My First Mommy’s Night Out

I did it!

I committed to having a mommy’s night out last week; and despite the fact that my mommy guilt dial was turned all the way up to red, I left my tater tot in the very capable hands of his daddy… and I went out!

I realized, as I closed the door behind me, that not only have I restricted my ability for alone time due to Brady needing me (which is valid) but also because mommy guilt is a real thing (maybe not so valid). I know just how badly I need to make time for myself, but – as a mom – it’s SO easy to feel as though you need to be with your little one 24/7. Which usually is the case anyway… So it’s most definitely okay (and good!) to make time for yourself sometimes!

So while I struggled with leaving my little guy behind, I was – in the end – most definitely glad that I did!

My bestie Liz and I decided to pick up smoothies from a local cafe and to go for an early evening swim. We totally lived it up! Whipped cream swirled high atop chocolate, banana, and peanut butter smoothies!  😉 I was so excited and hungry that I pretty much attacked the whipped topping, lapping at it like a starving animal.

“We don’t get out much,” Liz said, eyeing me and giggling.

I looked up at her, my tongue hanging out mid-slurp, and then I lost it. Completely lost it! We laughed so hard that we both started crying. Man, that felt good! 🙂

The cool lake water felt good too. We walked out until the water reached our shoulders, and we just stood there, cooling off from the summer heat. We chatted about mommy stuff, girl stuff, and wife stuff. And it was just so incredibly refreshing!!

I came home feeling human again. And guess what? Brady was snuggled up in his crib, fast asleep. 🙂 Three cheers for my first official mommy’s night out! 🙂  It was sooooo needed!!!

5 thoughts on “My First Mommy’s Night Out”

  1. I’m so glad you got a chance to get out and enjoy yourself. New moms often forget to take ‘me time’.
    It’s important for you to take care of yourself because when you’re own mental health is optimal then you can take the best possible care of Brady.

Leave a Reply

