Piano Recital!

When I first started teaching piano to the children of a few friends, I had no idea that it was actually going to become a thing. At that point in time, it was more like a hobby. I was working full-time, so I’d just pop over their houses after work and give their kids a free lesson. I had thought, “Hey, why not?” I had over 13 years of private lessons under my belt, and I had continued playing both for weddings and for church. Teaching was just another way that I could challenge myself musically.

The thing that shocked me, however, was that my handful of students actually learned. Like they were doing really well… My hubby had believed in me from the beginning, and he just kind of shrugged and said, “What did you expect?”

I don’t know what I had expected. But I certainly wasn’t prepared for the rush I felt, when those kiddos began to play an instrument that I had been passionate about for years. I suddenly realized that it was so much more than just teaching a child to read notes. I was sharing a love of music with them. And that love of music doesn’t just happen overnight. It begins with lots of practice and dedication (which often isn’t fun) that eventually grows into a beautiful talent and passion.

It’s a process… and I was excited to be a part of it!

So although it was terrifying when I did it, quitting my full-time job last January in order to teach part-time just felt right. I knew that I wanted to be home as much as possible once I had a kiddo of my own. And I also knew that teaching piano was something that I truly believed in.

Flash forward to this month, and I’m up to 18 students (soon to be 23 students come this fall, which means I’m officially full right now). AND I had my first ever piano recital on Thursday. 🙂

As I was setting up and getting ready before the students arrived at the church, I paused a moment and thought to myself, “Oh my gosh, I am going to be hosting my first ever recital tonight!” And it blew me away!! I had played in that very church for my first recital at the age of 6 all the way to my last recital at the age of 18. Never had I imagined that one day I’d be the piano teacher!

The evening turned out SO very well! Granted, since it was my first, there are definitely things that I will do differently (a.k.a. better) next year, but – still – I’m happy with it!  I definitely received positive feedback from the parents, which was encouraging!!  And the students did so incredibly well! Wow, I am SO proud of them!!!

I also played a duet with my piano teacher who was there to cheer me on, and that was really special. 🙂

Now I have just this week of lessons, and then I’m on vacation until the end of July! I’m really looking forward to slowing down this upcoming month and to regrouping for another great year of lessons. But mostly, I’m looking forward to spending LOTS of quality time with the hubby and tater tot! 🙂

7 thoughts on “Piano Recital!

  1. Congratulations! The scary first recital is under your belt and now you’re a pro! 🙂

    I’d love to hear what your “schedule” is like these days. How do you fit in 23 students?? Have you changed any of your house rules to accommodate all the traffic? (I see you have hand sanitizer so do you ask that the students sanitize? Or remove shoes? Or wait in a certain area while the student before them finishes up?) I’m just curious. Share if you want but you don’t have to.

    Congrats again! You’re so talented 🙂

    • Yes, I am SO glad that the first recital is over and done with! It was fun… but – man – was it also scary. 😉
      As for fitting in so many students… I’m fortunate in that half of my students are homeschooled while the other half are public schooled. So Wednesdays are VERY full days in that I start teaching at noon… and end at 7pm (with one 30 minute break at 3pm). It’s a LONG day, but – the way I see it – I used to pull 8 hour days all the time. This is just for one day… and I know that Brady is being taken good care of. Squeezing that many students into one day also gives me most of the week to focus on being a stay at home mom. 😉 I also teach late afternoon on Thursdays until 6:30pm. I still need to organize my prep time a bit more so that it doesn’t overwhelm me during the week. But this is still all very new, so it’ll get there. 🙂
      I do have a ‘wait area’. I ask students and their parents to sit in the dining room while the other student finishes up. I have magazines for the moms to read and coloring stuff for the siblings. ‘Cause, you know, that’s what we Type A peeps do. Ha, ha!!
      And, yes,I do ask everyone to remove their shoes. (There’s a sign on my door that says, “Please remove shoes. Crawling baby in training and he likes to eat dirt.”). 🙂 He will be crawling soon, and I just don’t want all those germs carried onto the floor / rugs.

      • So interesting! It’s great that you can group everyone together.

        I know there are always challenges in life but this phase that you’re in seems to be treating you really well. I’m so happy for you!

  2. Congrats! I imagine that it must be so fulfilling to see the kids develop a passion for music and improve their skills. That’s awesome. You took this job and really made it into something that helps others, fits your family goals, and you get to do something you love every day. Well done!

  3. Oh my goodness, this made me tear up! Just thinking of you hosting your very first piano recital in the same church where you first played as a child. And then playing a duet with your teacher! Ah! Love! I took piano lessons for a couple of years (and performed in yearly recitals) and I loved it. My teacher held a special place in my heart. I only stopped playing when we moved overseas. I can still (very very slowly) sight read and play simple music. And I can still play the Ode to Joy by heart because it was my favorite. 🙂 Anyway, I just love that you are able to do something that you love so much. I’m sure you are making such a huge impact on those kids’ lives! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Because I’m happy… |

Leave a Reply

