Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff

In the grand scheme of things, I’ve been a mom for a very short amount of time; but I’ve already come to the very definite conclusion that nothing prepares you for the amazing, crazy, perfect, I’m-about-to-pull-my-hair-out journey that is motherhood. I often feel as though I’m in over my head, but then I’m told that this is perfectly natural.  As is crying for no apparent reason, randomly singing happy songs, smiling because I’m so happy that I could explode, and then feeling as though I’m about to die.

All perfectly natural!  That calms me somehow, actually.  To know that the mixed feelings of intense happiness and impending doom have been experienced by so many other moms before me.  🙂

My baby Brady is now five weeks old, which I find nearly impossible to believe.  Five weeks of snuggles, baby coos, countless diaper changes, breastfeeding struggles (and victories), and sleepless nights.  Sometimes it feels as though it’s already been a lifetime of change and exhaustion, while there are other moments during which I wish I could slow down time, even if just for a little while.  At this rate, I’ll blink my eyes only to see him wearing a suit and tie before his first job interview.

At which point I’ll show him this picture and embarrass him as only a loving mother can.  😉

Anyway, it’s a ridiculously-dramatic change once your title transitions to ‘mommy’.  Overnight, you suddenly eat, sleep, and breathe caring for a squishy, adorable baby that is your everything.  And while there is nothing as beautiful as that motherly love, there is also nothing as exhausting as the job that comes with it.  Let’s face it, CVS pharmacy has absolutely nothing on you.  You are open 24/7, always available for emotional and physical support.  It’s magical… it’s draining… And it’s something that you wouldn’t trade for all the money in the world.

I had given myself December to just kind of survive… Schedules and to-do lists were thrown out the window. We ate freezermeals, watched plenty of Christmas specials, and let the dust-bunnies pile up on the furniture.   I know, who am I?? I used to be so obsessed with structure and keeping a clean house. 😉  (My bestie Liz is shaking her head in agreement at this part. Ha, ha).

Life has followed no pattern and is dictated by the needs of my little guy.  And honestly, I expect January to be more of the same.  But still, I’m hoping to bring some sort of schedule back into my life, even if it’s as simple as assigning chores to particular days.  🙂

At this point, if I have a set laundry day for my clothes, I’ll feel as though I’m crazy-organized.

If those chores don’t get done though, I’m learning that’s okay.  I’m a mom.  My priorities have shifted a whole lot.

So if a warm day sneaks into the winter months and we’re able to go for a walk in the park as a family, you can be sure that we’ll all be bundled up to go.  Because dusting can wait.  Right now, we’re all about living in the moment!!  🙂  And fresh air sure does feel good when you’re a new mama!!

 

8 thoughts on “Don’t Sweat the Small Stuff

    • I saw the idea on Pinterest well before Brady was born, and I knew that I HAD to do it!!!! Ha, ha. 🙂 I think it will be priceless one day, when he’s old enough to wear a suit of his own. 🙂

    • Oh, thank you, thank you! 🙂
      The funny (or maybe sad) thing is that I didn’t intentionally dress him up in stripes to match mine. It just happened… because I’m letting my obsession with stripes overflow into my son’s fashion. LOL! It did end up looking rather cute for the picture though. Ha, ha!!

  1. So many cute pictures!! I love that you guys matched 🙂 Do you use a tripod for most pics? I’m so happy you’ve been kind to yourself and embraced what’s important – Brady! Enjoy every moment!

    • Thank you!
      I do have a tripod that I use quite often. But my sister is an amazing photographer, and she is the one who captured these pics. 🙂 (I usually give her credit for taking pics, when she does, but I totally didn’t this time. Oops)!!

  2. He’s so dear! I love that striped outfit!! And yes, it is exhausting and exhilarating. I am glad you’re just living inside of it and allowing yourself to just be a mom without worrying about vacuuming or dishes. Those things will always be there, sadly. And he certainly won’t remember or care about the state of your cleanliness or your to-do lists. I had the same attitude in the first year, and it is one of the best gifts you can give yourself. You will have 1 million epiphanies as well as countless moments of doubt and triumph. But you are a super-mom, and he is so lucky to be surrounded by your love.

Leave a Reply

