Facebook isn’t for Mommy Advice

Apparently, there’s no ‘guide to parenting’ book with answers to all the questions a new parent might ask…  Trust me on that one.  I’ve already browsed every bookshelf of every bookstore.  It doesn’t exist.  The funny thing is that right up until the moment I became a parent, I thought it did.  I guess I just figured that there was one right way to do things and one wrong way.  But you know how there’s no wrong way to eat a Reese’s?  There’s just about as many acceptable, parenting options for mommies and daddies to choose from, whether they’re deciding on diapers or even on how to put their child to sleep at night.
Grrreat…..

One thing I do know for sure, however, is that the worst possible thing that a new mom can do is ask a question via Facebook.  Not that I learned that the hard way or anything…  But again, just trust me on this one.  All the advise you’ll receive will be different, because no one can agree on anything, except for the fact that you’re doing it wrong.  Because you’re a new mom…  So obviously you’re clueless…  I mean, you’re on Facebook asking a question that pertains to the well-being of your child, for goodness sake!   Not exactly a move that will earn you a ‘Mommy of the Year’ award.

It took me a little while to figure out; but I now realize that just as every baby is different, every parent has a different way of doing things.  So, yes, there are multiple right answers.  What works for one family might not work for the next.  You just kind of have to figure it out as you go sometimes….  Listen to the advice of trusted moms that you’re close to, and then follow your heart (because, at the end of the day, no one knows your baby like you do).

I always thought that I’d be clueless, because I never was around babies all that often.  But there are days that I just know what to do and how to solve the problem, and I’m left feeling like a supermom.

For the moments during which I haven’t a clue?  Well, we survive somehow and live to face another day!

And as for Facebook, leave that for the impossibly adorable photo’s you take (and then upload) throughout the week.  🙂

8 thoughts on “Facebook isn’t for Mommy Advice”

  1. Adorable! And AMEN to the fact that there are different ways to raise a child! I’m not a mom yet, but I have so many friends with babies that live with so much guilt and fear of judgment that they miss out on so much of the joy of raising a little one…I’m sure this won’t seem as easy once I’m a mom:)

    1. YES! You already have taken a very important step by realizing that the fear of judgment does exist. Just know it’s out there and – one day when you’re a mom – you’ll know that, even if it’s tough, you don’t have to let yourself give into that pressure.
      I have struggled with it a LOT over the past couple of weeks… But I have since surrounded myself with supportive moms who remind me that I am doing my best, and that my best is enough. My baby is healthy. He’s happy. And at the end of the day, I have to go with what my heart is telling me. 🙂

  2. Ahh, his little suspenders! So cute.

    You are doing an awesome job!! You have the perfect attitude and approach. And YES! I can totally see the need to NOT ask questions on Facebook. Too much advice and too all over the place.

    1. Fun fact: I had always said that if I should have a little boy, I wanted him to wear suspenders. LOL! 🙂 So I was quite excited when my mom bought him this adorable outfit.
      And thank you for the encouragement, Amy!! I’m learning to surround myself with positive women who remind me that my best is enough. It’s easy to give into the pressure that we all need to do it the same way… But at the end of the day, that’s impossible because every baby is different. Like a lot of things, the final decision has to come down to what you truly feel is right. 🙂

  3. Yeesh, I was just thinking about this over the weekend. A friend of mine from college put up a status about how she was offered a really great job recently. She doesn’t have to work from a financial stand point and she has enjoyed being home full time, but the job is such a great one and offers daycare where she could still see her son during the day. Well wouldn’t you know, everyone has an opinion. Which turns into a “if you really loved your kid you’d stay home with him” AND “if you really loved your kid, you’d provide him with an example of two working parents” AND “the world doesn’t revolve around our kids, it’s good for them to know that” AND “THIS IS MY OPINION, DO IT”. I had to quit reading the comments because people were getting so heated.

    So yes, you are SO right about what works for one family isn’t necessarily going to be what works for another family. And what works for one baby might not work for another baby even in the same family. I’m just glad you share all those adorable baby pics of your sweet boy! He’s precious! 🙂

    Speaking of Facebook… I just saw the picture of you that someone posted from 1999… let me just say, you were much cuter during those years than I was! 😉

    1. Facebook is so dangerous sometimes! And it’s surprisingly easy to vent sometimes. (I seriously never struggled with that before becoming a mom, and now I have to hold myself back all the time. Ha, ha). I’m definitely learning to reach out to a close friend who I can trust and to share with them, as apposed to gushing it out for the Facebook world to see. That’s not the place for it at all… 🙂
      Oh, and thank you! I definitely don’t think 1999 was that good for me when it comes to fashion and an overall look. LOL!!! But we are our worst critic, aren’t we? 😉 I think you looked cute, when I see the pics of you in China!!!
      (Oh, and I keep meaning to email you…. Hopefully I’ll get to that in the next day or so, for sure)! 🙂

Leave a Reply

