One Step At a Time

Since becoming a mom, learning to not over-commit or sweat the small stuff hasn’t been easy for me.

I do feel as though I’m starting to get the hang of it though! I mean, when it comes to finding a healthy balance between family and giving of my time to others, I’m a work in progress, as I’ve mentioned before in previous blog posts. And that progress is slow. But if slow and steady wins the race, then you might as well hand me that medal now! 🙂

Just this past weekend, Nate and I invited my best friend Ashley and her husband Ryan to the house for a BBQ. As usual, I had a meal all planned out in my head, and – I have to say – that it was a rather pretty spread.

But one thing I didn’t consider was the fact that I have a five month old. 😉 And I very quickly realized , as usual, that the only way I was going to put together the spread of food that I envisioned was to not spend the time with him I really wanted to. That I really needed to.

So for the first time in my entertaining history, I bought packaged cookies… Yes, I spent a bit of time arranging fresh veggies into a pretty arrangement, but that was it. Nate took over the grilling. Ashley and her hubby brought the sweet potato fries and salad. And I bought a box of Enjoy Life cookies instead of spending an afternoon baking, as I normally would have.

When I grabbed the package off the store shelves, I was fairly certain that I was going to be struck by lightning. 😉 But I wasn’t. And as a result, I was able to enjoy a special afternoon with my teething baby (who really wanted his mom’s comforting arms).

Still, I’m a work in progress… I texted my friend to ‘warn’ her that I had packaged cookies for dessert, telling her that I wouldn’t worry about it so much if it was all up front that I hadn’t baked. Ha, ha! Because really, I was kind of worried about it.  Nate said that earned me a ‘B-‘, but that he’s proud of the progress I’ve made. 😉

As for the BBQ? We had a blast! And those Enjoy Life cookies were quite yummy, if I do say so myself! 🙂

5 thoughts on “One Step At a Time

  1. Mmm gingerbread spice! I’d be all over those with absolutely zero complaints.

    I always forget to remind myself that people come over to spend time with ME; they’re not there for 100% home-cooked food or spotless floors. Thankfully!

  2. Thankfully you’re still alive and the gods of home-baking didn’t smite you 😉
    If you miss baking like you used to, maybe you need to learn some new, simpler cookie recipes that will help you spend time with your baby and still bake up something delicious.

    • YES, that is an excellent idea! I definitely need quick-meal / dessert ideas, for sure. I actually think I’ve done a little better over the past week. Slow and steady wins the race, I guess. 🙂

  3. I loved this post. All about the balance and being kinder to yourself, and I can totally relate to that! I agree with Rach, Brady will be a little kitchen helper in no time, I’m sure!

Leave a Reply

