Makin’ Time for Me

My Time

I realize that now I’ve entered the world of poopy diapers, endless laundry loads, constant cuddles, and messy spit-ups, it’s important to make time for me. I need to make sure that I’m being refreshed every so often, especially since the role of mommy is 24/7.  Just this morning, Brady decided to make it a triple-whammy kind of day, presenting me with explosive poop, excessive spit-up, and a nice warm squirt of pee… all within the time frame of roughly 30 minutes.  I realized, as I was scrambling to cover the pee fountain, that I was really tired.  It’s as though 3 months of no sleep decided to suddenly catch up with me, and I went from tired to oh-my-goodness-give-me-the-largest-coffee-ever-before-I-die-of-exhaustion.

IMG_0817

So Me-Time…  I think I need to squeeze some of that back into my life.  AND, for the record, listening to Taylor Swift while folding laundry doesn’t count!  😉

That being said, I’m not yet sure what ‘me-time’ is even going to look like. These days, finding the time to do a quick makeup job in the morning is about as close as I get; and considering how rushed it is, I’d hardly call it refreshing. 😉

Anyway, I started to put some thought into what I might consider ‘me time’ for a new mama…  It was tough at first, because I couldn’t think past ‘take a bath’ or ‘nap’.  😉  But I soon realized that I just really, REALLY want to make time for some creative outlets that make me feel like myself.  Quite frankly, taking care of Brady makes me the happiest mommy in the world. It really does… He makes my heart melt every single day. But still, we all need those moments during which we do something for ourselves. Those moments that fill us back up and that challenge us creatively. Or those moments that leave us feeling rested and pampered.

My sister came over to visit a few days ago and presented me with a photography challenge: to come up with a theme-of-the-week for the rest of the year and to try to capture images that fell into that theme. Seeing as how photography is a passion of mine (although I still have so much learning to do in regards to it), I instantly jumped on board.

This is perfect! Photography is something that I can do while Brady is little and to meet a weekly theme is most definitely doable. It will challenge me without being too much. And it’s a way for me to keep my creative juices flowing without taking too much away from my mommy time.

I’m still working on some more potential ways that I can slip me-time into my busy schedule… (Some other ideas of mine consist of exercising, running occasional 5k’s with friends, writing, reading, and volunteering). Ooh, and my friend Wendy and I both signed up for a cake decorating class that starts next week!!!

IMG_0556

But back to photography…  I’m excited about sharing the photo’s with all of you! 🙂 Each week, I’ll post the picture(s) I took, and I’ll post the following week’s theme. That way, any of you photography lovers can join along! (If you do decide to take pictures that follow along with the theme, send me the link to your blog post so that I can check out your works of art)!

Ready…set… SMILE! 🙂

Whether or not you’re a mom, how do you add me-time into your busy life?

The Theme for the week of March 1st is ‘HOMEMADE’. Who wants to take part in next week’s photo challenge?

 

6 thoughts on “Makin’ Time for Me”

  1. Nice calendar! 🙂 Go Janelle!

    And go Nicole! That’s great that you are finding time for yourself. I’m not a mother yet but I find the mothers who deliberately take time for self-care to be the most inspiring. It’s better for them, it’s better for their kiddos, and it’s better for the family unit as a whole.

  2. Me time is SO important, you must find something you enjoy. Even if it’s simply going to the grocery store along, or sitting in a coffee shop for an hour with a good book!

  3. Take advantage of dad! I get my nails done every two weeks with my mom and sister, while Charlotte hangs with daddy. It’s a really nice hour or two to just relax, have some girl talk and unwind. Stealing the little moments feels great!

  4. Woot woot! I’m excited to see your photos!! Is Sarah gonna do the photo challenge too? What’s your prediction for percentage of photos that end up being about Brady or have Brady in them? haha. I’m going with 60% Brady / 20% cats / 10% food / 10% nature 😉

Leave a Reply

