever just woke up one day and thought today I’m going to be productive then all of a sudden, it’s 4 p.m. and you’ve accomplished literally nothing?? Well, that’s me! My baby is 8 months old, and I’m still trying to get her on some kind of schedule.. I am lucky if she is in bed by 11 because she is a night owl!

  2. Oh man, I know exactly what you mean with this! Jimmy and I have been talking about getting a puppy (just one this time LOL) and I keep thinking… this is going to mess up “my” schedule. This will be so hard and I will have no time to get anything done, blah, blah, blah. But I know that I want a puppy… and it’s good for me as a human to go. with. the. flow. and I also know I won’t live on puppy time forever (if that makes sense… like it will grow into a dog one day and be easier…). Anyways, isn’t it crazy how something simple can be such a huge realization?! I hope your experiment works out for you! Sometimes making a plan like that takes so much stress off your shoulders and just feels so good!

  3. Good for you!! Of course, maybe an afternoon power nap would give you a boost of energy in the evening as well 🙂 Just keep that in mind… Even what seems unproductive might make you productive later! (Like resting). But also, I know you’ll nod along and agree and then be like “HOW do I do that?!??!?” because I know I would. hahaha. We can try 🙂 Type A solidarity, sister!

    1. HA ha, ha! YES, I always tell myself, “Hmmm, today I will nap,” and then it doesn’t happen. 😉 It probably would help with the energy levels though!
      But we can try, for sure!! Maybe it will happen one day! LOL

Leave a Reply

