Brady’s First Outing

This winter has felt loooong… Brady was born smack dab in the middle of cold and flu season (a brutal season this year in New England, at that), so Nate and I made the decision to keep him away from large crowds, especially since he was already facing so many painful tummy troubles. And with the weather being so blustery and cold, it’s not like I could walk him around our quiet, neighborhood streets in order to get some fresh air.  (Not unless I purchased a fur-lined dog-sled anyway…).

Actually, it wasn’t so difficult in the beginning, since I was recovering from a C-section and just getting used to life with baby (and an irritable baby at that). But now that it’s been three months and Brady is – for the most part – one of the happiest babies I’ve ever met, I’m finding that I feel a little antsy.  Okay, fine, a whole lot antsy!

HELLO, Cabin Fever!

Over these past few weeks, it’s been particularly hard…

In my neck of the woods, there really aren’t any stores that I can run to quickly in order to take advantage of a napping baby left home with his doting daddy. Sooooo, desperate times call for desperate measures! You can be sure that I take full advantage of grocery shopping days, as I peruse every single aisle, whether or not I need any food from that particular section. Hey, I’m outside my house and walking amidst adults, so – yeah – I’m pretty happy.

But then Brady turned three months, and the calendar was flipped to ‘March’. And I did this should-have-been-ridiculously-embarrassing-dance, except it wasn’t embarrassing because only Nate and Brady saw me do it. And, well, they know me by now. 😉

I’d known all along that I’d feel comfortable taking Brady out in public at three months, especially since we’d be in the tail end of the flu season.

So Nate, my sister Sarah, baby Brady, and I decided to take advantage of a particularly sunny afternoon by taking a 25-minute drive to the most fun, magical place on earth.

Target! 🙂

The last time I was at Target, my sister and I were there to look at Christmas decorations together! Yeah, I haven’t been since November. NOVEMBER!

Honestly, it felt a little strange to be pushing a baby carriage through the store. I’ve been home so much with him that it was surreal to have my mommy-life cross over into a familiar territory that was such a big part of life before baby. It was a good strange though! A kind of new, unfamiliar strange that left me smiling with glee… and also feeling a little bit panicky.

I’m sure I’m not the only new mom who has brought their baby out in public for the first time and spent the first 15 minutes thinking, “Please don’t vomit… Please don’t have an explosive poop… Please don’t scream… Please don’t breathe in any germs.”

But I started to calm down as time went on and just enjoyed the experience. 🙂

Brady did absolutely great for his first time out. He woke up about ten minutes in and stuck out his lower lip in the most adorable pout, obviously a little disoriented by all of the unfamiliar noises and sights. But we showered him with plenty of smiles until he was assured that all was well.

I think that maybe he was a little bit shocked to see that not everyone wears stripes though…

“Seriously, Mama, you’ve been dressing me in stripes this whole time, when there’s an entire world of patterns and solid colors out there? What?!?”

The trip, in total, didn’t last long, as we weren’t sure how long he would last. So Sarah grabbed her makeup, Nate stacked the tallest tower of cat food ever (#shouldhavegrabbedashopping cart), and I grabbed two Jillian Michael’s workout DVD’s that I hope to incorporate into my weekly routine. (Brady’s face in this picture says, “Ha!  Mama, you think you’re going to have time to workout?  You’re silly!”)

I’d say we ‘shopped’ for about 20 minutes before Brady decided that he had spent enough time in his carriage. So we quickly paid, and we made it back to the Jeep before he decided to have a baby fit.

At which point, we strapped him into his carseat, drove away, and let him sleep peacefully on the way home. (Gosh, I love how quickly babies fall alseep in the car)! 🙂

Quick trip or not, it was JUST what I needed! And as the days get warmer and Brady gets a little bigger, going out on small adventures will just happen all the more often. Eeee, I just can’t wait!  Life really is SO much fun now!!

11 thoughts on “Brady’s First Outing”

  1. I love that you documented this. And the stripes!

    How did you successfully avoid buying more clothes for Brady?

    I hope future outings go just as smoothly!

    1. I think I’m going to document everything, I just can’t help it! Ha, ha. 🙂 It’s so much fun!!!
      It’s been easy not buying him clothes, only because he is growing SO fast! (He’s the 99th percentile for his height / weight). So if I buy something, I know he’ll grow out of it super fast! So we’ve been putting him in lots of hand-me-downs from cousins and also clothes from my baby shower. BUT I had to order him a bunch of outfits from JCPenny (thankfully they were having a huge sale) the other day, because my 3 month old is now going into 9 month clothes! LOL! And I realized that I only had summer clothes for that size, and we still have several cold months ahead yet. So I was able to buy baby winter clothes on clearance! He ‘should’ be in 9 months for awhile, because it’s still a little big for him. So hopefully the outfits I bought can be stretched out until summer. 🙂

  2. I love that first picture where all three of you are wearing stripes and Brady is looking at his dad sooooo happily! How exciting to think of all the fun outdoor time you’ll get to spend with the little guy once the weather is better!

    1. Nate can get Brady to laugh like no one else… It’s SO cute!!!
      And I know, I just can’t wait for the nice weather. It will be so wonderful to get out and to do things together as a family. 🙂

  3. LOL at not everyone wearing stripes! I’m so glad you had a nice adventure out to Target to cure your cabin fever! I think you had Brady at the perfect time because when it’s truly warm out again, he’s going to be at such a fun age and not so tiny and delicate, you know?! Ahh, I can’t wait to catch up on more of your posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

