1…2…3… GO!

I ran my first 5k of 2015 a couple of weeks ago, and it was kind of rough. But then again, the only thing I did to prepare was run… once. That’s right. Once. If that’s not a couch-to-5k training program, than I don’t know what is. πŸ˜‰ Now granted, it’s not a method I recommend using, but – hey – desperate times call for desperate measures.

And when you’re terrified of how badly you’re going to do, well, it’s easier to be surprised at how well you did. Sure, I came in #70 of about 120 people, sooooo not so great when written down on paper. At the same time, I crossed the finish line in just under 40 minutes. And I had expected to take so much longer than that (considering my severe lack of preparation), so – yeah – I was happy with the result.

But wait, I’m ahead of myself… Let me start from the beginning…

I laugh when I think back to the weight-gain goals I had set for myself, when I first became pregnant. I was aiming for 25-30 pounds, because that’s what the preggo websites and books said was a healthy average. (Ha! I’m pretty sure those books were written by a man). Because those websites and books don’t account for an overabundance of amniotic fluid… or never-ending meat cravings… or a baby twice the size of the baby you were expecting. Soooo, yeah, let’s just say that my expectations and reality were a little bit off.

Okay, fine, they were off by about 30 pounds.

On a positive note, I lost 20 pounds the day I gave birth to my baby boy, because – well – giving birth to a baby who’s over 10 pounds kind of helps with that. πŸ˜‰ And then breastfeeding just worked for me and helped me lose the remaining 40 pounds really fast. (Again, having a baby that’s over 10 pounds helps with that too, because – well – big babies are apparently always hungry. Or at least mine was… And when your body is making 4-5 cups of high-calorie, high-nutrient milk, the calories are going to burn, baby, burn).

As of today, my tater tot is six months old and weighs 22.7 pounds. Β The amount of calories I consume during the course of a day to keep up is unreal. Seriously. I have to eat so much that sometimes it’s a chore… (Wow, I never thought I’d say that. But it reminds me that I’m late for myΒ after-dinner snack).

Nicole LeBlanc Beauvais's photo.

Anyway, I do feel as though I had to put a bit of weight back on to keep my milk supply up (although I don’t know for sure. I’m really not into stepping on scales and all that stuff). My big thing now is that I want to focus on toning, especially since I had a C-section and so my stomach is going to be a problem area for me.

And in all honesty, I’m thrilled with how my body bounced back after baby. Sure, it changed a little. But when I look in the mirror and see that my stomach isn’t quite as flat, I’m somehow cool with that, because – well – I had a 10 pound baby. So while before, I may have had such pressure to look all toned and flat, I now feel as though I’m happy with the fact that I’m healthy and strong. And a few extra curves only make me look more sexy and womanly. (Or, well, at least that’s what Nate says, and I’m hardly going to disagree with him on such a flattering opinion).

Nicole LeBlanc Beauvais's photo.

I DO, however, need to start working out again. Not because I want to lose a pant size or because I’m planning to wear a bikini anytime soon. No, quite frankly, I just really need to exercise for me. I need to feel healthy and strong, and the lack of physical exercise has put a bit of a damper on that. Plus, running has always been a stress release for me, and I don’t need to tell you that being a new mama can be stressful at times.

The wonderful thing about summer is that naptime provides me with ample exercise opportunities. I snuggle Brady all comfy in the stroller and then set out for a walk around town (or even around the nearby campgrounds). He sleeps (usually); I build muscle. It’s a win / win situation for both of us!

Nicole LeBlanc Beauvais's photo.

The biggest struggle has been to find the energy, as lack of sleep really has caught up with me. So I signed up for a bunch of 5k’s, thinking they’d motivate me to work out. The only problem is that they’re all starting to arrive… and all I’ve done is light walking. I really need to ‘up’ the intensity if I’m going to beat any PR’s. ‘Cause my next 5k is this upcoming weekend, and I kind of haven’t run since my last 5k.

*sheepish grin*

Hopefully all the walking I’ve done will be enough to get me through, just like the last one. And over the next couple of days, I plan to come up with some fitness goals / challenges for myself that I can begin in June. Finding the motivation, energy, and time to work out is going to be a challenge in itself.

But you know what? I think I can do it! πŸ™‚

So 1…2…3… Let’s GO!

10 thoughts on “1…2…3… GO!

  1. You can do it!! I’m trying to walk every morning and do 100 squats/lunges every other day.

    Carrying Brady around is burning calories too I’m sure! Alsea is 5.5 months old and 14.5 lbs. Such a difference. Crazy. Which is probably why at my 6 week postpartum check up I had only lost 7 lbs (I was horrified). And she weighed 7 lbs 2 oz at birth.

    • WOW! That is so awesome! I want to start doing squats too, because I really need to! It’s all about slow and steady, trying to focus on the little things we can do to make ourselves healthy. Walking is GREAT exercise, especially for us new moms!

  2. 1) congrats on the run!! If it’s any consolation, I’m impressed! 2) I can totally relate to this post – start to finish. I gained way more weight than anticipated, happily lost weight due to excessive breastfeeding, but haven’t had more than a handful of actual workouts since my baby was born… 10 months ago! I need a little 1… 2… 3… Go! In my life… Thanks for the motivation!

    • Thank you!!
      I think it’s easy to be frustrated as a new mom, and we have to remember that we’re already balancing so much! So it’s okay for us to take a slow but steady approach to working out and just figuring things out in general. πŸ™‚

  3. I’ve counted at least three different pairs of sneakers now. That must be why we’re friends πŸ˜‰

    Do you, Nicole. Whatever works for you and makes you happy! (As long as it’s healthy, of course).

    If it makes you feel better, my own 5k is around the 40 minute mark and I haven’t had a baby. I’m just a slow runner and always have been, even when I wasn’t overweight. So you’re still beating lots of people!

    • Ha, ha! That must be why! I just love sneakers so much!! πŸ™‚ I have way more sneakers than I do dress shoes!
      And I forget that sometimes. I just have to be me and be sooo crazy happy with that! πŸ™‚ It’s not about comparing myself to someone who’s running faster or who is more fit. I need to focus on how I’m feeling and on how to make myself healthy! πŸ™‚ Thank you for the reminder!!

  4. You look fantastic! I think it’s great that you’re focusing on fitness because it makes you feel good – at the end of the day, that’s what sustains a workout program, right?

    I am not a runner – at all – as you know, but I have found it helpful to set a goal like, “I’ll jog for 30 seconds, then walk for two minutes,” before I go out for a jog/walk. Then gradually build up the jogging time and back down the walking time as it gets easier. I feel like I’m making progress when I do it that way! And since you were a runner BB (Before Brady :)), I bet the muscle memory stuff is on your side!

    • Thank you! And YES! I think that viewing exercise and a healthy eating routine as a lifestyle – as apposed to a diet or a workout routine – helps me take it day by day and to be more successful at it! It’s just about living the healthiest life I can! (Which leaves room for lazy days… and chocolate). πŸ™‚

  5. I’m with Amy. I think it’s great that you are focusing on fitness and taking care of yourself. πŸ™‚ I’m glad you’ve found a good start to a routine with your walking. You’ll be running regularly again soon before you know it! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

