Gone Running

Sooooo, I haven’t had a mommy’s night out… or a mommy’s night in… or a ‘mommy just needs some space’ moment in a month.  Seriously, the struggle is real.  Something always comes up, or the babysitter is called away, or the baby starts to teeth really badly so the hubby looks at me with pleading eyes which say, “I know you need this time away, but please don’t leave me alone with this screaming child.”

For one reason or another, an excuse has always come up, and I just haven’t been very good at making ‘me time’.

And while I know, that I know, that I know how much I need it, I just haven’t been very good at making time for it.

That’s why I’m SO glad that I had signed up for a bunch of 5k’s earlier in the year.  Granted, the plan had been to use the races as motivation to get back into shape, when – really – I don’t run at all… except for the races themselves.  But it’s a start, right??  😉

This past weekend was the toughest 5k yet.  I ran it two years ago, and I had sworn that I’d never run it again.  The hills are too brutally steep, and long… and hilly.  But as I’m sure you’ve already guessed, I did it.  And quite frankly, I did better than I had thought I would.

Although I didn’t place and I certainly didn’t set any personal records, I felt awesome afterward.

So I’m counting this past 5k as a part of my commitment to myself to do something for me.  It wasn’t your typical mommy’s outing (especially since I brought the family with me).  😉  But I felt refreshed afterward, because I had done something for ME.  And I had overcome a difficult obstacle… for me.

I’d proven that I am still strong and that I can become even stronger.

It felt good!  Real good!!  🙂

14 thoughts on “Gone Running”

    1. YES, that’s so true! 🙂 I felt really refreshed for the rest of the day (even if I was physically sore). 😉 It just felt so good to have done something for my own health and well-being.

    1. Running has always been a love of mine, even if my current run is more of a fast jog… and it’s hardly pretty! 😉 The great thing about physical activity is that there’s something for everyone!
      It’s just sometimes more challenging to find the motivation and energy to do it. 😉 I definitely need to make working out more of a routine. But I sure have struggled with doing that these days. Ha, ha.

      1. Same! I’m trying to decide if it’s just a phase we’re in and that there will be time for working out in the future… Or if I just need to be more creative with my exercise? I guess everything else has been thrown upside down now that I’m a mom, so it only makes sense that my usual workout routine won’t work anymore. 😉 I just haven’t figured out what will work!

  1. I don’t think I could love this post ANY MORE!! Running is such a great “me time” activity and in the long run it helps EVERYONE around you because it helps you to feel strong and confident!! Plus it’s a great stress reliever!! Way to go on carving on the time, it’s definitely an essential!

    1. That means a lot coming from you, because I always find such motivation and encouragement to be healthier (in my physical activity AND my eating) whenever I read your blog! 🙂
      Thank you so much!!

    1. I always remember a blog post you wrote (probably years ago by this point) about how your exercise is fun. I remember you played in the park and stuff like that. And it has always stuck with me, because I often forget that exercise just means movement. It can be fun!! It can be dancing, or skipping, or playing tag. It doesn’t have to be the afternoon at the gym that we all seem to think we have to put in.
      I do love running these 5k’s, and I’m so glad I signed up for them! But I definitely need to do better at moving more frequently and just having fun with it!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

